We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Faro Beach Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added El Faro Beach Hostel to your Saves list
El Faro Beach Hostel
| Next Door to Manuel Antonio National Park,300 Mts from Restaurante Marlen, Manuel Antonio National Park XQP, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

The staff was very nice and pleasant including the other guests. The food was good and economical giving us no reason to eat anywhere else. The location was very convinient having stores, restaurants, the national park and even the beach very close.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at El Faro Beach Hostel, responded to this review, July 14, 2012
Dear Khalidkure!
We all the staff are truly thrilled that your experience at National Park BackPackers was so wonderful... Thanks for taking notice of our restaurant which offers great food, and indeed the cheapest on the area.
The entire staff of NPBP really enjoyed being able to serve you during your stay, and you say one really good thig for people staying here: we are just some steps away from the amazing Manuel Antonio National Park, beaches, grocery stores, bank, etc.
You are welcome back anytime at Paradise!
Sincerely,
Diego Elizondo
Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    31
    19
    22
    22
See reviews for
2
36
22
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Very nice and friendly staff and comfortable location of the hostel. :D
There's also a cooking facility and a good atmosphere around the people. ^-^

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at El Faro Beach Hostel, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
Dear Lisa & Sabrina!
Thank you very much for your positive and sincere review of National Park Backpackers on this TripAdvisor forum.
Thanks also for pointing out the service that our friendly and helpful staff provided to you. And it is true!, staying at NPBP is very comfortable because you are just 100 mts away from the very famous and gorgeous Manuel Antonio National Park and its nice white sand beaches!!
We all look forward to your next visit.
Pura Vida,
Diego Elizondo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Maybe we were just unlucky, because it doesn't seem like a bad place to stay at seeing as it's very central and closely located to the national park. The pool is great and the rooms aren't bad, even if a bit manky for the price. Some of the staff were extremely unfriendly and disinterested. Great plus was the open air cinema every night. If you're looking for peace and quiet this is NOT the place to stay as it's full of US college kids who spent most of their time getting pissed, shouting and screaming and playing in the pool.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
57 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

NPBP is located very close to the entrance of the park and the beach is within walking distance. The hostel was nice overall, but had some major, MAJOR, shortcomings. The room was totally empty, besides the bed. The bed was a total disaster. The matras was as thin as paper and very uncomfortable, as were the pillows. The bed itself missed a couple of planks I guess, because the matras would sink though the bed. Also, the wifi was weak. The staff was unpleasant, except for Jimmy and Didier.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David, Panama
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

This place is a few minutes walk from the beach, the store and the national park.

The manager and most of the staff are very nice and helpful. One of the staff members were rude to us as we were leaving, because we had failed to keep our reciept for our key deposit. That was the only thing I didn't like about our stay, otherwise we had a good time.

The matrass in our room was super thin. I actually prefer hard beds like that, but I think a lot of people would find it too uncomfortable. One thing they should do to the place is install some mosquito netting on the outside of the windows, beacuse we were eaten alive every night.

Otherwise the place was pretty quiet for a hostel. It's also one of the cleanest hostels I've been to. Both the kitchen, the showers and the toilets are are flawless.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quepos, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

This hostel has been well thought out. A short walk from the beach and the National Park in Manuel Antonio. Everything the backpacker could want or need. Well maintained and cleaned rooms, dorms, showers and bathrooms. Good kitchen and restaurant, helpful staff. They even have a pool. No downside here, if you don't like this one, go to a hotel why don't ya'

Room Tip: take dorm room unless you plan to spend your time in your room check their website
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
93 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

National Park Back Packers is a great stay if you're travelling on a budget in Manuel Antonio. The dormrooms are ok, but unfortunately all under one open roof with all the other rooms, so in fact you're sleeping with more than 50 people under 1 roof, without any noise-reduction except for thin walls per 8 beds. So if the family three rooms further wake up, you probably will too.

The swimmingpool area is nice and the movies show on bigscreen are a nice way to spend an evening. The entrance of the national park is nextdoors which is very convenient. Meals on site are average priced and there's a large kitchen in the communal area. All areas are cleaned multiple times a day, so expect clean showers, kitchen and poolside. The only weird thing was that the WiFi worked better on the road outside the hostel than on the grounds itself. But besides that a good place for a cheap stay.

Room Tip: take a private room instead of a dorm, or bring earplugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Costa Verde
Hotel Costa Verde
#19 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,031 reviews
0.0 mi away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#26 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 107 reviews
0.9 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#7 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Beach Packer Hostel
Beach Packer Hostel
#13 of 28 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 17 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jungle Beach Hotel at Manuel Antonio
Jungle Beach Hotel at Manuel Ant...
#3 of 17 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 183 reviews
8.3 mi away
Backpackers Manuel Antonio
Backpackers Manuel Antonio
#16 of 28 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 stars 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Faro Beach Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Faro Beach Hostel

Address: | Next Door to Manuel Antonio National Park,300 Mts from Restaurante Marlen, Manuel Antonio National Park XQP, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Faro Beach Hostel is conveniently located within steps from the entrance of Manuel Antonio National Park and only a short walk to Playa Espadilla (the main beach). We have an outdoor swimming pool and several common areas which provide a great place to relax and have fun with fellow guests from all over the world. We offer both private rooms and dorms with hot showers and a fully-equipped guest kitchen. Manuel Antonio is a mecca for the adventure seeker whether it is sportfishing, ziplining, whitewater rafting, sea kayaking, horseback riding, ATV tours... our friendly staff can arrange it all. It is also a haven for nature enthusiasts with all the flora and fauna and wildlife in the park.On-site we have our restaurant, the "Funky Monkey", which serves both local and international flavors from 6am to 10pm daily... including beer, for a great price. Also, we have a nightly poolside movie feature (and yes, we will take requests on what to show). We are the only hostel in the area with our amenities AND a great location. Please feel free to contact us with any questions or if there are any special arrangements you should need. We are here for you and to ensure your time spent in Manuel Antonio is the best it can possibly be. Other amenities:• WiFi • Swimming pool• No curfew• Lockers• Nighttime security guard• Free parking• Tour information• Snacks and beverages for sale• Fully-equipped kitchen area• Pura vida!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your El Faro Beach Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Faro Beach Hostel Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Faro Beach Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.