We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gourmet experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve

La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve
2.7 km Quepos y Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
506-2777-9797
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $2 - $40
Cuisines: Costa Rican, Continental, International, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Gourmet experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Absolutely a must in Manuel Antonio! We stayed in Manuel Antonio for 3 nights and went 2 times to La Luna! On the way by golf car from the reception downstairs we saw a lot of monkeys playing on the trees. From 5 to 6 pm, there is a Happy hpur to get 2 drinks for 1 (cca 8 USD) you can enjoy both - nice tapas and sunset :-) We sit down in the restaurant and I had a nice plaintain puree with fish packed into banana leave - I highly recommend to take it! I think its name was papillote or something like that. We also tried papaya soup and a seafood plate for 2 - It was nice but a bit small for 2 hungry guys :-).

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve is indeed a gourmet experience. Nothing short of the best food in Manuel Antonio.

Thank you for coming twice in your visit.

We believe our service is the very best in the local area and it's truly a fun time with visitors and locals alike for our tapas time which starts at 4PM and live music beginning at 5PM.
With our 2x1 drinks also starting at 5 PM.......It's a lively place for all to gather.
Thank you for your visits with us and welcome back the next time you are in Manuel Antonio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    441
    80
    36
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Stunning Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We went for pre dinner drinks and tapas and they were outstanding. The setting is gorgeous with a live duo playing music in the background. Drinks were 2:1 happy hour and tapas were cheap ($4) and delicious. It is a fun ride to get there up a hill by golf cart, and the setting is gorgeous. You can see for miles and miles. Highly recommend for drinks and tapas.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Coming from New York City, we are humbled by our recent guests comments.

We are indeed one of the highest points in Manuel Antonio which affords us spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean, far away mountains and our precious rain forest.

Tapas is always a fun time at Gaia with our live music and fabulous drinks and tapas. This all makes for a magical experience.

Thank you for your very kind comments and taking the time to post on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Delicious food with a view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

We were staying at Gaia Hotel so we went to the restaurant for Happy Hour, dinner and breakfast the next morning. It was all delicious! The tapas for Happy Hour were wonderful and inexpensive. Our dinner was great - I recommend ordering the tuna. Theres also live music at night, so the ambiance is very nice. Breakfast was spectacular as well. Our breakfast was included and I don't think I ever had such a wonderful breakfast included in any other hotel. We'll definitely return to this restaurant when we're ion the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thanking our recent guests from San Jose, Costa Rica.
We are thrilled you enjoyed all of the meals you took at Gaia including our well acclaimed sunset tapas with live music every night. Our 2 for one cocktail list is quite famous.
Our complete menu breakfast is part of our guests room rate and we are always open to the general public for them to enjoy also.
Thank you for taking your personal time to share your wonderful experience here on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Habra, California
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Sunset Dinner - Must have dinner here at least 1 night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

On our final night in Manuel Antonio, our hotel recommended La Luna restaurant. We were looking for a sunset dinner. Make sure you make reservations in advance - it is not an easy place to just walk into.

We barely made it for the sunset -but it was completely worth it.

This restaurant is down the main road - but the way the building is built it is a perfect sunset view.
The restaurant is covered, but the view is open for a perfect view.

Great service from the staff and the good was food. It did take a while for the food to come out.
On the night we were there was a person playing the piano and taking requests.

All in our group were so glad we experienced this restaurant during our stay.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thanking our guest from California for mentioning all the very wonderful aspects of our La Luna restaurant.
Sunset is indeed very special and the views overlooking the Pacific Ocean are second to none in the entire Manuel Antonio area.
Our live music every night makes the whole dining experience that much more exciting and uplifting after a full day of outdoor activities.
Both our kitchen staff and wait staff are the best in town and what comes out of our kitchen is nothing short of magical.
Thanking you again for sharing your experience here on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We ate at La Luna our last night in Costa Rica and it was a fabulous experience top to bottom. The staff members were so friendly and helpful from the moment we entered the gate until we left. The food was great, not the best meal while in the Manuel Antonio area, but the overall experience definitely outranks all the others.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Thank you Lauren for taking the time to note your wonderful experience at La Luna Restaurant. We are nothing short of a great 5 star experience without the attitude. And as we say in our brochure....flip-flops are welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.