We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Wagon

El Wagon
Parque Nacional Manuel Antonio, km. 5, Manuel Antonio National Park 0, Costa Rica
4000-1540
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $10
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Simply amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I can go on forever, and I will but not today, about the places I've been to in Costa Rica. This place, just like the rest, was fun, amazing pizza and hot dogs. The drinks, well, something I've never tasted before. From the concept, to the decor, El Wagon is a great spot to stop by and gave a drink or 2, eat a dog and continue the craziest but beautiful road to the National park.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    328
    202
    70
    17
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best pizza!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Absolutely loved the pizza here! As with many restaurants in Costa Rica, we sat outdoors almost amongst the trees, in big rocking chairs. Wish it had been daylight so we could have watched for monkeys and sloths as I'm sure they are there! Be sure and check out the floor...it is an amazing tile large scale jungle mosaic. You can watch your pizza dough being hand tossed and put in the brick oven. All 4 of us ordered our own pizzas. We did have almost a full pizza left over to enjoy the next day. Highly recommend!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Did not like it, fast food of an average quality”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We went there for lunch, the pizza was greasy and not tasty at all, the so called jewish sausages felt like just your regular average tasting hot dog, the rest was not great either. Not a place to come back for us

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not impressed...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

The pizza place is overrated and expansive for the quality and service you get. The ambiance is nice, but I have requested vegetarian pizza and added basil...pizza came out with no basil..so the waitress left and brought me basil in her hands...and threw it on my pizza...interesting..she touches tons o money, trays, her hair..and then ha ha ha..I guess no sanitation required here....so was not impressed with the quality of the service or the pizza taste...(oh yahhh) forgot to bring us our drinks too.. had to ask for it 2x ;)

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Pizza is great!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Pizza is delightful! Service was good and the location is excellent. We will return soon and look forward to trying more pizzas on the menu.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Wagon also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to El Wagon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Wagon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.