We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More negatives than positives” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Jungle Beach Hotel at Manuel Antonio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Jungle Beach Hotel at Manuel Antonio to your Saves list
Jungle Beach Hotel at Manuel Antonio
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Main Road Manuel Antonio National PArk | 200 Mts From Espadilla Beach, Manuel Antonio National Park 60601, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Pura Selva)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“More negatives than positives”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

This hotel has a free breakfast of fresh fruit, toast and strong coffee served in a small hotel lobby from 7 to 9am. The canopy above the hotel frequently has Howler, and Capucin monkeys. The room is OK for size, but the smell of mildew within the room is almost overpowering. The TV has very poor cable connections which causes the loss of 50% of the English channels, and the wifi within the room is hopeless. Sometimes the wifi works (slowly) when outside on your little attached patio.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    74
    34
    5
    2
See reviews for
36
95
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This hotel was one of the closest to the beach of all the hotels we saw in Manuel Antonio. The beach is basically across the street, and it is an easy walk to a few restaurants. The hotel was very clean and the staff was helpful and friendly. Breakfast is fresh fruit and a variety of breads, more of a morning snack but good. The only reason I don't give it 5 stars is because it is a simple hotel without a lot of extra amenities, but more than adequate for a stay at the beach. I would definitely stay here again for the convenience of the location, and the staff was helpful throughout, from reservation to asking general questions to checkout.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Jungle Beach was the fourth place we stayed at during our trip to Costa Rica and it was absolutely lovely! The staff was helpful and gave us directions to a great pizza place in the village, the room was incredibly large and clean, shower was excellent, breakfast was light but filling enough to make it until lunch and the hotel is literally 5 minutes to the beach. It was the perfect place to end our trip...I wish we could have stayed longer. A note for those who like to sleep in - the howler monkeys will definitely make sure you are up bright and early :) I almost didn't book this place because of the website (small pictures, not many of them), but I am so happy we did. Their website does not do this place justice!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The staff is extremely helpful and friendly. Also, the rooms are large, clean, and have air-conditioning. The breakfast in the morning is simple, but delicious. They also have howler monkeys and white-faced monkeys almost every morning, which is awesome for nature-lovers. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I recently booked a last minute trip to Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica during the holiday season. A lot of hotels were already booked but I found the Jungle Beach Hotel, read the reviews and booked a room.

First off, all the positive reviews below are absolutely true. There's no gimmick. Jungle Beach is a gorgeous, big-sized room, hotel with stunning views of The Jungle and terraces that make you want to sit and relax all day long.

I was able to make friends throughout my trip and got a look at some of the more pricey hotels in the area. In all honesty, Jungle Beach rooms are bigger, cheaper and outfit with fridge, wi-fi, AC and a terrific shower. I couldn't have been happier making Jungle Beach my hotel. The price is magnificent and you get much more than you'd expect for paying what you do. Plus, the hotel is literally up the street from the beach and a stone's throw from Manuel Antonio village where you can eat and drink at all hours. The Park entrance is all but a 10min walk.

Jungle Beach is ideal!

Room Tip: Room number 6 has a killer view and is tucked away nicely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Really clean rooms, with fridge, TV, wi-fi, and beautiful murals painted on the walls. There were monkeys everywhere outside! We also saw a sloth right across the street from the hotel. It was like a 5 minute walk to the beach, very convenient. For the price, we thought it was perfect! I guess the only bad thing is that you hear the howler monkeys start their crazy noises like at 3 or 4 AM! But I think that's part of the experience :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Stayed for three nights and found this Hotel to be affordable, clean and close to main beach. Had a private double bed room for 65/night. Rooms have AC, TV, fridge, and wifi is strong. Showerhead had strong hot water. Room was also pretty large.
Staff is very friendly and manager went above and beyond to help us book tours.
Free breakfast consists of toast, fruits, pastries, juice, coffee and tea. Light but decent.
My only complaint is that we stayed on the first floor and the cielings are thin. There is so much loud thumping and noise from upstairs at 7 in the mornings. Walls are also thin and can hear everything outside.
Don't come here in November. Wait for dry season in December and January. It rained most days and stayed in most afternoons.
Recommend eating Sancho's (Mexican) and Ngo (Chinese) and El sol (Costa Rican).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Costa Verde
Hotel Costa Verde
#19 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,035 reviews
0.3 mi away
Karahe Hotel
Karahe Hotel
#33 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 stars 278 reviews
0.7 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#7 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#4 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 stars 1,022 reviews
2.3 mi away
Condotel Las Cascadas
Condotel Las Cascadas
#17 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 320 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#26 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jungle Beach Hotel at Manuel Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jungle Beach Hotel at Manuel Antonio

Address: Main Road Manuel Antonio National PArk | 200 Mts From Espadilla Beach, Manuel Antonio National Park 60601, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Pura Selva)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jungle Beach Hotel at Manuel Antonio 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel with 12 Rooms featuring Tropical murals. Just a 2 minute walk to the Beach and a 10 minute walk to the Manuel Antonio National Park. A 5 minute Walk from our Hotel you have Restaurants, Supermarkets, Shops and other Recreational areas. Our proximity to the National Park, Pacific Ocean, and the lush Jungle that surrounds us makes our hotel a perfect daily visit for the three different species of Monkeys in the area, including the Titi (Spider), White face, and Howler Monkeys. We offer Free Buffet-stylel Breakfast, WiFi, Private Parking with Surveillance, 24 hour access to Reception, Daily room cleaning, and Laundry services. All of our Rooms are equipped with a Refrigerator, cable TV, Air Conditioning, ceiling Fan, Safe box, Hot water, Bathroom Set, and Towels. Additionally, the Studio Room comes with Kitchen appliances. Manuel Antonio offers a large variety of Activities and Tours for people of all fitness levels and Ages, including wildlife viewing, white water rafting, zip-lines, countless water sports, horseback riding, fishing, among many other excursions for you to enjoy. We are more than happy to Help with booking any tours or activities of your preference, as well as make Transportation arrangements. Welcome to Jungle Beach Hotel, an ideal resting place between the Tropical Jungle and the pristine Beaches of Costa Rica. Pura Vida! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Jungle Beach Hotel at Manuel Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jungle Beach Hotel At Manuel Antonio Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jungle Beach Hotel at Manuel Antonio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.