We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Familiar and delicious food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sancho's

Sancho's
50 meters from the soccer field in Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
506-777-0340
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $1 - $9
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Finally, authentic Mexican food in Costa Rica. Everything on the menu is made fresh daily. Open for lunch and dinner. You can also take it 'to go' or have it delivered, rain, or shine. In our new location, just down the street, we can now accomodate larger parties and more diners. Come enjoy the patio seating and fast friendly service.
Morganville, New Jersey, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Familiar and delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Had so much fun at Sancho's! It is owned by a couple from So Cali and they are so awesome. They moved to Costa Rica, missed Mexican food and decided to open their own restaurant.

The guac and chips are ridiculously fresh and delicious. The tacos also rocked! The best part is that they deliver and their soda comes out of the glass and is delicious.

Great spot for lunch!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    423
    100
    27
    8
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Nachos We've EVER Eaten. Hands Down. Seriously.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

This place is SERIOUSLY good. The place is kind of unassuming at first glance but delivered the best mexican food we've ever eaten - we went back twice. The portion size is HUGE - and food is SO FRESH and interesting. We had salsa verde pulled pork nachos - they were out of this world. The handmade chips are fantastic and the owner was awesome. There is also take out and delivery options.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best chips and guacamole in Costa Rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

My new wife and I found Sancho's because she was craving chips and guac for 2 days. We searched on Trip Advisor and found good recommendations for Sancho's. The homemade tostillas, guacamole and salsa were absolutely fresh and delicious, as were our fish taco and salsa verde pork taco entrees. The owner is the most inviting man you'd want to meet. We brought our own beer and he tossed them in the freezer and served us. Amazing dinner for 2 under $20. Not a tourist trap. We were completely satisfied and would love to go back to try another dish.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
“Fantastic meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Our family of four ate at Sancho's last night. It was a great experience. First the owner really catered to my children and made sure they were happy with their food, which was completely generous. Then we had fantastic guacamole, i would come back for that alone! Hubby had great fish tacos and i had the wet burrito with spicy salsa verde- amazing stuff that salsa! Completely huge portions and super friendly! I highly recommend it!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“amazing guacomole”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Freshly prepared guac from scratch everytime. You cannot miss this. Food is super fresh and just plain out really good. Was not expecting such good food in manuel antonio.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sancho's also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Sancho's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sancho's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.