We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Found” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Los Altos Beach Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Los Altos Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Los Altos Beach Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kilometer 4 on road to Manuel Antonio National Park, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Save $100 on select meals
NYC
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Paradise Found”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

The Los Altos Beach Resort & Spa is paradise found. My girlfriend and I enjoyed our five-day vacation here immensely. It made such an impression on us that we hope to return before the year is out.

Basics: Los Altos staff is friendly, knowledgeable and eager to assist your every whim. The suites are spacious, spotless and tastefully decorated. The balconies offer spectacular views of the jungle and ocean. The pool and hot tub area are perfect for soaking up the Costa Rican sun, getting stuck into the latest E.L. James novel, or enjoying a cocktail.

Eating: The onsite restaurant offers very good food at reasonable prices. The tuna salad is perfection personified, or fishified, if you will. There are many other restaurants within walking distance of the hotel, some casual, some fancy. You might overhear other guests complaining that a few of said local restaurants are overpriced (Kapi Kapi, La Luna) but if you’re from NYC or LA then they’re just regular priced. The Los Altos included breakfast is the perfect way to start each day: choose from a traditional Costa Rican breakfast (eggs with rice & beans), an American breakfast (eggs & sausage), or a fresh omelet, but whatever you decide, be sure to sample some of the fresh tropical fruit. If you’re lucky, you may even see a monkey or two.

Surroundings: The Manuel Antonio area is a hive of outdoor activity. Whether you go horseback riding, scuba diving, or mountain hiking, you’re guaranteed an assault on the senses. The flora and fauna here are as varied as they are unique. Whatever you fill your days doing: be sure to make it back to Los Altos for 2-4-1 happy hour (4-7) so you can watch the sun set over the Pacific while sipping on a pina colada.

The beach is about a ten-fifteen minute walk down a steep trail and not recommended for the elderly, unfit or fat. While reading other reviews here I have noticed a few people get sore about this, and that’s rather like being at Disneyland and complaining that there’s too many men dressed in Mickey Mouse costumes. If you’re vacationing in Manuel Antonio then you’re visiting a naturally mountainous part of the world. Regardless, the hotel staff are more than happy to run you down and pick you up in their golf cart whenever you want.

I was delighted with Los Altos. It offers great value for money, stunningly beautiful surroundings and creates memories that will stay with you forever.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    203
    34
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
111
82
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Ceiba, Honduras
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We just returned from Quepos. Participated in the Offshore World Championship Fishing Tournament (April 2013), and the choice for hotel and set up was perfect. We were 6 adult and very complicated super expierenced anglers (Team Honduras), and the facilities and service was superb. Couldn't have made a better choice. Spacious, modern, top quality everything and good service. Even forgot some clothes and in no time they were delivered accordingly. Highly recommend Los Altos for Quepos.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

6 of us needed accomodation for the World Offshore Competition (Game Fishing) in Quepos this April. We took a 3 bedroom suite at Los Altos, and it could'nt be better. full kitchen, spacious, comfortable and great service.

I will definately stay at Los Altos if i ever go back to Quepos

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreview, Minnesota, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We spent six days at Los Altos in a 3-bedroom unit on the fourth floor in March 2013. From the moment we arrived to the time we check-out, our stay was perfect. The condo units are huge with very nice furnishings. Our unit was cleaned spotless every day. The beds are very good quality and so comfy. The showers/baths are high-end and beautiful. The front desk staff were very helpful with our dinner plans for each day. The breakfast had many choices of food and beverages and the service was perfect. Most days the monkeys would be come down the mountain in the adjoining area trees making perfect natural entertainment. The beach is quite a hike down and is private but somewhat rocky. It is a very beautiful beach and the privacy make it unique. The staff came down in an all-wheel drive vehicle to bring us back up at exactly the time we requested. The location and proximity to many tours and adventures is great too. There are many excellent restaurants within walking distance so not having a car was not a problem at all. We LOVED the staff and especially the guard that is looking out for two stray kittens (Bonita and Tiger). Oh, I forgot to mention, the pool and patio lounge areas are really cool. Clean, perfect temperature and full bar/restaurant service at your finger tips.
This property is awesome and I thank them for making our first visit to CR incredible. THANKS and we will see you next vacation to Costa Rica

Room Tip: Spend the extra money to get a room on the 3 floor or higher. The views are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LosAltosResort, Guest Relations Manager at Los Altos Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
When we read a review like this we can't help but become overcome by joy! We are so incredibly thrilled to hear how perfect your first time Costa Rican vacation was, and, of course, we are honored to have been a major part of that perfection! We, our management and staff, work so hard every day to ensure that every aspect - from booking to the stay to all the amenities to check-out - is a seamless experience and we are absolutely delighted when people arrive and feel so at ease and right at home. Thank you for your thoughtful and comprehensive review of your stay, and we certainly cannot wait to see you again at Los Altos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My trip with my wife and two teenage sons was a year ago. While I enjoyed it very much, particularly Los Altos, I have come to appreciate it even more after having been on additional trips to other places.

The actual condo is great--spacious, comfortable--plenty of room for many people without stepping on toes. Nice amenities throughout.

The staff is very helpful and responds to needs quickly.

Overall the "resort" is small so your time there is your quiet time. The surrondings are beautiful and hard for a day to go by without seeing monkeys, interesting birds, roosters and other animals. The pool is basic but good size for number of guests. The restaurant does good job with all meals though things are a bit pricey. We ate some meals there and some at nearby restaurants--many are walkable or just a short cab ride.

We spent some entire days at resort and where very happy. Other days did tours/ziplining and coming back to such a spacious and nicely appointed condo was always a good end to the day.

The only reason I did not give this 5 stars is the beach--it is ok but not the typical island beach where you spend the day--definitely ask the staff to transport you round trip and they will do so happily (beaches around Manuel Antonio National Park are the place to go for a beach day).

Grocery down the road is interesting but has all the basics you will need and nice to have a condo to allow you to stock up on basic things for the trip.

Appreciate the comment on distances being deceiving in pics. this is mainly a result of vertical distance between lobby of units and the pool rather than a long walk. You will find much longer walks to the pool at many resorts.

Room Tip: would try to get a higher floor for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LosAltosResort, Guest Relations Manager at Los Altos Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Although your visit was a year ago, we certainly appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your stay at Los Altos - seems like we left an incredibly positive impression on you and your family! We are especially proud to read that Los Altos has come to set a standard for luxury accommodations and guest services compared with the other hotels you have stayed at since your visit with us. We thank you as well for your thoughtful take on the atmosphere of the resort as well as the amenities offered. It goes without saying that our priority is to facilitate a quiet, tranquil and accommodating resort atmosphere. With regard to the beach, we believe our beach offers guests a more private location to spend time, but, of course, we know how tough it is to take on the absolutely gorgeous beaches located within Manuel Antonio National Park, which happen to be rated among the top tropical beaches in the world! At the very least, we are happy that our resort is only a several minute drive from this world famous national park. That said, we hope we've helped inspire another trip down to Costa Rica sometime soon. We are looking forward!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We just got back from Costa Rica with our three teenagers and we stayed at Los Altos Hotel for 4 nights. The room is huge! it is 2,500 square feet and we all had so much space. The room was so modern and beautiful. My only issues were with the WIFI. We were only able to get connected on the balcony and very front of the living room.

This is a perfect hotel for families. The pool is so beautiful and has an amazing sunset view! The breakfast was yummy and they make the most amazing banana bread!

Room Tip: The higher the floor the nicer the room. Building 2 has a more unobstructed ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LosAltosResort, Guest Relations Manager at Los Altos Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you taking the time to write such a thoughtful review. We absolutely agree that our resort is perfect for families and we are incredibly happy that our accommodations and amenities were enjoyed by the whole family! And so true, that sunset from the pool never gets old - so remarkable and breathtaking each time. As for the WIFI, we are truly sorry about the inconsistency of it during your stay and we thank you for bringing this to our attention. We are, in fact, upgrading our equipment, which will not only provide a faster connection, but will make the WIFI available in the apartments, at the pool and the restaurant. That said, we know your next visit to Los Altos will be absolutely perfect!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, FL
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We just recently stayed at Los Altos for four nights with our three children ages 9, 13, 15. Wow, this condo was perfect for our family. It was spacious, clean and modern. The location was perfect because we didn't care to be right on the beach. The infiniti pool was clean and well maintained and not crowded. The restaurant was nice and the food was good however a little pricey for dinner. There was a full gym with new equipment and towels. The front desk employees couldn't have been nicer and were extremely helpful with local recommendations regarding dining and excursions. Breakfast was included in our stay and it was wonderful, fresh fruits an omelette station and other items to choose from. The only complaints were there was only one tv in the condo and it was in the family room, wifi is inconsistent and the pool lighting was practically non existent at night which made it difficult to swim. However, this place was great and I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: ask for a high level if possible for better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LosAltosResort, Guest Relations Manager at Los Altos Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
We are always so grateful and happy to hear when our guests love everything we have to offer! It makes what we do here that much more meaningful when we discover that we are not only providing a beautiful vacation experience, but a memorable one as well. Also, we are very pleased to hear that our resort was enjoyed by everyone in the family! Part of our goal is to provide families with the space, amenities, and guest services that make it easy for everyone to enjoy Manuel Antonio all at once. We absolutely hope to see you and your family on your next visit to Costa Rica!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Los Altos Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Altos Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Kilometer 4 on road to Manuel Antonio National Park, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#3 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Los Altos Beach Resort & Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bold in presence; playful in personality. Los Altos Resort and Spa is Manuel Antonio's premier laid back luxury boutique resort. The Los Altos aesthetic represents a sensitive integration between tropical authenticity and modern amenities. We offer 28 gorgeous private residences, each boasting a vivid Pacific Ocean view through floor to ceiling windows. Also, for a luxury resort in the heart of Manuel Antonio, our rates are very reasonable. Very reasonable, and you get a lot out of us, which we're happy about. We like to keep things simple. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Los Altos Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Altos Beach Resort And Spa
Los Altos Beach Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Los Altos Beach Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Altos Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.