We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Manuel Antonio National Park” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Costa Rica Jade Tours - Private Tours

Costa Rica Jade Tours - Private Tours
Manuel Antonio | Manuel Antonio National Park, Manuel Antonio National Park 60601, Costa Rica
2777 0932
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Costa Rica Jade Tours is a local tour company in beautiful Manuel Antonio. We offer the best activities and tours to help make all your vacation dreams come true. Contact us so we can help you discover the most exciting adventures and exotic treasures from this spectacular land. You may never want to leave!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Manuel Antonio National Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We spent a fabulous day with Mario, who gave us a spectacular tour of Manuel Antonio National Park! We were impressed by his knowledge of the nature and wildlife, but most importantly, his passion for sharing this knowledge with others. We also took amazing photos through his state-of-the-art telescope. If we had more time in Costa Rica, we would definitely have booked Mario for one of his other tours. We highly recommend Mario and Jade Tours!
L. Levey

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    291
    11
    2
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best naturalist ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

There are a lot of guides at Manuel Antonio Park, but I wouldn't be surprised if Mario Brenes is the best one. It is obvious that he just has a passion for animals - and that passion drives him to know everything he can about as many animals as possible.

When we were on the tour with Mario, we saw another guide point out a frog. The guide told his 8 guests that he couldn't tell the exact species of the frog, but it could be this, this, or that. Mario took a look, and told us exactly what kind of frog it was (which was not one of the options the other guide thought it was), and proved it to us by showing us a picture in one of his many animal guide books.

Mario also has the sharpest eyes. Sometimes he would spy animals that even the other guides could not find - often times, they would have to look through his scope to find the animal so they could point it out to their own guests.

Despite the fact that I felt that Mario was doing such a better job on our tour than other guides I noticed around the park, Mario never hesitated to help the other guides out - if he found an animal, he would readily tell the other guides where it was, what type of animal it was, etc.

Mario knows so much about animals. For him, the tour through the Manual Antonio National Park is not just about finding the animals, but teaching you about them. How they live, what is unique about them, how they have evolved and survived. Other guides seem to just point out the animals and tell you a little bit about them. With Mario, you feel like you're watching a personalized episode of the Discovery Channel. He has a passion for all animals - from the tiny fire ants at the entrance (which I am really glad he told us about! that was a good thing to know) to the teeny lizard completely camouflaged on the branch, he made each animal sound so totally unique and fascinating.

Lastly, Mario is just a great guy and very proud of his business. On the day of our tour, his baby boy was sick and he told us he contemplated canceling our tour, but ultimately decided against it since he takes so much pride in the business he has built and wanted to fulfill his commitment. He talks about his family with even more passion than he talks about the animals. He is just the type of guy you want to succeed in the world, and I am extremely happy we decided to take Mario's tour of Manual Antonio National Park. I only wish we had time to take more of Mario's other tours!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Great tour of manuel Antonio by "Super" Mario! Mario is a highly knowledgeable naturalist, we enjoyed seeing many animals through his viewing scope that we would not have spotted with our naked eye. Highly recommend!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great experience with a knowledgeable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Mario is very passionate and knowledgeable about the history of the park. I did not feel hurried during out trip. He was able to take great close up pictures through the telescope with our iphone and Cannon rebel camera. You have an option of staying on the Manuel Antonio beach (which is beautiful) after the trip or have lunch (was included as part of our $45 price per person; $10 of the $45 total was for park entrance). Manuel Antonio is closed Mondays. Would highly recommend this Mario Brenes

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mineral, Washington, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Mario & Manuel Antonio Park= Best time of my life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Me and my girlfriend are both first time travellers to Costa Rica and Manuel Antonio National Park was our first place to visit. Our guide Mario was very informative in every aspect of the tour. He showed alot of passion towards his work which meant the world to us. He shared extensive knowledge on the flora and fauna inside the park. He even went as far as calling for certain birds and monkeys. We saw White faced Capuchins, Howler monkeys, crocodiles, three toed sloths, butterflies, several lizards, bats, iguana both green and black, and various birds.He had a very positive attitude and would answer every question we had not too mention he would let you take great pictures through the lens of his telescope. He also made us a grasshopper out of a palm tree leaf which was a treat. You have not lived if you have not been to Manuel Antonio (with >mario as your guide). <muchos gracias Mario and Costa Rica.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Costa Rica Jade Tours - Private Tours also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Costa Rica Jade Tours - Private Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Costa Rica Jade Tours - Private Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Costa Rica Jade Tours - Private Tours to your Saves list