We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jungle Beach Hotel at Manuel Antonio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Jungle Beach Hotel at Manuel Antonio to your Saves list
Jungle Beach Hotel at Manuel Antonio
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Main Road Manuel Antonio National PArk | 200 Mts From Espadilla Beach, Manuel Antonio National Park 60601, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Pura Selva)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I stayed here recently, the stay was good overall.

The staff were friendly and helpful throughout. The location of the hotel is excellent and is about 5 minutes walk from the public beach, 10 minutes to restaurants and 15 minutes to the national park. The hotel is one of the last properties on the road away from the beach before the road gets extremely steep and very difficult to walk further.

The rooms are good and clean overall, however there is a strong smell of mould in the rooms as other reviewers have commented on.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    60
    30
    4
    2
See reviews for
29
84
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Haddam, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

close to the national park, beach
clean and pretty environment
kind workers

my bathroom drain was not working well.
a little bit smell from damp air and drain (I am very sensitive with smell, too)
breakfast is not impressive

I've checked a famous hostel on the way to this hotel. They charged 60 dollars a night with private room and shared bathroom. Also, there are so many expensive hotels there. I would choose this place for sure one more time instead of the expensive hostel.
Overall, it is a nice hotel with reasonable price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

After reading reviews on TripAdvisor I was happy to make a reservation at Jungle Beach Hotel three months in advance. When I got there,I paid $254 for three nights (85 for a night), and they gave us the room number 4. At first it didn't seem bad, but when I got to the room, I got the impression that I was in the motel with some decorations. It was dark and smelly. I didn't care much at that point. The mattress was uncomfortable. In the morning before going to the park I went to the shower, and there was no water. I cleaned my face with the bottled water. Then I and my partner went to have breakfast and we found out that there was nothing to eat except very old parts of muffins and some fruits. We were in rush to the tour to Manuel Antonio which was amazing, and on the way back I checked several hotels which were closet to the entrance of the Manuel Antonio Park.( from Jungle Beach Hotel 15 mins) To my big surprise, very nice hotels with gardens, swimming pools, and full breakfast cost $75. I went back to Jungle Beach and explained that I was very disappointed by the amenities, and I wanted to cancel the two remaining nights. The woman at the reception told me that the owner would be in the morning, and I could speak with him. I took my things, left the key, and moved to a very nice hotel just 1 minute from the Manuel Antonio Park for $75. In the morning I went back to the hotel. After long conversation the owner said that he could give me the money only for the 3rd night. I didn't fight, I just took money and left. I lost $85 but I spent the rest of my time in a very nice and clean place. Also, there are several hostels very close to the Park, and if this option works for you, you can stay there for just $10 per night. Overall, it is cheaper going directly to the hotel and negotiate the price, and if you pay cash, all hotels that I went to,gave 20-30% discount.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This was a true find for us. It was inexpensive compared to everything else in Manuel ANtonio and was absolutely perfect. The breakfast was simple fruit and bread but the troop of monkeys and huge iguana that came every morning made it perfect. The A/C was nice and cold which was a nice break from the heat we had been staying in. Beach is right across the street and was beautiful!

Room Tip: All the rooms seem great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

This place has several rooms overlooking a courtyard contained in beautiful greenery . Squirrel or howler Monkeys often pass through at dusk . Breakfast is simple with a resident iguana. You can buy a beer or coke at reception and get your washing done. It's a nice place to be close to beach and restaurants almost better than the park which is a ten dollar bush walk at best

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The Jungle Beach Hotel is not fancy, but it had everything we needed and the price was right! Each room is decorated differently, but they have a TV, AC unit and a small refrigerator. The hotel and rooms are clean. They set out a nice little fruit, bread & beverage breakfast. One morning we had breakfast with 5 Howler Monkey’s. The hotel is a 4 minute walk to the beach and there is plenty of dinning/bars and shopping in the area. Eric, a gentleman at the front desk, made all the reservations for our activities while we were there. Eric was super helpful and had great recommendations. We loved everything we booked, but I think the very best one was El Santuario Canopy Tour, it's a must do!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
As, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and would loved to stay longer. Great place! We had room 12, which is upstairs with a nice balcony. We woke up every morning by the monkeys and saw them lots of times. Good room with nice beds, good shower, fridge, tv and very clean. Nicely painted! On the other side of the road is a nice beach and the national park is just about 15 minutes walk (just buy an entrance ticket and ask for a map, no need for a guide; there are so many groups with guides that you can't miss where they stop to see wildlife). Breakfast was okay with toast and jam, fresh fruit, juice, coffee, tea and cake.Private parking.
When we come back to Costa Rica we definitely will stay here again!

Room Tip: Upstairs room (2 doublebeds) 12 is great (11 next door also; same kind of room)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Jungle Beach Hotel at Manuel Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jungle Beach Hotel at Manuel Antonio

Address: Main Road Manuel Antonio National PArk | 200 Mts From Espadilla Beach, Manuel Antonio National Park 60601, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Pura Selva)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jungle Beach Hotel at Manuel Antonio 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel with 12 Rooms featuring Tropical murals. Just a 2 minute walk to the Beach and a 10 minute walk to the Manuel Antonio National Park. A 5 minute Walk from our Hotel you have Restaurants, Supermarkets, Shops and other Recreational areas. Our proximity to the National Park, Pacific Ocean, and the lush Jungle that surrounds us makes our hotel a perfect daily visit for the three different species of Monkeys in the area, including the Titi (Spider), White face, and Howler Monkeys. We offer Free Buffet-stylel Breakfast, WiFi, Private Parking with Surveillance, 24 hour access to Reception, Daily room cleaning, and Laundry services. All of our Rooms are equipped with a Refrigerator, cable TV, Air Conditioning, ceiling Fan, Safe box, Hot water, Bathroom Set, and Towels. Additionally, the Studio Room comes with Kitchen appliances. Manuel Antonio offers a large variety of Activities and Tours for people of all fitness levels and Ages, including wildlife viewing, white water rafting, zip-lines, countless water sports, horseback riding, fishing, among many other excursions for you to enjoy. We are more than happy to Help with booking any tours or activities of your preference, as well as make Transportation arrangements. Welcome to Jungle Beach Hotel, an ideal resting place between the Tropical Jungle and the pristine Beaches of Costa Rica. Pura Vida! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Jungle Beach Hotel at Manuel Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jungle Beach Hotel At Manuel Antonio Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jungle Beach Hotel at Manuel Antonio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.