We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near the beach, it is OK.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jungle Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Jungle Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Priceline.com
Jungle Beach Hotel
200 meters from Playa Espadilla, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Pura Selva)   |  
Hotel amenities
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Near the beach, it is OK.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Owned by a Texan lady overseas, Jungle Beach has a very nice is very staff in an excellent location, just a few feet from the beach. The rooms are clean, neat but basic (AC and TV, but not other amenities like coffee maker). Another highlight is some tiny wild animals (e.g., monkeys) that might cruise along tree cups. But that's it.

Though a good-value, it is a bit pricey. Coffee and breakfast are available at the reception area only, and you might see some staff doing laundry beside the house. When we were there, the staff was blasting some reggae music which after a while became a little annoying, but some guest complained and they were cool and turned it off, so we could listen to... nature.

If you don't mind downgrading some more, you can find way more affordable surfer shanty-style guest-houses at a much affordable price. Likewise, if you don't mind paying some more, you can easily find better hotels around providing slightly more conventional hotel amenities.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    37
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
14
53
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

This hotel has a free breakfast of fresh fruit, toast and strong coffee served in a small hotel lobby from 7 to 9am. The canopy above the hotel frequently has Howler, and Capucin monkeys. The room is OK for size, but the smell of mildew within the room is almost overpowering. The TV has very poor cable connections which causes the loss of 50% of the English channels, and the wifi within the room is hopeless. Sometimes the wifi works (slowly) when outside on your little attached patio.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This hotel was one of the closest to the beach of all the hotels we saw in Manuel Antonio. The beach is basically across the street, and it is an easy walk to a few restaurants. The hotel was very clean and the staff was helpful and friendly. Breakfast is fresh fruit and a variety of breads, more of a morning snack but good. The only reason I don't give it 5 stars is because it is a simple hotel without a lot of extra amenities, but more than adequate for a stay at the beach. I would definitely stay here again for the convenience of the location, and the staff was helpful throughout, from reservation to asking general questions to checkout.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Jungle Beach was the fourth place we stayed at during our trip to Costa Rica and it was absolutely lovely! The staff was helpful and gave us directions to a great pizza place in the village, the room was incredibly large and clean, shower was excellent, breakfast was light but filling enough to make it until lunch and the hotel is literally 5 minutes to the beach. It was the perfect place to end our trip...I wish we could have stayed longer. A note for those who like to sleep in - the howler monkeys will definitely make sure you are up bright and early :) I almost didn't book this place because of the website (small pictures, not many of them), but I am so happy we did. Their website does not do this place justice!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The staff is extremely helpful and friendly. Also, the rooms are large, clean, and have air-conditioning. The breakfast in the morning is simple, but delicious. They also have howler monkeys and white-faced monkeys almost every morning, which is awesome for nature-lovers. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I recently booked a last minute trip to Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica during the holiday season. A lot of hotels were already booked but I found the Jungle Beach Hotel, read the reviews and booked a room.

First off, all the positive reviews below are absolutely true. There's no gimmick. Jungle Beach is a gorgeous, big-sized room, hotel with stunning views of The Jungle and terraces that make you want to sit and relax all day long.

I was able to make friends throughout my trip and got a look at some of the more pricey hotels in the area. In all honesty, Jungle Beach rooms are bigger, cheaper and outfit with fridge, wi-fi, AC and a terrific shower. I couldn't have been happier making Jungle Beach my hotel. The price is magnificent and you get much more than you'd expect for paying what you do. Plus, the hotel is literally up the street from the beach and a stone's throw from Manuel Antonio village where you can eat and drink at all hours. The Park entrance is all but a 10min walk.

Jungle Beach is ideal!

Room Tip: Room number 6 has a killer view and is tucked away nicely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Really clean rooms, with fridge, TV, wi-fi, and beautiful murals painted on the walls. There were monkeys everywhere outside! We also saw a sloth right across the street from the hotel. It was like a 5 minute walk to the beach, very convenient. For the price, we thought it was perfect! I guess the only bad thing is that you hear the howler monkeys start their crazy noises like at 3 or 4 AM! But I think that's part of the experience :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jungle Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jungle Beach Hotel

Also Known As:
Jungle Beach Hotel Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park
Address: 200 meters from Playa Espadilla, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Pura Selva)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Manuel Antonio National Park
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jungle Beach Hotel began operations in April 2011 (It was formerly known as Hotel Pura Selva and earlier, Hotel Del Mar) as a new project with the intention of providing comfort and entertainment to people who visit us. Jungle Beach Hotel has the support of the Costa Rican Chamber of Hotels. Our guests are served in Spanish and English.We are located seven kilometers (4.5miles) from Quepos, just 200 meters (two blocks) from the beach and 800 meters (eight blocks) from the entrance to the paradise of Manuel Antonio National Park which boasts the most beautiful beaches and plentiful wildlife and lush vegetation.Description:Jungle Beach Hotel facilities include a total of 1300 square meters (approx. 13,000 sq. ft.) of construction on a much larger acreage, with two buildings and ample gardens.One building has three levels, with one standard room on the lower level which has a private terrace and opens onto the garden, and two floors above each with two standard rooms with a shared terraces on each floor overlooking the garden. The other building has two levels. The main level houses the hotel’s reception area. From there a short staircase leads to the second area where you find the other two standard rooms and five suites.Rooms:There are a total of 12 rooms: seven standard rooms each with two queen beds, four suites with one king bed and one suite equipped with a premium king bed and a kitchenette. All rooms have cable TV, air conditioning, hot water, private bathroom, room safe and wireless internet.Guest Amenities:•Message service•Wake-up calls•Laundry service•Free domestic calls•Wireless Internet access•In-room safeA complimentary Continental Breakfast is included each day of your stay.We are also pleased to be able to offer our guests information on local tours and excursions and are happy to assist in travel arrangements.Our guests can easily walk to different area attractions as we are only 200 meters from the beach and just 800 meters from the main entrance of Manuel Antonio National Park. Taxi or bus service is available for travel to other points of interest, including the town of Quepos and Marina Pez Vela on the Quepos waterfront. We are very close to supermarkets, restaurants, ATMs, internet cafes and spas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Jungle Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jungle Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.