We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel submitted photos that were not accurate” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Los Altos Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Los Altos Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Los Altos Beach Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kilometer 4 on road to Manuel Antonio National Park, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Sterling, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“This hotel submitted photos that were not accurate”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We have just returned from spending 6 days at this hotel based on the photos the hotel submitted on the web. These photos are very deceptive. It looks as though the pool is close to the hotel while the fact is that it is down a fairly steep hill and not at all as close to what the photo says. We did like the accommodations since we had an entire floor since we had opted for a 3 bedroom suite. The restaurant on the property which also was reached on a hill was extremely poorly maintained. We had an included breakfast buffet which never varied and I had suffered from stomach distress after eating some of the offering. The maid service was at best just average. To navigate the grounds one would really need a cart which should have been furnished by the hotel.The listing of tours they suggested which we used was not all the best and was costly. But in order to get anywhere one would have to order a taxi. We were ripped off on one ride since we did not ask how much this fare would be. We did complain to the hotel and they said they would call the officials since we remembered the cab number.

Room Tip: All the rooms face the ocean. The 2 top floors are designed with 3 bedrooms and 2-12 baths. The vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LosAltosResort, Guest Relations Manager at Los Altos Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. As always, we are eager to hear from our guests as we continually strive to offer the best possible vacation experience.

With regard to the photographs on our website that you mention, could you please identify which ones in particular you feel are misleading? We must say that in all our years of operation, we have never received feedback that the pool was too far from the hotel.

With regard to the your experience at the restaurant, is it possible to identify what in particular you might have eaten that caused your "stomach distress?" This is, of course, distressing to us and we would immediately like to look into this matter further. As for the condition of the restaurant, could you please refer to the specific aspect of the restaurant you felt was "poorly maintained?" Again, our hope is to look into this matter further if you could please provide us with details.

With regard to the maid service, could you please refer to what exactly you feel the maid service neglected to do? The majority of the reviews published on TripAdvisor speak to the phenomenal staff services offered by Los Altos and our interest is to continue to offer phenomenal guest services.

As for your experience with the tour operators and taxi drivers, unfortunately this experience is out of our hands to a certain degree. We strive to develop relationships with the most dependable and affordable tour operators in town and the ones we choose, you'll find, are the ones that consistently receive top ratings on travel sites like TripAdvisor. If you could please let us know which tour operator in particular failed to meet your expectations, then we would certainly like to know as we are regularly assessing our relationships with tour operators based on guest feedback.

With regard to the taxi that you feel overcharged you, we are very sorry to hear that you felt you were taken advantage of; however, the taxi drivers operate independent of our resort. As with the tour operators, our hope is to receive guest feedback, which we are happy you provided us with, and from there we hope to continue to develop relationships with drivers who are dependable and trustworthy.

Once again, thank you taking the time to write your review, but we would certainly appreciate you contacting us at our toll free number 1-888-803-1332 or by email at info@thepreserveatlosaltos.com to speak more specifically to the issues that you raised.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    47
    12
    6
    1
See reviews for
133
95
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Spent two nights with our three kids here. We almost couldn't belive how spacious and modern our suite was. Gorgeous, top of the line fixtures and decorating. Staff at the front desk were helpful and courteous. Pool is nice but a little bit far of a walk. Only real downside is that we didn't go down to the beach because it was too far down the hill. However, it is very easy to go exploring other beaches if you have a car. All in all, we didn't really like Manuel Antonio that much compared to other places in Costa Rica like Santa Teresa or Tamarindo, but if you are going to go, this is a great place to stay.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LosAltosResort, Guest Relations Manager at Los Altos Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are certainly happy to hear you enjoyed your accommodations and that despite your misgivings about Manuel Antonio, that you and the family enjoyed yourselves. As a resort geared towards families, we are constantly striving to be as accommodating as possible for guests of all ages. As for reaching our beach, it's worth mentioning that we provide a shuttle service to and from the beach. Our front desk is always pleased to arrange that service for our guests. Nevertheless, we do hope you choose to return to Manuel Antonio. We are sure you'll come to enjoy it as much as we do!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Came here last October with one of my best friends and loved our stay. It was off-season, so we only shared the property with a few other guests. At most times the pool, restaurant, and beach were empty and for our sole enjoyment. The suite was beautiful - spacious 3 bedroom with nice finishings and a lovely balcony. We felt right at home, and given the beautiful surroundings and great decoration job, I really wished it were! The staff was very friendly and helpful at all times - helped us carry bags, book tours, call taxis, and make recommendations. The pool was beautiful and the breakfast that was included in our stay was fresh and yummy. What I loved most was that it was such a classy, top-notch place to stay yet didn't feel kitschy or touristy (probably because they were supposed to be condos). The one thing to note is that the private beach is a down a windy road, about a 10 minute walk, and a little rocky for my taste. However, the walk to the beach is beautiful in itself - we saw a group of monkeys on our way!! Also, you can ask for a ride back up to the hotel if you don't want to walk uphill on the way back. And note that the beautiful beaches of Manuel Antonio are only minutes away by taxi, so the rocky beach certainly had no negative effects on our time there. Thanks for providing us with such a wonderful stay, Los Altos!

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up, you'll get a better view from your balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LosAltosResort, Guest Relations Manager at Los Altos Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Beautiful apartment. Check. Excellent staff. Check. Pool, restaurant and beach. Check, check, check. We cannot thank you enough for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Los Altos! We are so happy that everything just so simply worked out. And not only worked out, but exceeded your expectations. As for beach access, yes, we understand the walk down can be a bit tough at times, but thank you for mentioning the shuttle service we offer to and from the beach. But as you said the walk alone is worth the trip! We couldn't agree more as it's definitely a perfect opportunity to experience what makes Costa Rica the destination it is, the absolutely gorgeous natural environment and wildlife. We look forward to hosting you on your next trip out here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

I am here now and LOVE this place! Incredibly beautiful with a wonderful staff! I will do a more complete review when I'm not so busy enjoying myself, but for now, let me just say this place is top shelf, and the staff is a big part of why it is so great. Special note to the owners.... I hope you pay your staff well.....they deserve it!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LosAltosResort, Guest Relations Manager at Los Altos Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
We could not agree more! Our staff is truly what makes the Los Altos experience so special and memorable. Our goal is to certainly make our guests feel like they have found happiness and relaxation in their Costa Rican home away from home. We are thrilled to read such kind and thoughtful words with respect to what we feel so passionate about. Thank you for taking the time share your thoughts with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

My girlfriends and I recently visited Los Altos Resort and could not be have been happier with our choice of hotel. Everything from the property, to the staff, to the rooms, to the restaurant were top notch. As a frequent traveler, I could not have been more impressed by this resort. The staff was always willing to help and made sure we were well taken care of. The rooms were always spotless and the food at the hotel's restaurant was easily the best we had in Costa Rica. No matter how many activities we did in the morning, we always made sure to be back in time for sunset because the view from the infinity pool and private beach were simply breathtaking. I cannot wait to visit Los Altos again and highly recommend this resort to both families and groups of friends.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LosAltosResort, Guest Relations Manager at Los Altos Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you so much for writing such a thoughtful review. We are so pleased that you and your friends found your stay at Los Altos as thoroughly enjoyable and expectation defying as you did. And we totally agree, the sunset view from our infinity pool is worth the trip back in time. We certainly never get tired of it, and we are so happy we could share everything else we have to offer with such wonderful guests. We cannot wait for you to return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Clements
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

fishing trip Feb 20-27 . Apartment villa was absolutley amazing, private elevator, huge rooms and the view was amazing. Front desk service was also quick and respectful. The pool and spas couldn't be located in a nicer spot of the mountain side. The private beach makes you feel like you are in the middle of nowhere( watch for the Howler monkeys you will be amazed, don't worry they wont come near you) We saw more wildlife from one of our three balcony's then at the Manuel antonio park... which was very boring until we entered the beach area towards the end of the tour. Food was ok at the Altos and service was super, take a walk 5 min either way and you will find all kinds of neat places to eat or have a few drinks. Cab rides to town are $6 and worth the ride through the montain side. Fishing was great aboard the CaribSea, we chartered for two days. Roberto and Cachi are very professional , This is the only boat that I will charter again and again. we caught everthing from sail fish to mahi mahi. Its worth the money! My advise would be to stay away from (Thebillchaser) a 36ft charter. We tried it and had a bad experience. Wasted a day of our trip aboard the vessel.
If you are landing in San Jose, try to take the domestic flight to Quepos its $80 and saved you three hours of additional travel. Going back next Dec, PURA VIDA!!!!!!!! my friends

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LosAltosResort, Guest Relations Manager at Los Altos Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Los Altos .We are very pleased to read your comments about our resort, our accommodations and our staff. We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back in December!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This is a nice, but pricey place, well located near Manuel Antonio National Park.

Yes, there are monkeys at the restaurant but visitors need to put pressure on the management for them to stop feeding the monkeys - this is bad for their habits, bad for their health (bananas are NOT good for monkeys!!!) and can lead to potentially violent behaviors towards humans. Please make your voice heard if you go there.

The Good:
Very large apartments (this is clearly a condo project converted into a hotel and feels as such), nice pool, friendly staff, good restaurant, great buffet breakfast.

The Bad:
This is very pricey and if you're not using the full space of the apartment, probably over priced. The kitchen seems to be "cosmetically stocked", i.e. some things I would expect in a functional kitchen were lacking (salt/pepper, dishwashing accessories, etc.)

The Bottom Line:
We would go back if we needed 3 rooms, but would probably look elsewhere if we were coming back to Manuel Antonio, not because of bad experience, but to try to find a better bang for the bucks.

Room Tip: Not sure it's worth it to pay extra to be higher up - you don't see that much from your balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LosAltosResort, Guest Relations Manager at Los Altos Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We are pleased to hear that your overall stay at our resort was pleasant and enjoyable. As for the staff feeding the monkeys, we do have a strict policy in place with regard to feeding the wildlife. As this is the first time hearing of such an occurrence, we would be most appreciative if you could contact us and perhaps describe in greater detail what you saw. Los Altos is absolutely committed to the preservation and protection of the natural environment that makes Manuel Antonio such a desirable destination. With regards to your accommodations, we would just like to say that we believe our pricing reflects not only the generous size of and amenities within the apartment, but the quality of guest services as well. We regret that you left feeling somewhat unsatisfied with your stay, but on the other hand we are so grateful for the over 100 five star reviews that convey the personable first class vacation experience provided by Los Altos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Los Altos Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Altos Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Kilometer 4 on road to Manuel Antonio National Park, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#3 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Los Altos Beach Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bold in presence; playful in personality. Los Altos Resort and Spa is Manuel Antonio's premier laid back luxury boutique resort. The Los Altos aesthetic represents a sensitive integration between tropical authenticity and modern amenities. We offer 28 gorgeous private residences, each boasting a vivid Pacific Ocean view through floor to ceiling windows. Also, for a luxury resort in the heart of Manuel Antonio, our rates are very reasonable. Very reasonable, and you get a lot out of us, which we're happy about. We like to keep things simple. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Los Altos Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Altos Beach Resort And Spa
Los Altos Beach Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Los Altos Beach Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Altos Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.