We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“high octane adventure tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ADR Adventure Park

ADR Adventure Park
KM #2 on the road to Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 256Quepos, Costa Rica
506 277 70082
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Canyons, Nature & Parks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Immerse yourself in the forest of San Antonio de Damas, just 35 minutes from Quepos and the world famous Manuel Antonio Park, and let us take you on an unforgettable adventure through the jungle! The adventures included are: 1. waterfall rappel, 2. via ferrata, 3. canyon rappel, 4. canopy zipline, 5. canopy rappel 6. waterfall zipline, 7. waterfall tarzan swing, 8. free fall in river pool, 9. caving ladder,10. zipline guided rappel & 4x4 safari ride up the mountains.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“high octane adventure tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Two fears- we were too old and too heavy. Not a problem. On the high octane adventure we were picked up on time at our hotel and transported to a base camp. From there we were taken by an old but dependable Hummer up the mountain. A short walk into another camp where we were fitted with the equipment we would need for the day. They fitted my husband with an additional upper body harness. The team that took care of us were so helpful and encouraging. You must experience Costa Rica from inside the Rain Forest with a bunch of guys that are half spider monkey. I felt like I really accomplished something. How often in your life do you get to willingly release yourself from high above a cool clean pool fed by a mountain waterfall? Zip lining and rappelling were new skills to learn and we were able to do them several times in different locations. The team is all about safety first. Sharing a lunch all together with new friends and the team in the jungle added the final bonding touch to an adrenaline packed day. Hummer back to the base and small tour bus back to reality. We were not even tired. We were invigorated.
They take pictures and videos of everything so you can concentrate on learning and experiencing. I think I smiled the whole time.They edit out the other participants and deliver by 7:30 pm that night your own CD. $35. Well worth it.

Thanks guys! Wish I could remember all your names. Name tags might be an idea. Remember we are old. Pura Vida!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    7
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Whitewater rafting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Went on a 3/4 day whitewater rafting trip outside of Quepos. The ride there is intense but once on the river, the ride, the scenery and the staff are spectacular. Stopped at a wonderful waterfall for pictures and some swimming. Lunch was decent, especially after working up an appetite. About 2 1/2 to 3 hours on the river which included challenging class 2 and 3 rapids. Word is they are stronger during the rainy season, but they did knock me out twice.Highly recommend

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We had a great time with the crew. Fun to watch Alvaro climb a tree to pick a fresh star fruit for breakfast. Alvaro is an outstanding leader, who is energetic, fun, and sincerely enjoys what he does. He knows how to connect with people. He has a good team behind him, and did a great job explaining the activities, and demonstrating the activities in an easy to understand manner. The location is the most scenic I've seen in Costa Rica, and the waterfalls are simply spectacular. Definitely worth the extra dollars you might pay compared to other excursions. We were in the same group as Steve L below, and he we had a lot of fun getting to know them as well. The small group definitely worked well for us. 1:1 ratio between guides and guests gave us all the attention we could want.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The day we spend with ADR was one of our best! The guides were amazing! S accommodating and eager t help and take pictures of you! We loved the zip lining and repelling but one of our favorites was the free falling! So much fun! Highly highly recommend it! The lunch they provided was fabulous too!!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Safe and thrilling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Alvaro and his team, Gustavo, JC, and George, showed us a great adventure. They were professional and fun. With only 4 in our group we got lots of attention. Riding on the rutted muddy steep mountain roads standing in the back of the humvee was pretty exciting. Swinging upside down over a waterfall, then later zipping into a different waterfall dropping into the pond below are just samples of the excursion. Don't think about it, just go. Very safe for any age. Got picked up at 8:30, home at 3:15. Breakfast and lunch included. Pretty good deal.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ADR Adventure Park also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to ADR Adventure Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ADR Adventure Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.