We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Knowledgeable and great for families” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Costa Rica Jade Tours - Private Tours

Costa Rica Jade Tours - Private Tours
Manuel Antonio | Manuel Antonio National Park, Manuel Antonio National Park 60601, Costa Rica
2777 0932
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Costa Rica Jade Tours is a local tour company in beautiful Manuel Antonio. We offer the best activities and tours to help make all your vacation dreams come true. Contact us so we can help you discover the most exciting adventures and exotic treasures from this spectacular land. You may never want to leave!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Knowledgeable and great for families”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Mario was an all-around excellent guide. Upon emailing him, he was great in responding quickly to me and helpful in arranging transportation, tour, etc for Manuel Antonio National Park He picked us up from our villa which was about 15 minutes from the park. He was also upfront and honest about the best time to go and see more animals (12:30 afternoon tour). Our group was 12 people, ranging from ages 10 to 50 but we were all equally impressed. Mario would dart from tree to tree, spotting animals and hurrying us to see them with his high-quality telescope. We were really pleased that he was so enthusiastic about us seeing the animals, as that is the main reason we booked a tour with him. He showed us monkeys, sloths, raccoons, deer, and a huge spider (he had a crazy trick he performed with the spider, I don't want to spoil the surprise though!). We were also provided delicious fresh fruit and snacks towards the end of the tour (we opted out of the meal option). Make sure to bring a camera! If you want good pictures, ask Mario to take photos with your camera, he will usually take the photo through the lens of his telescope so you get really up-close images of the animals that are way up in the trees. He was also very knowledgeable, provided us with lots of cool and surprising facts about the national park and its wildlife. He knew how to give a tour that was appropriate for everyone, from the youngest to the oldest. He had us laughing and enjoying the whole time. You can't go to the Manuel Antonio National Park without Mario!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    293
    12
    2
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Best Tour of the vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We used Jade tour for a night hike through a rain forest and it was awesome!! They are the only tour guide that are allowed into Rainmaker at night. Mario and his wife Crystal were very personable, professional and knowledgable. They found numerous frogs, toads, spiders, wierd insects and snakes!!! Plus the park has hanging bridges that were lots of fun at night with flashlights. You cant go wrong with this tour and bring your camera, Mario will help you take great pictures!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Two tours at night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We did the two evening tours this week with Mario. One in the rainmaker rain forest and the other in the mangroves. Mario does an excellent job spotting and providing in depth information about every animal found. The rainforest tour includes transversing 5-6 hanging bridges in the dark with just flashlights which was exhilarating. We saw and avoided poisonous snakes, toads and spiders. It is labor intensive with the entire 2 1/2 hours spent walking. The mangrove tour revealed many native birds, plants and a credible that was caught and brought on the boat.
Mario brings excitement and exuberance to two very interesting tours. Highly recommend both, the more adventurous will greater appreciate the rainforest tour.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A passionate well informed guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I did two guided tours with Mario. One in Manueal Antonio National Park during the day, and a night time tour looking for frogs and snakes in the rainforest in Rainmaker Park.

Mario is enthusastic, very knowledgable and completely committed to making sure his clients have the best possible experience and share his love of Costa Rican flora and fauna..

The night time tour was exceptional. It was a real adventure walking trails in the rain forest including hanging bridges, looking for frogs, snakes and more. Mario and his wife (who came along to help spot the frogs) led us on a truly magical nearly 3 hour walk through the forest in the dark. We each had a torch. At the end there was a cool drink for us.

Wear good walking shoes and long pants for the night time tour.

I can´t imagine a better guide - he has a great sense of humour and loves sharing his knowledge.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Knowledgeable Guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Mario is so excited about his guide work that it is almost infectious. You can not go wrong with him guiding you through a tour of Manuel Antonio National Park. He is so knowledgeable of the area and its many inhabitants. He has several tours so its best to clarify what you would like to see. A very pleasant and professional person to spend time with as you tour the jungle.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Costa Rica Jade Tours - Private Tours also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Costa Rica Jade Tours - Private Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Costa Rica Jade Tours - Private Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;