We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Los Altos Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Los Altos Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Los Altos Beach Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kilometer 4 on road to Manuel Antonio National Park, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
USA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I can't really say enough complements on this hotel and their amazing staff. The rooms are beautiful, modern and spacious all suite style with their own elevator access. The outdoor areas, pool, hot tub, dining, have beautiful views of the ocean. All of their staff were professional but also very friendly.

I would happily go back and stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LosAltosResort, Guest Relations Manager at Los Altos Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 25, 2015
Can't offer enough compliments? Well, your review is certainly a compliment enough! As our staff strives to offer guests a perfect vacation experience each and every day, we never get tired of reading reviews like this. So happy that you found your stay with us to be so fulfilling. And of course, thank you for offering your enthusiastic recommendation of our resort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    55
    15
    6
    3
See reviews for
157
101
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

This is where my hubby and I honeymooned. We had the ocean vista suite. It was so incredibly spacious and beautiful. The view from the 6th floor was wonderful. We had a full kitchen which wad great because we cooked a few times. There is a store in walking distance with basic needs.

We loved the pool and the hot tub - went there every day.

The Spa is ok. We had a couples massage. Be aware that the rooms are not air conditioned but they have large open windows with a gorgeous view. You will pay about the same price here as the US here. My massage was great. Hubby said his wasn't.

It is a steep hike to the private beach so be prepared. You will see monkeys and lots of Hermit crabs. There is a stream at the bottom that leads to the ocean. The private beach is very small. The beach is kinda rocky so not a good place to swim unless you don't mind that.

The restaurant there is Karola's and is excellent. Again you will be paying about the same here as in the US. Order the guaro sour.

The staff is very nice here. They are incredibly helpful and they book anything you want for you. Hopefully you will get Rafael.

I would highly recommend this place. It is family friendly as well.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LosAltosResort, Guest Relations Manager at Los Altos Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 25, 2015
We love couples who stay at Los Altos for their honeymoon! Few things are more exciting than to act as hosts for such a tremendous and significant moment in people's lives. We are so happy that you and your husband enjoyed your stay with us. Thrilled that you found your accommodations so luxuriously accommodating, and very happy that you guys found your kitchen to be a great place to make a few meals here and there. Creating the home away from home feel is certainly what we were going for at Los Altos. Thanks for your kind words regarding our staff, and we're proud to say that the Los Altos beach experience is new and improved, especially so thanks to our guests' incredible and thoughtful feedback. Can't wait to see you two on your next trip to Manuel Antonio!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We stayed four nights at this place...Very spacious, beautiful! We were shocked when the elevator opens and its your condo right there! I would highly recommend this place. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LosAltosResort, Guest Relations Manager at Los Altos Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 25, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us! Always so exciting when guests offer such a glowing review of their stay with us. So proud and happy that we could host you and your loved ones at Los Altos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We stayed a week at Los Altos with our two teenage children and couldn't have been happier. The accommodations were spacious and comfortable, so we never felt crowded. We were on the fifth floor on the B side and had a great, if far away, view of the ocean. Like others have mentions, we moved the chairs from the side balcony to the one that faces the ocean so we could all sit out there and enjoy the view. The condo was clean and everything was in working order. The staff was very accommodating, helping us make (and change) reservations for activities and dinners. They knew us by name and were eager to help us with any request we had. It was great to have daily maid service - usually this is not provided in condos we've stayed in on other vacations. We were only disappointed in the restaurant Karola's. The food there was just okay (though if you have an early tour scheduled, I highly recommend eating breakfast there - you will likely get a great show by the monkeys coming down to feed). When we were at the pool, they didn't really come down often enough to check on us to see if we wanted to order food or drink, so we got in the habit of stopping by on our way to the pool to order drinks and food and they'd bring it down to us when it was ready. There was a bar right next to the pool, but it was never staffed while we were there - perhaps because we were there in the rainy season? The staff in the restaurant was extremely friendly and happy to offer recommendations or rush our breakfast order so we could get done in time for our tour. We would definitely stay at Los Altos again and have already recommended it to several of our friends.

Room Tip: Higher floors on the B side have the best ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LosAltosResort, Guest Relations Manager at Los Altos Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 25, 2015
Reading this review was an absolute treat. We certainly never tire of knowing that our guests have had their vacation expectations met and exceeded, especially so when it come to guests who travel as a family. When we brought Los Altos to Manuel Antonio, creating the ideal family vacation was at the forefront of our thinking. We wanted families to have the most amount of comfort and access within this extraordinary tropical environment. Seeing monkeys in a nearby tree while eating breakfast is a truly unique experience, to say the least. And that ocean view, even at a distance, is enough to relax an active mind and tired body. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us, as well as offering future guests helpful tips on how best to enjoy the Los Altos and Manuel Antonio experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canyon Lake, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

When the elevator opens in your hotel room, you know you are in a special hotel. The rooms were gigantic and luxurious which makes you feel special which is exactly how you want to feel on vacation. The staff was kind and helpful, especially Dennis who also works as a nature guide in the park, definitely take advantage of his knowledge. Given the type of property this is, much work needs to go into the beach experience. The walk down is steep, obviously nothing can be done about that, but . . .we had to get the keys to a storage room to drag out majorly worn chairs, which is all you get for comfort on the beach. We visited friends at a neighboring property where the beach had food, beverage, chairs and activities. All places do not have to be the same but for these prices, please work on your beach!!!, The pool is beautiful and peaceful with gorgeous views. As for the overall experience in Manuel Antonio, you must take the canopy trip - best day of the trip, pay for a guide (Dennis) in the park (you won't see much if you don't), the mangrove boat trip was magical, shop in Quepos (way cheaper), best dinner was at Agua Azul and directly across the street from this hotel is a fantastic fish taco joint, totally delicious and well-priced, we ate there constantly!!! Will definitely come back to Manuel Antonio but we are beach people and might have to think twice about Los Altos unless they put some work into their beach. Enjoy Costa Rica, it is lovely.

Room Tip: All rooms are gorgeous, upper floors, offer better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LosAltosResort, Guest Relations Manager at Los Altos Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 25, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review of your stay with us. Though we strive for perfection in every aspect of the guest experience, we understand that sometimes certain components might not meet people's expectations. We're proud to write that since your stay we have moved forward on creating a truly wonderful beach experience. Still maintaining its treasure tropical remoteness, our beach now offers guests a comfortable and relaxing experience, the perfect way to experience the beauty of the rainforest. Of course, we're so happy that you found every other aspect of your stay welcoming and superbly accommodating. We're thrilled that you chose to stay with us, and we would love to host you on your next trip to Manuel Antonio!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

This is not your typical hotel or resort. They are wonderful condos that are so spacious - 3 bedrooms, luxury bathrooms and a full kitchen and dining area. So much space for a family. The breakfast was included - very nice. The only drawback was the long steep walk down to the pool but the pool was lovely. Very good restaurants in the area - just a bit of hard walking. Staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LosAltosResort, Guest Relations Manager at Los Altos Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us! So happy to read that you loved the accommodations. Our hope is to really give our guests that wonderful sense of being in a home away from home. And along with having our full time staff on hand, we hope to provide guests with the amenities and services that ensure a seamless stay. Thank you choosing to stay with us, and we hope to see you and your family on your next trip to Costa Rica!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

The suites--more like apartments--were fantastic and gave our family of four plenty of room to spread out! The staff, particularly Dennis, were fantastic and helped us in every way possible. There are several good restaurants within walking distance, and the hotel restaurant is good too. Beautiful sunset view from the pool area--we made sure we were there each evening. The beach below the hotel is lovely--almost like a private beach. Make sure you take the hotel provided vehicle from the hotel down to the beach--the road is very steep and rocky--not a pleasant walk, especially in flip flops!

Only complaint was that the room had a slightly musty/damp odor--not sure how that could be remedied but it would be an improvement.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor, and didn't have a great view--a higher floor would have better scen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LosAltosResort, Guest Relations Manager at Los Altos Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your Los Altos experience! We are so happy to read how fantastic your stay with us was, especially so in terms of our staff. We strive constantly to provide our guests with that perfectly seamless vacation experience, and it means a great deal when we get the chance to read about the positive results of our hard work. And, of course, we couldn't agree more, the sunset from the pool area is magnificent. We hope you took a lot of pictures! In terms of the odor within your apartment, we would like to just say that we greatly encourage guests to notify us immediately of any issues related to their stay; our staff is here to ensure everything about your stay with us is nothing short of perfect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.8 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#4 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 stars 1,003 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Costa Verde
Hotel Costa Verde
#19 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,008 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#8 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Mariposa
Hotel La Mariposa
#12 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 916 reviews
0.4 mi away
Makanda by the Sea
Makanda by the Sea
#17 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 341 reviews
0.4 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#7 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Altos Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Altos Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Kilometer 4 on road to Manuel Antonio National Park, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#4 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Los Altos Beach Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bold in presence; playful in personality. Los Altos Resort and Spa is Manuel Antonio's premier laid back luxury boutique resort. The Los Altos aesthetic represents a sensitive integration between tropical authenticity and modern amenities. We offer 28 gorgeous private residences, each boasting a vivid Pacific Ocean view through floor to ceiling windows. Also, for a luxury resort in the heart of Manuel Antonio, our rates are very reasonable. Very reasonable, and you get a lot out of us, which we're happy about. We like to keep things simple. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Los Altos Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Altos Beach Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Los Altos Beach Resort And Spa
Los Altos Beach Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Altos Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.