We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thrills, spills and a Toucan to boot!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of H2O Adventures

H2O Adventures
del Hotel Lirio 300 este 100 sur, Manuel Antonio National Park 60601, Costa Rica
+506 2774092
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: H2O Adventures operates rafting trips in Costa Rica. We are the only company running the Chorro Section Class IV(V) of the Naranjo River(Dec-April)since 2002. The lower Naranjo Class III+ runs from May through December. We also run an excellent family trip on the lower Savegre Class II-III year around and a 2-day trip on the upper Savegre Class IV. We operate kayak trips along Manuel Antonio Coast and in the Damas Island Estuary.We are the franchise, in Manuel Antonio for Rios Tropicales, ranked the #1 Costa Rica Adventure Outfitter and #5 Rafting Company in the World by National Geographic Adventure Online Magazine. Under these same standards, H2O Adventures also offers beyond compare excursions in Guanacaste, Sarapiqui, Arenal Volcano and the Caribbean. All the outfitters are owned and operated by river people, we are growing together in the business by offering a fair price to the best quality activities in Costa Rica.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Thrills, spills and a Toucan to boot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My family and I toured Costa Rica over Christmas break. During our week, we did it all (zip line, rappel, kayak, nature hike and, of course, white water rafting. Without a doubt, I thought this was the best excursion BY FAR! We all had to act as a team to get down the river safely. Our guide Max briefed us on what we should and should not do. He was informative about rafting and our surroundings. We even saw Toucans! I would highly recommend H2O adventures white water rafting tour (and Max too!)

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    10
    0
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Willemstad, Curacao
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful waterfall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

The river we were taken to had a beautiful waterfall. This was a very good run for novices even though in the rainy season they say that the rapids can become "wilder". So always a good idea to check when would be the best time for your experience.
The guides were professional, enthusiastic and fun. They all have nicknames like “Rambo” or “Shakira”, (our guide Orlando). Makes it easy to remember who is who. Be prepared, as they will splash water on you.
They had ice tea and fruit for us before the run.
This was a “team building” experience for a company so I am not familiar with the planning for this tour or the expense involved. (Recommend this to other companies.)
Getting to the site was a bit complicated as a bridge was out and we had to cross the riverbed. The vehicles H2O uses are not exactly ideal for this. They use small buses better suited to paved roads instead of all-terrain vehicles and we had some delay as we had to push the vehicles across.
Leave anything you don't want to lose behind. You use glasses? Fasten them. You will get splashed so if you wear contacts, beware. You must hold on to your paddle at all times so photography is difficult. A GoPro camera (or something similar) with a helmet harness is ideal. Try putting a desiccant inside of the housing as humidity is a problem and the cold water could fog the lens.
Enjoy the ride, I sure did.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H2OAdventures, Owner at H2O Adventures, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. We really appreciate you took 10 minutes to make us famous.
We know are vehicles are not ideal for the road we took you on. We had rains the nite before and the bed of the creek we crossed was very soft that morning. The ICT (Costa Rica Tourism board) and our insurance company are very strict about the vehicles we use to transport tourists. There are 4x4 vehicles with adaptations to carry people but most of them are not properly insured. We do think that from all the vans in the market the Toyota Hiace is the best to ride on rough terrains.

I am glad to hear you had a good time no matter the inconveniences. Thank you for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeley, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Repeat Customers!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Growing up in Montana, I've been white water rafting a number of times and was excited to try it out in Costa Rica. My boyfriend and I did our research and chose H2O to take us rafting outside of Quepos. We arrived at the office, packed up and began our drive to the Savegre River. On the way we drove through lush rainforest and rustic villages. Our van stopped and the guide hopped out to show us the plants that are native to the area. Once we got to the river, they gave us a quick safety lesson and before we knew it we were on the river. H2O's Savegre Trip was one of their easier trips so I didn't expect large, exciting rapids but I was surprised by the river! Halfway through we stopped at a gorgeous waterfall and were able to play underneath it. The guide set up delicious snacks and after replenishing our energy we were back on the river for more adventures. The water on the Savegre was so pristine and clean it was perfect. As the other reviews mentioned, they send along a photographer that takes unbelievable pictures. Plan to buy the CD with the pictures. When 4 of our friends came down to visit us a month and a half later, we knew we had to book H2O again. This time we were able to book the Naranjo River trip with the rougher rapids. Both were memorable experiences we'd love to repeat again and again.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H2OAdventures, Owner at H2O Adventures, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you for your reply. We hope to see you back with us soon!! Your next visit should be between January and April for the Chorro Season Class IV (V)!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“H2O Adventures”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

I cant say enough about how much fun this tour was. The staff was very knowledgeable and friendly. I highly recommend our tour guide Rambo Tico. He made our rafting experience so much fun as well as making everyone feel safe.I highly recommend this tour.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lewins, Owner at H2O Adventures, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for you review. We will make sure Rambo Tico knows about your comments!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weehawken, New Jersey
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Awesome rafting trip - highlight of our vacation!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We were in MA to get married (so maybe that was the real highlight), but the rafting trip was a close second! We went with some of our guests (about 25 family and friends) and had so much fun!! Our guide, Gray, was awesome - we felt lucky to be in the raft with him and he really made it SO much fun for us. (everyone else enjoyed their guides too, but I really think we had the best!) The Sevegre was exciting enough (we'd wanted the Narango but they switched it b/c rains had made it really slow) and we enjoyed our stop by the waterfall and the rapids. Can't say enough about this trip - so, so much fun. We had done ziplining the day before and if you are trying to choose between the two - pick rafting - so much more exciting!!! My 8 year old nephew had as much fun as my 63 year old mom!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lewins, Owner at H2O Adventures, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Second best after your wedding? sounds excellent!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed H2O Adventures also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to H2O Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage H2O Adventures, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.