We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing expedition; superlatives fail” 5 of 5 stars
Review of H2O Adventures

H2O Adventures
del Hotel Lirio 300 este 100 sur, Manuel Antonio National Park 60601, Costa Rica
+506 2774092
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: H2O Adventures operates rafting trips in Costa Rica. We are the only company running the Chorro Section Class IV(V) of the Naranjo River(Dec-April)since 2002. The lower Naranjo Class III+ runs from May through December. We also run an excellent family trip on the lower Savegre Class II-III year around and a 2-day trip on the upper Savegre Class IV. We operate kayak trips along Manuel Antonio Coast and in the Damas Island Estuary.We are the franchise, in Manuel Antonio for Rios Tropicales, ranked the #1 Costa Rica Adventure Outfitter and #5 Rafting Company in the World by National Geographic Adventure Online Magazine. Under these same standards, H2O Adventures also offers beyond compare excursions in Guanacaste, Sarapiqui, Arenal Volcano and the Caribbean. All the outfitters are owned and operated by river people, we are growing together in the business by offering a fair price to the best quality activities in Costa Rica.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“amazing expedition; superlatives fail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

If you want endless rapids, the warmest water, the most skillful guiding and spectacular scenery that has to be seen to be believed you should look into this matchless four day expedition on the Pacuare River from top to bottom. The last day and a half is the usual commercially rafted Pacuare trip itself one of the premier rafting day trips worldwide. The first two and half days are even more remote wild and stunning, and here you get the benefit of Leo vazquez' unparalleled knowledge of and connection to the rivers of costa rica. Ive been rafting worldwide for 20 plus years; the zambezi, the fou, the chilko, all the salmons and the colorado up and down and there is no warmer purer cleaner year round water and no better guiding anywhere in the world than the Pacuare expedition with H20 Aventures

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H2OAdventures, Owner at H2O Adventures, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thanks to you Don. The Square Man, Jorge and I had a real good time with you guys. Next year Chirripo!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    10
    0
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Rafting on Savegre River”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We took our 11 and 14 year old daughters rafting on the Savegre River yesterday. It was a fantastic day. The trip was organized by H2O Adventures. We really enjoyed our guide Romaine as well as the other guides. All the guides clearly enjoyed what they were doing, and that made for a nice, fun experience for everyone.

Our daughters had never rafted before, so the Savegre was a good introduction. The rapids were big enough in April (Class 3 & 2) to provide some excitement, but nothing too wild for the first experience.

The trip included transportation, a nice snack at a waterfall, swimming, and lunch afterward. We liked the entire package. One of the guides ("Africa" I think) got some great photos which we purchased on a CD after the trip. I thought the CD was a good value based on the quality of the photos.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H2OAdventures, Owner at H2O Adventures, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for your time and for mentioning the staff that made your trip so special.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“white water rafting Naranjo river , churro section”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

the guides were wonderful, friendly , informative and I felt very safe.
the raft ride was relatively short, ? about 90 minutes...but was filled with many thrills and was well worth it.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, WA
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Excellent guide, staff and meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We (2 parents & 2 adult daughters) rafted the Savegre River in February, class 2-3. It was a fun trip and was a great way to spend a hot and sunny afternoon. Our guide, Erick, was great explaining info about Costa Rica, taught us a bit of spanish and we enjoyed talking about (Seattle) rock-n-roll - we really enjoyed Erick, Champo and our young kayaker (sorry, forgot his name!) The staff were enthusiastic and friendly. They were thorough with their safety guidance and were clear with instructions throughout the river trip. Pick up was right on time, everything went together like clockwork, the photo CD was a fun reminder of our day and the day was very well organized. Our meal was excellent - seriously one of the best Tico meals on our stay in Costa Rica. They wrapped the food in ?banana? leaves and as sides we enjoyed fresh green salad, delicious pineapple and punch. Really GREAT food! We stopped at a pretty waterfall along the way and Erick pointed out wildlife, plants and we could tell he truly loved his job and working for H20 - great guides!

The water was a bit low but Erick worked really hard to make the trip fun for us. I chose this river thinking it would be best for most of us as first timers but since we are pretty active hikers, boaters, climbers, etc.....we probably should have chosen a more lively river. But truly, the H20 employees made the trip enjoyable. The next time we come to Costa Rica, we will use the same guides and try another river! You won't be disappointed in your rafting trip - especially as a family or with young kids - beautiful scenery, awesome guides, fun rapids – this was really one of our best days spent in Costa Rica!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H2OAdventures, Owner at H2O Adventures, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for you words and detailed description of your experience with us. We'll make sure to tell our staff that they did a great job with your family. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Savergese river perfect for family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Very nice class to class III rapids family really enjoyed it ages 12 to 16 and mom and dad. Perfect three-quarter day event. Our guides Kenneth and Rambo were fantastic. We saw a sloth, birds, boa constrictor snake, and Plenty of rapids and swimming

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed H2O Adventures also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to H2O Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage H2O Adventures, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.