We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what our Family looks for in a vacation home and then some.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jungle Villa Rooms

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Jungle Villa Rooms to your Saves list
Jungle Villa Rooms
Opposite Hotel Byblos, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Exactly what our Family looks for in a vacation home and then some.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

When you love to go on vacation with your family and friends and want everyone in the group to be happy for seven or more days, the Jungle Villa is as good as it gets. Each room has a television, but on our recent visit there, we never bothered to turn one on. Not even once!

The stylish centrally located Kitchen was the center of our world where we made world class meals and drinks while overlooking the play of children, geckos, Jesus lizzards, iguanas, tree frogs, vine snakes, three types of monkeys, seven toads that swim in the pool at night, and my Mom. We tried going out to dinner, but all soon agreed that the inexpensive fresh fish, vegetables, and fruit to be had in the market in Quepos could not be beat. Fresh Tuna, Sea Trout, Mahi Mahi, and Marlin were staples of of our diet and we always had more than everyone could eat. I could go on and on about the culinary experience and the food prepared in the kitchen, but in brief, it was the source of great joy. It was also wonderful to have Marta there in the morning to put the whole place back in order. Note: Buy alcohol in in the duty free shop on your way there if you can. It's a great deal.

A picture is worth a thousand words, so I think everyone can see the fun pools and the monkeys etc. but what is difficult to see is how much space this property provides.There is so much room on the main floor and surrounding grounds that even with fourteen people, we never felt crowded in any way. In fact we hosted other friends who were in town as well for drinks and dinner. They were impressed.

I had not expected on having staff in our vacation home and was a little uncomfortable at first with the thought, but after a few days it all felt quite natural. I could get used to this! Marta, Jason and Orlando are quiet folk, but this does not mean that they are not willing to do whatever it takes to make your vacation 100% complete. Next time we visit, I will be more prepared to utilize their talents to make our vacation even easier. Shopping for groceries is fun in a foreign country, but if you have the choice of doing that or going rafting on class 4/5 rapids, ask Orlando to do the shopping for you.

The location of the property in hindsight is ideal. I always love a house on the beach, but in this area there are very few if any there. The main road is over the hills, so this is where the houses, transportation, and shops are and also where you want to be. Walking to the beach was great exercise, and one could always take a bus or taxi back home if not up for walking back up the hill. After a week of living like this, I feel five years younger.

As for the property owner, I cannot say enough. He was our hero. Any question or concern or travel arrangement issue was quickly and promptly addressed and handled with fairness. I very much appreciate and respect his fair and even handed approach and would not hesitate to call on him for any reason. In a foreign country it is good to have a local adviser and he is a capable one.

I now understand that the Villa is often rented by the room and now happily consider this option as well. The space is large beautiful and open, the staff willing and capable, especially if you speak Spanish, and the owner fair, interesting, and knowledgeable. If I were traveling by myself or in a smaller group, I think that the villa would also be a great place from which to see Manuel Antonio and Quepos.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    4
    1
    2
    4
See reviews for
13
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
berlin, Pa, USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Our whole party really enjoyed this villa! We did a wedding the week of march 15th,2013 and for us, we couldn't have chosen a better spot! The rooms are comfortable, we were not looking for fancy. Every where you turn, the view is great. From the ocean, to the jungle, to the 3 awesome swimming pools. If you enjoy nature, this is your spot! Very spacious, room for many guests to fit comfortably. There is always staff there to assist you and the house manager is very good at setting up a tour, even last min. We got visits from a family of squirrel monkeys one day, visit from a huge family of white faced monkeys another day, and the cutest frog another day. For as open as the house is, it's surprisingly free of bugs!!!! Very safe, very beautiful, very reasonable rates!!! Loved it.........trip of a lifetime!!!! Thank you Ad and Thierry for helping make our wedding trip easy and memorable!!!

Room Tip: If you chose to get both suites, you have the whole villa to yourself and still not too pricey!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

We rented the villa for five days my friend was getting married in cr. wonderful service by the staff!!! A little bit of a language barrier but hey I don't speak Spanish what do you expect. We used translators on our phones it was fine. Location is very close to all the amenities. The three tiered pool is beautiful. We saw two different types of monkeys while staying there. Great open air common areas. No real issues at all. Great views. The bedrooms and bathrooms were fine, ac in the bedrooms worked fine. It was a great first trip to cr. my friends have been to cr several times and said this place is very nice. It is not a hotel but if you want the jungle experience this is a great place for you. Thanks to all the staff you were very helpful and kept the place up. The walk down in is steep so for someone with issues on hills this maybe more complicated. Overall I was very happy with this villa for our stay!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Seven of us stayed here ( Friends, kids and grandma) for a week recently. The owner of the home was there when we arrived and we had a nice conversation. We had nightly security and daily maid service... super nice. We found out that the place used to be a restaurant. The pool was amazing, the monkeys were amazing and we never saw a bug... and we WANTED to!
The beds were comfy and not like in Mexico... rooms stayed cool and the breeze from the ocean was perfect.
My only words of caution are that if you can not tolerate stairs and hills don't come. My mom had a tough , tough time... did not bother us at all but she struggled.
The boys loved that the casino was across the street and visited on Super Bowl evening.. how many times can you watch the super bowl in a foreign country.
There were pleanty of pots and pans for cooking, plenty of bottled water and PLENTY of outside space that no one got in each others way.
Being from MN we are used to going up north to cabins and I felt like I was at a cabin in the jungle... The owner was right.. if you want 5 star service and marble floors etc.. don't come here.. if you want to be comfortable and have a relaxed time.. this is the place for you.
Thanks for a comfortable week!

Room Tip: Rent the entire villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grinnell, Iowa, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

A group of college kids (13 of us!) studying abroad needed a nice place to stay for our week off, and we stumbled upon the Jungle Villa website online. We got great vibes from Ad and decided to book it, and it turned out being pretty cheap for all of us.

The Villa was great, we all cooked in the kitchen each day and lounged in the open air living room with hammocks and couches. The pool was wonderful and was cleaned daily as leaves accumulate during the rainy season. The villa's view of the ocean was gorgeous. When we wanted to go out, everything was within walking distance. There are tons of restaurants very close-by, a very nice supermarket (stocked with american imports) that you can either take the bus to or walk to in about ten minutes, and the bus that takes you down to the beach and national park leaves just 100m from the villa. The national park is a must-see! It boasts one of the most gorgeous little beaches and we saw tons of monkeys when we visited.

The monkeys were by far my favorite part. We had a troupe of squirrel monkeys come multiple times and a lone white-faced monkey showed up a few times as well. Make sure you don't let them come in the living area room because they get really excited and poo on the floor.

There are just a few things that weren't working but they didn't end up bothering us at all. The oven's baking part doesn't work, but there's a convection oven that you can use instead. Also, the water for showering isn't really hot, but it's also not cold. There's a definite difference between the hot water and the cold water, but be aware that it's not hot. However, it never really gets that cold here so the showers were refreshing.

Room Tip: All the rooms were pretty great, but the upstairs seems to be a nicer place to stay if you're tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

The owner of this villa was so rude during check-in for the week we had booked in February that we opted not to stay there after all. His behavior was upsetting enough that we wasted a large chunk of our vacation time - as well as significant money - finding alternate lodging for our 11-person extended family group. Since this happened, the owner has refused to communicate or acknowledge any of my many messages and attempts to discuss this problem. He has not responded at all. This contrasts to his friendly and prompt replies to all my queries during the year prior to our trip, when he was collecting my thousands of dollars for the prepaid rental fee.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margaritacr, Owner at Jungle Villa Rooms, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
This party never stayed in the villa.
No villa owner in Manuel Antonio, in Costa Rica or anywhere else in the World will give a refund if guests don't show up on the day of their planned arrival and check-in.

A few hours before the official check-in time a young woman, apparently a daughter of the party's contact person, came to the villa for a tour of the villa. Our staff gave her a tour of this beautiful villa but during the tour she hardly listened to what the staff told her.

She was texting contineously during our tour. When one of our staff members told her this texting was not very polite, she became very upset and left the villa immediately.

Our staff waited for the party that day and the following days but we never heard or saw them during their week-long stay in Costa Rica.

After their return to the States they asked for a full refund although the villa was held available for them the entire week. Nobody else stayed in the villa that week.
No villa owner will give any refund under these circumstances.

Apparently these persons consider it to be rude if you ask them nicely to stop texting because it's not polite to text while you are given a private tour of a villa.

I also have a lovely daughter but if she is upset for whatever reason like in this case, I would pickup the phone or visit the villa and find out what happened and to hear the story from both sides. No idea what the daughter told her mother but our staff treated the daughter at every moment respectfully and our staff was correct to her every single moment she was in the villa.

We never saw any person of this party except the daughter who was given a tour. We never saw her mother who wrote this review and a check-in never took place. The daughter was in the villa for 20 minutes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

3 families (12 people) including 6 kids from 8-15 years old needed a place to stay and we luckily chose Jungle Villa! We had a big range of travel needs (I can sleep in the dirt and be happy and some of the other travelers like 5-star rated resorts!) We all LOVED Jungle Villa!

Marta and Jason were there during the day and there was also security at night. They took great care of us and any needs we had - I am sure Marta rolled her eyes a few times but was always patient with our requests!

The layout of the house was great for the 3 families.

The upstairs had 2 rooms - we put 5 boys in one that had a queen and two twin beds and my husband and I stayed in the other master bedroom. It also had another queen bed in it but it wasn't used.

The downstairs had 3 rooms. One was very large and could be made private by locking a couple of adjoining doors. The second was a room in the middle and it was partially open to the 3rd bedroom so didn't offer much privacy. The 3rd "room" was quite small with a bunk bed in it and a bathroom. We put the 2 girls in that room and while it was adequate they felt a bit isolated from everyone at night and didn't like how dark it was. But overall, the layout worked for everyone.

The main living area and pool were what really make this place amazing. We could all be together but be able to get away a bit too. The pool was great for all of us, but the kids especially loved it.

I loved staying at a house where I didn't have to worry if the floor got wet from the kids coming in to get food after getting out of the pool or worry about something getting broken...this house is made for families.

We cooked many meals and the fully stocked kitchen had everything we needed.

Because it is right between Quepos and Manuel Antonio it was easy to shop, get to the beach or just walk up the road to get something to eat or drink. Some might be looking for something right on the beach but being a bit removed from it allowed for an amazing breeze in the afternoon and felt very safe.

The website is clear - if you have an issue with bugs, a bit of wildlife hanging out with you, etc. it might not be the best choice for you - but you would be missing out on a great experience overall by not staying here. We had frogs in the pool at night, monkeys and geckos hanging out in the house (but never were they aggressive or scary), some big bugs walking around but it never was enough to bother anyone - it was actually pretty neat. We also had a sloth hanging out right above the house for a few days...

We definitely plan to go back to Costa Rica next year and will make Jungle Villa our home base again!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jungle Villa Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jungle Villa Rooms

Address: Opposite Hotel Byblos, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very private rooms in a great villa in Manuel Antonio with ocean and jungle view, visiting monkeys, 3 pools, airconditioning, wifi, cable tv, 4 rooms, 2 staff.Paradise resort in the heart of Manuel Antonio where Ocean, Jungle and Western comfort meet. Truly the Pearl of Manuel Antonio. You love nature, you like to wake up with the sound of the monkeys in the trees around the house and with the smell of fresh coffee. You like to hear the sound of the jungle and its many inhabitants. This is the only villa in Manuel Antonio with 2 full-time staff members in daytime to maintain the villa and pool area and to keep it clean. If you love pure nature, this villa is the perfect place for you. You will never live and sleep closer to Mother Nature than in the great Jungle Villa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Jungle Villa Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jungle Villa Rooms Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jungle Villa Rooms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.