We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A passionate well informed guide” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Costa Rica Jade Tours - Private Tours

Costa Rica Jade Tours - Private Tours
Manuel Antonio | Manuel Antonio National Park, Manuel Antonio National Park 60601, Costa Rica
2777 0932
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Costa Rica Jade Tours is a local tour company in beautiful Manuel Antonio. We offer the best activities and tours to help make all your vacation dreams come true. Contact us so we can help you discover the most exciting adventures and exotic treasures from this spectacular land. You may never want to leave!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A passionate well informed guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I did two guided tours with Mario. One in Manueal Antonio National Park during the day, and a night time tour looking for frogs and snakes in the rainforest in Rainmaker Park.

Mario is enthusastic, very knowledgable and completely committed to making sure his clients have the best possible experience and share his love of Costa Rican flora and fauna..

The night time tour was exceptional. It was a real adventure walking trails in the rain forest including hanging bridges, looking for frogs, snakes and more. Mario and his wife (who came along to help spot the frogs) led us on a truly magical nearly 3 hour walk through the forest in the dark. We each had a torch. At the end there was a cool drink for us.

Wear good walking shoes and long pants for the night time tour.

I can´t imagine a better guide - he has a great sense of humour and loves sharing his knowledge.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    304
    12
    2
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Cod
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Knowledgeable Guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Mario is so excited about his guide work that it is almost infectious. You can not go wrong with him guiding you through a tour of Manuel Antonio National Park. He is so knowledgeable of the area and its many inhabitants. He has several tours so its best to clarify what you would like to see. A very pleasant and professional person to spend time with as you tour the jungle.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Mario is awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Booked a morning tour of Manuel Antonio with Mario. We were a party of 4, joining 6 others. Everyone in our group had a good time, with Mario pointing out all the critters, birds, monkeys, insects, etc. His telescope allowed all of us to see up everything up close. There were a number of groups in the park the day we went and I was impressed with how well they all worked together and made room for everyone to enjoy the sights! Many of them know each other and seem to help each other out. The walk in the park turned out to be longer than I thought....it was approximately 3 miles. About 1/2 way one of our party couldn't walk any further, and Mario graciously found someone who could drive her back to the entrance. WOW! Mario made sure everyone got good photo opps, and helped them know where/how to get the best photos. He is really, really good!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pleasanton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Incredible Day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Could not ask for a better experience at Manuel Antonio. Mario was incredible; his passion, knowledge, friendliness and overall love of the park and it's inhabitants was extraordinary. This was our 2nd visit to the park. This time we took our adult children and they LOVED it.
I can't imagine using anyone else.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“one-of-a-kind night walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We were lucky to get a private night walk with Mario, and right at the beginning he grabbed a toad covered in poison with his bare hand. On our walk through a forest which we had all to ourselves we also saw the most dangerous spider in the world, just sitting there minding is own business. We walked on bridges very high up in the canopy, with only the sound of nature around us and stars above. Mainly we saw frogs, spiders and bats, were well-entertained by Mario (who was passionate), and enjoyed a walk in the woods at night that we'd never dare do alone.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Costa Rica Jade Tours - Private Tours also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Costa Rica Jade Tours - Private Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Costa Rica Jade Tours - Private Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.