We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lisa&Sabrina in Manuel Antonio ;)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Faro Beach Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manuel Antonio National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
El Faro Beach Hostel
Save
You added El Faro Beach Hostel to your Saves list
| Next Door to Manuel Antonio National Park,300 Mts from Restaurante Marlen, Manuel Antonio National Park XQP, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lisa&Sabrina in Manuel Antonio ;)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Very nice and friendly staff and comfortable location of the hostel. :D
There's also a cooking facility and a good atmosphere around the people. ^-^

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at El Faro Beach Hostel, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
Dear Lisa & Sabrina!
Thank you very much for your positive and sincere review of National Park Backpackers on this TripAdvisor forum.
Thanks also for pointing out the service that our friendly and helpful staff provided to you. And it is true!, staying at NPBP is very comfortable because you are just 100 mts away from the very famous and gorgeous Manuel Antonio National Park and its nice white sand beaches!!
We all look forward to your next visit.
Pura Vida,
Diego Elizondo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Maybe we were just unlucky, because it doesn't seem like a bad place to stay at seeing as it's very central and closely located to the national park. The pool is great and the rooms aren't bad, even if a bit manky for the price. Some of the staff were extremely unfriendly and disinterested. Great plus was the open air cinema every night. If you're looking for peace and quiet this is NOT the place to stay as it's full of US college kids who spent most of their time getting pissed, shouting and screaming and playing in the pool.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moskvich72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
57 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

NPBP is located very close to the entrance of the park and the beach is within walking distance. The hostel was nice overall, but had some major, MAJOR, shortcomings. The room was totally empty, besides the bed. The bed was a total disaster. The matras was as thin as paper and very uncomfortable, as were the pillows. The bed itself missed a couple of planks I guess, because the matras would sink though the bed. Also, the wifi was weak. The staff was unpleasant, except for Jimmy and Didier.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mathieu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David, Panama
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

This place is a few minutes walk from the beach, the store and the national park.

The manager and most of the staff are very nice and helpful. One of the staff members were rude to us as we were leaving, because we had failed to keep our reciept for our key deposit. That was the only thing I didn't like about our stay, otherwise we had a good time.

The matrass in our room was super thin. I actually prefer hard beds like that, but I think a lot of people would find it too uncomfortable. One thing they should do to the place is install some mosquito netting on the outside of the windows, beacuse we were eaten alive every night.

Otherwise the place was pretty quiet for a hostel. It's also one of the cleanest hostels I've been to. Both the kitchen, the showers and the toilets are are flawless.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarteMy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quepos, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

This hostel has been well thought out. A short walk from the beach and the National Park in Manuel Antonio. Everything the backpacker could want or need. Well maintained and cleaned rooms, dorms, showers and bathrooms. Good kitchen and restaurant, helpful staff. They even have a pool. No downside here, if you don't like this one, go to a hotel why don't ya'

Room Tip: take dorm room unless you plan to spend your time in your room check their website
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank novakia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
94 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

National Park Back Packers is a great stay if you're travelling on a budget in Manuel Antonio. The dormrooms are ok, but unfortunately all under one open roof with all the other rooms, so in fact you're sleeping with more than 50 people under 1 roof, without any noise-reduction except for thin walls per 8 beds. So if the family three rooms further wake up, you probably will too.

The swimmingpool area is nice and the movies show on bigscreen are a nice way to spend an evening. The entrance of the national park is nextdoors which is very convenient. Meals on site are average priced and there's a large kitchen in the communal area. All areas are cleaned multiple times a day, so expect clean showers, kitchen and poolside. The only weird thing was that the WiFi worked better on the road outside the hostel than on the grounds itself. But besides that a good place for a cheap stay.

Room Tip: take a private room instead of a dorm, or bring earplugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LiveLikeTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kungalv, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

The worst place I have ever been in my entire life, unfriendly staff. Disgusting dirty rooms and terrible smell in the kitchen!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrizztopher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels

mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.0 mi away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#27 of 50 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 175 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Costa Verde
Hotel Costa Verde
#19 of 50 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,128 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jungle Beach Hotel at Manuel Antonio
Jungle Beach Hotel at Manuel Ant...
#22 of 50 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vela Bar
Hotel Vela Bar
#20 of 50 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 99 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel La Colina
Hotel La Colina
#36 of 50 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 stars 235 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Inn on the Park
Hotel Inn on the Park
#41 of 50 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 stars 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Faro Beach Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Faro Beach Hostel

Address: | Next Door to Manuel Antonio National Park,300 Mts from Restaurante Marlen, Manuel Antonio National Park XQP, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Manuel Antonio National Park
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Faro Beach Hostel is conveniently located within steps from the entrance of Manuel Antonio National Park and only a short walk to Playa Espadilla (the main beach). We have an outdoor swimming pool and several common areas which provide a great place to relax and have fun with fellow guests from all over the world. We offer both private rooms and dorms with hot showers and a fully-equipped guest kitchen. Manuel Antonio is a mecca for the adventure seeker whether it is sportfishing, ziplining, whitewater rafting, sea kayaking, horseback riding, ATV tours... our friendly staff can arrange it all. It is also a haven for nature enthusiasts with all the flora and fauna and wildlife in the park.On-site we have our restaurant, the "Funky Monkey", which serves both local and international flavors from 6am to 10pm daily... including beer, for a great price. Also, we have a nightly poolside movie feature (and yes, we will take requests on what to show). We are the only hostel in the area with our amenities AND a great location. Please feel free to contact us with any questions or if there are any special arrangements you should need. We are here for you and to ensure your time spent in Manuel Antonio is the best it can possibly be. Other amenities:• WiFi • Swimming pool• No curfew• Lockers• Nighttime security guard• Free parking• Tour information• Snacks and beverages for sale• Fully-equipped kitchen area• Pura vida!!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
El Faro Beach Hostel Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing