We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to Miss!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Bada

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel San Bada to your Saves list
Hotel San Bada
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Next to Manuel Antonio National Park Entrance | Manuel Antonio Beach, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
EARLY BIRD 15% OFF
Schofield
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Hard to Miss!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

This mustard colored hotel is HARD to miss. It is right next to the entrance to Manuel Antonio National Park. It is in a very congested area, but has a gated entrance. The location alone earns this hotel 5 stars. The room was spacious and quite clean. Please understand this hotel is located right in a rainforest. The monkeys remind you of this right away. Unfortunately so do all the bugs. You will most likely deal with some in or around your room. There is no way around this. If you are someone that associates bugs in a room with a poor experience and subsequently a poor Tripadvisor review, I would not suggest staying here. The meals we ate were good, but nothing outstanding. We enjoyed the pool area and water slide. All of the staff was attentive and friendly. The hotel is a short walk away from many shops and a public beach. Obviously it is also the best location for a visit to Manuel Antonio Park. I would suggest that you GO EARLY to avoid huge crowds.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    144
    40
    19
    9
See reviews for
144
172
21
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

This hotel is at one of the top locations in Manuel Antonio, but certainly doesn't make the best use of it. The view from all the upper rooms (3-6th floors) vary from good to extraordinary, and each room has a balcony where you can spend a morning watching monkeys and birds. However, the balcony furniture is a bit like torture instruments!
The furnishings of the hotel lack both taste and comfort (what's left, I wonder, except price?).

The staff is plentiful but mostly rather incompetent if eager to serve. Two young girls stood out though. Partly because they had some English, but mostly because they were bright and serviceminded.

The hotel's acoustics are not that good - sound carries between rooms and from the pool area up into the rooms. The walkway down to the beach is in desperate need of maintenance.

The food and coffee were mediocre, but there's a breakfast cook and she made us nice omelettes and fried eggs every morning, which helped a lot to alleviate the otherwise meagre offerings. Three kinds of fruit in a country that's brimming with it?

Still, the eager staff makes sure that the hotel has a nice atmosphere.

Room Tip: The higher up the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menton, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur, France
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Hotel appears to be one of best in the area. Even so, its a bit tired. Rooms are basic but fine though and they look out directly on to the national park, the entrance of which is directly outside the hotel entrance. The pool is nice with a fast slide. The restaurant is sweaty for breakfast, and just doesn't look too hygenic. We ate out evry night as there was no-one at the restaurant. No toilet paper can be thrown in the toilets, which shows the age. Wifi very weak and signal constantly on and off

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanBada C, General Manager at Hotel San Bada, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are sorry to hear that you could not experience what we always strive to achieve at Hotel San Bada!

First of all, thank you for pointing out that you found that the hotel location was very convenient, right next door to the park, and in walking distance to the beautiful beach, and also, our beautiful family pool with waterslide and waterfalls. However, we are disappointed that you appear not to have enjoyed our rooftop pool with ocean and sunset views.

We think that you forgot to mention that our Hotel has obtained “Green Flag Program”, this ensures that there are good hygiene conditions and practices in food preparation and that all water within the Hotel is safe for human consumption, sustainable and in harmony with nature. We are the only hotel and restaurant in the beach area with this recognition. Usually during the mornings we have 25°C or 77°F ambient temperature, however there is misleading information that this temperature means that the breakfast “doesn’t look” hygienic.

All of the environmentally responsible Hotels in Costa Rica, specifically in our case, have a water treatment plant using bacteria. For that reason the company in charge of the plant recommended that we do not throw anything other than toilet paper, and no harmful chemicals into the toilet, as it may kill the bacteria that decomposes waste. The result is that 99% of the water is clean and can be reused for gardening.

WiFi is very important for many of our guests as well as our staff. Knowing this, we have 2 internet providers at Hotel San Bada. In the event that one fails there is always a backup. We also have generators in the hotel that come on immediately if there is an interruption in power. We are sorry you did not let us know about any issues you had with the internet since we could have helped you immediately by resetting the routers or switching over to the alternate internet provider.

Thanks again for sharing your experience and we hope you can give us a second chance to host you in paradise and make your vacations a memorable time!

Warm regards,

Your friends at Hotel San Bada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I stayed two night at this hotel. It had the ideal location to going into Manuel Antonio and the beach near Manuel Antonio. The entrance to the hotel is right next to the entrance to Manuel Antonio National Park. The entrance is gated and attended by a security guard. The surrounding area is filled with tourist but it is not noisy at all on the hotel grounds. When you enter the grounds there is a parking lot that was empty when I arrived. I was the only one to drive there it seemed. Check in was fairly easy. The front desk is not connected to the hotel. You have to walk a little to your rooms. My room was on the fifth floor and I had a little ocean view. The room was massive. It had everything you could need. My room had a huge king size bed, a flat screen tv, a minibar, a safe in the closet, and umbrella. There was a patio attached to the room so you can sit outside your room and look at the ocean view. I was hoping to see some howler monkeys but I was unlucky. The bathroom is also spacious. The only negative I would say is the way the tub is set up. It is a deep tube and it is fairly high off the ground. You would need to take precaution if you are wet because you have to step in and out of the tube without falling. This a minor thing but I thought I should mention it. The hotel grounds were fairly quiet. There is a bar upstairs that has a even better view of the ocean. There is a huge pool with a slide in the front of the complex when you walk in. The restaurant is located across from the pool. The breakfast buffet was delicious and had your typical Costa Rican dishes(gallo pinto,plantains,etc). In between the restaurant and the hotel, there is a walk way to the beach. You will pass through some shops on your way to beach. It takes about 5 minutes. I really enjoyed my stay here and would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanBada C, Director General at Hotel San Bada, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear Guest!

Thank you very much for your time and for posting your recent experience at our Hotel!

We are glad that you experienced what San Bada is all about! Perfect location few steps to the main entrance to the National Park, close walking distance to the beach, free, 24hrs secured and spacious parking, quiet and relaxing atmosphere, spacious rooms and rainy showers, and what is the most important thing our customer service minded staff.

Thank you for you suggestion in regards to the tub, last year we renovated 50 of our baths, taking out the tubs and installing a rainy shower. We appreciate your comment as it means that our guest prefers more baths with only shower instead of combined with a tub.

We are glad that you point out our beds, very comfortable and well equipped, with egyptian linen sheets, duvets, feather mattress top and feather pillows.Rooms also consists of private balconies where you can relax and breath the fresh forest or ocean breeze.

Ah... we are glad you went up to our sixth floor, with magnificent ocean and sunset views, our rooftop does also have a bar and a swimming pool... yes it is correct a swimming pool at the 6th pool with ocean and Manuel Antonio National Park treetops views.

For families we have the biggest pool in the área with waterfalls, wetbar and slide. Very secure and exclusive for only guests.

We appreciate for you kind words towards our complimentary breakfast, we offer a costarican buffet, with omelet station, fruits, yogurt, and fresh bread just out from our oven. Our goal is offer a generous breakfast and reflect its quality into our dinning options.

Thanks again for your great review and we do hope to have the howler monkeys ready for you and welcome you back at your next visit.

Sincerely,

Your friends at Hotel San Bada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

After an interesting ride in a luxury bus we discovered this place is well located to the national park of Manuel Antonio town, they received us with a happy hour on the top floor. Staff was very attentive they started to bring umbrellas when the rain started. Beds were comfortable and shower room was big. We didn't have the luck to see wildlife from our balcony but we did see monkeys at the park. Nice place to stay in Manuel Antonio, they are close to the beach and shops, we hope to be back someday.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Loved the rooftop views and pool.
Very nice room. Terrible safe, completely hard to figure out. Also there is a strange smell to the rooms, someone else made the same comment.
No coffee maker, but nice breakfast and very nice staff in a depressing breakfast room, way too dingy and dark. Breakfast would be amazing on the rooftop!
Hot tub was never turned on for heat, maybe because it was off season.
Loved the proximity to the national park - it's next door, and loved the proximity to the beach -
there was a strange little walkway that took you there that reminded me of Alice in Wonderland.
While I'm making suggestions, that gift shop was wierd. Light was always 'off' and we never realized there was someone in there until the last day. Bring things outside the shop so
people will realize there are items in there for sale!
Very nice front desk people and nice grounds and lovely tiling.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

WOW! Where do I begin!? First and foremost, the hotel is perfectly located right next to the entrance of Manuel Antonio National Park and is within 5-10 minutes walking distance of the beach; shops; and restaurants. Upon arrival, guests are welcomed with a cold towel and delicious fruity drink. Breakfast and wifi are both free, with the former being absolutely delicious!

While all of these things are nice, the most outstanding part of my stay at Hotel San Bada was the staff. Words cannot adequately describe how kind everyone was, from arranging tours to calling taxis to just striking up a casual conversation. I HIGHLY recommend getting picked up from the airport and taking the horseback tour with Shaggy (his jobs include both: transporting people to and from the airport and then guiding the horseback tour). He is one of the nicest men I have ever met and is so passionate about his country and job.

Overall, I can provide a strong recommendation for this hotel. Pura vida!

Room Tip: Rooms on the 6th and 7th floors have better views of the monkeys scurrying through the trees :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel San Bada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Bada

Address: Next to Manuel Antonio National Park Entrance | Manuel Antonio Beach, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel San Bada 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Bada brand new Hotel located right next to Manuel Antonio National Park entrance, and a few steps to Manuel Antonio Beach, Costa Rica.Rooms with National Park jungle and ocean view balconies. Discover the wildlife from your balcony and listen to the ocean. The biggest pool in the area with water slide, waterfalls and a pool bar. A private pool for adults at the terrace, with ocean and jungle view, perfect sunset spot! Our amenities:-Restaurant-Access to the public beach-Pool bar-Power generator in case of electricity shortout-Elevator-Biggest pool-Kids pool-Adults pool with ocean view-Snack Bar-WiFi-Free spacious parking, no driving needed once you are at the resort, everything is in walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel San Bada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Bada Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Bada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.