We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food with a view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve

La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve
2.7 km Quepos y Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
506-2777-9797
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $2 - $40
Cuisines: International, Continental, Central American, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Delicious food with a view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

We were staying at Gaia Hotel so we went to the restaurant for Happy Hour, dinner and breakfast the next morning. It was all delicious! The tapas for Happy Hour were wonderful and inexpensive. Our dinner was great - I recommend ordering the tuna. Theres also live music at night, so the ambiance is very nice. Breakfast was spectacular as well. Our breakfast was included and I don't think I ever had such a wonderful breakfast included in any other hotel. We'll definitely return to this restaurant when we're ion the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thanking our recent guests from San Jose, Costa Rica.
We are thrilled you enjoyed all of the meals you took at Gaia including our well acclaimed sunset tapas with live music every night. Our 2 for one cocktail list is quite famous.
Our complete menu breakfast is part of our guests room rate and we are always open to the general public for them to enjoy also.
Thank you for taking your personal time to share your wonderful experience here on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    513
    98
    45
    12
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Habra, California
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
“Sunset Dinner - Must have dinner here at least 1 night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

On our final night in Manuel Antonio, our hotel recommended La Luna restaurant. We were looking for a sunset dinner. Make sure you make reservations in advance - it is not an easy place to just walk into.

We barely made it for the sunset -but it was completely worth it.

This restaurant is down the main road - but the way the building is built it is a perfect sunset view.
The restaurant is covered, but the view is open for a perfect view.

Great service from the staff and the good was food. It did take a while for the food to come out.
On the night we were there was a person playing the piano and taking requests.

All in our group were so glad we experienced this restaurant during our stay.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thanking our guest from California for mentioning all the very wonderful aspects of our La Luna restaurant.
Sunset is indeed very special and the views overlooking the Pacific Ocean are second to none in the entire Manuel Antonio area.
Our live music every night makes the whole dining experience that much more exciting and uplifting after a full day of outdoor activities.
Both our kitchen staff and wait staff are the best in town and what comes out of our kitchen is nothing short of magical.
Thanking you again for sharing your experience here on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We ate at La Luna our last night in Costa Rica and it was a fabulous experience top to bottom. The staff members were so friendly and helpful from the moment we entered the gate until we left. The food was great, not the best meal while in the Manuel Antonio area, but the overall experience definitely outranks all the others.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Thank you Lauren for taking the time to note your wonderful experience at La Luna Restaurant. We are nothing short of a great 5 star experience without the attitude. And as we say in our brochure....flip-flops are welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

After eating a full meal at another location we went here for dessert and drinks and regretted not spending the whole evening here. The deserts and drinks were to die for, especially the lava cake would even make some Master Chefs jealous. The atmosphere is luxurious and relaxing. With a beautiful painst and classical singer to top off the night.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
We are thrilled you had such a good time at our La Luna Restaurant. We provide nothing short of great service and cuisine.....each and every day.
We have recently been noted as having the very best restaurant in the Manuel Antonio/Quepos area and we are happy you were able to experience our hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“A fine example of fancy cuisine.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

Great atmosphere and exemplary service (French service) combined with interesting food grant the guest a good experience. Not New York prices but still more expensive than the rest of Manuel Antonio and not as rewarding as other options that cost less. Much better food is just up the road at that little Italian spot.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
We are very happy that you had such a great experience here at La Luna restaurant.
Our service is second to none in the Manuel Antonio area as you so rightly pointed out.
Thank you for posting your comments on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.