We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel of my Life!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Bada

Save Saved
You added Hotel San Bada to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel San Bada
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Next to Manuel Antonio National Park Entrance | Manuel Antonio Beach, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Canton
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Hotel of my Life!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This is the best hotel of my life for many reasons. First off, the staff is so friendly. I went with my friend and one of the employees gave us a tour of the whole hotel when we got there. I felt like we were being treated like kings when we were there. There is two pools and the food is very good. The rooms are very clean with amazing beds! My friend and I had an unforgettable experience here. The location is also perfect.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanBada C, General Manager at Hotel San Bada, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Paul L

Thank you so much for your kind review

We do our best to make sure our guests have a complete San Bada experience, from the accommodation, rooms, the pools, the spa, our of course unique location, and our incredible and friendly staff! All of this together works as a team to make an unforgettable stay.

It is our humble goal to accommodate all our guests with the highest standards of quality and customer service, and are so happy that we`ve met your expectations!

Thanks a lot. Pura Vida!

Your friends at Hotel San Bada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    211
    97
    26
    15
    7
See reviews for
113
120
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I stayed with my girlfriend for a couple of nights. There is not a single let down in the hotel. The location is the best o the area, next to the entrance of the national park. The food is excellent, with a superb chef. The service and the installations are the best on the area. This is the place to go!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanBada C, Manager at Hotel San Bada, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Alberto R

Wow thank you so much for your review!

We really appreciate your comments and it sounds like your stay was nothing short of amazing, in only two days are not enough time but we`re thrilled that you experience and enjoy what our Hotel has to offer.

It sounds like you were able to incorporate a good mix of exploring the wonderful nature surrounding the resort and pampering yourself with our services!

We`ll sure tell our chef how much you loved his food! He will be very happy, it`s very motivating to us, read reviews like this one.

Thank you!

Your friends at Hotel San Bada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
103 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Absolutely brilliant location immediately (I mean immediately!) outside the main entrance of the National Park. Terrific pool, nice rooms, good general feel to the place albeit it was a little empty at the end of August.
Breakfast was a buffet one day, a short menu the other when there were fewer guests but still adequate.
The restaurant was overpriced but there are plenty of other options locally and hotel as a whole is a little pricey: it would have got a rare "Excellent" but for this. The top floor pool was unattended when we were there so the bar there was not an option.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanBada C, Manager at Hotel San Bada, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Guest!

Thank you for writing about your experience!

We really appreciate for sharing with others your experience at our Hotel. We are truly blessed for having such and amazing location, views and great service. All that combined allow us to spoil our clients in so many different ways!

We also apologize for the incovenience encountered at the 6th floor bar, usually it is attended but we are going to improve in this aspect. In regards to the food, compared to other hotels we have very competitive and fair prices. Compared to other restaurants nearby the difference consists in the ingredients we use and the menu we offer.

Muchas Gracias, Pura Vida!

Your friends at Hotel San Bada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

I went for the weekend for a quick break, and ended up having the best weekend of my life! ...let's start with the location, simply gorgeous, next to the main entrance of Manuel Antonio national park, no other hotel is that close to one the most beautiful national parks in Costa Rica.
Since the moment you get to the hotel, you will be amazed by the beauty of it, a 6 story high majestic building right in the middle of paradise...the attention and service you get from the staff is simply one of the best I've had in all my years.
The rooms are very spacious with incredibly nice details thought to make everyone's stay pleasantly.
The pool area is simply amazing with cascades and a big water slide that will make you go on it over and over , the fun you get out of it and for the kids it's never ending.
The food served is another key point of the hotel with in house specialties like the famous "Congo burger" is a delight and guaranteed to satisfy all your needs as they have a big international menu.
There are so many things to there, visit the national park, go to the beach, visit natural cascades, ride the catamaran, parasailing and a list of tours they offer is simply incredible.
I really recommend this hotel to anyone who gets to Manuel Antonio , you simply won't be disappointed it's really outstanding .

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanBada C, Manager at Hotel San Bada, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
What can we say about this review?

Thank you so very much for your wonderful review. We are thrilled for your lovely comments, for acknowledging our dedicated staff and the many amenities and facilities that we offer.

Your detailed description makes us see that our work is valued, and each feature is taken into account.

We will make sure Shaggy knows the opinion that you had of him and thanks him for giving you such good care. We very much appreciate your comments and for bringing out every detail of our service and property, our beautiful rooms and views, our proximity to the national park, our surroundings full of nature and animals, delicious food at our Congo Restaurant, closeness to the beach.

Again thank you for taking the time to write about your experience

Pura vida!

Your friends at Hotel San Bada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Researching the hotels at Manuel Antonio on Tripadvisor, I was amazed to find a lot of options, after I read many reviews. I found on staying in Hotel San Bada based on the location. The hotel is situated literally next to the National Park of Manuel Antonio with an amazing view of the Park´s forest and the ocean from the deck. Perfect for a evening drink or dinner with fabulous sunsets. It is definitely THE place to stay in Manuel Antonio at a reasonable rate compared to other 4 star hotels far from the beach. The hotel rooms are spotless and cozy, with comfortable beds and nice baths with good showers featuring lots of hot water. The rooms were quiet at night, if you walk around the Hotel you can hear all sort of wildlife noises. The Congo dining room is lovely, spacious and with staff working with great attitude. The food for breakfast (sometimes buffet, sometimes a la carte, but a la carte depending on the occupation), lunch and dinner is varied and delicious. The service is so kind and attentive. The staff was friendly and responsive. I was met at the airport by Mauricio "Shaggy". He made the driving a wonderful day tour for me stopping at the crocodile's bridge, macaws and yeah! bought some local food during the trip. The hotel pools are fantastic, I did see some children appreciating the funny waterslide and of course I passed several afternoons at the private pool up in the terrace and the bar overlooking the ocean with a fresh made mojito. I will definitely return next time I visit Costa Rica, thanks again for a lovely vacation!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanBada C, Manager at Hotel San Bada, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Guest!

Wow so beautiful! Thank you very much for your review

We are very pleased and grateful that you have chosen us from among the other.
Part of the magic of our property is in fact our location, rainforest- embraced ocean view, which is isolated from the main road therefore offers a breath, from a lot noises, offering only the sounds of nature.
Thank you for recognizing and appreciating the level of personal service for which we pride ourselves.
We are so happy that we have fulfilled your needs and expectations for a relaxing vacation at the most beautiful beach! Enjoyed our restaurant, facilities, service, accommodation, and of course the abundant wildlife.

On behalf of our entire staff, we thank you for sharing your experience about your stay at Hotel San Bada.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

In August, my family and I visited Hotel San Bada. I have no complaints about this place. It features

1- Standard breakfast
2- Two Pools – at the bottom + on the roof
3- A tiny but sufficient gym
4- Located 5 minutes from the beach (walking distance)
5- Located 3 minutes from small souvenir boutiques
6- Located within 30 seconds of the Manuel Antonio National Park
7- VERY friendly + extremely helpful staff. They speak fluently English too!!
8- Free + FAST Wi-Fi
9- Nice sitting areas on each floor
10- Reasonably price + always have deals going on! We lucked out with 2 nights and third night is free!
11- Because it's a Hotel - no insects or Lizard!

Also because of the location you get to see lots of wildlife from your balcony. On the first day staying there we saw 9 monkeys – 3 babies included!!!!

Can’t think of any negative except for possibly the breakfast area might be on the smaller side and possibly because of the amazing locations, the monkeys will wake you up in the morning

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanBada C, Manager at Hotel San Bada, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Guest

Great review, we really appreciate it!

Thank you so much for pointing every feature with which the Hotel counts, and specifying every single detail of it, make us feel really good to see that you noticed everything of what we have to offer.

You are so lucky that you get to enjoy the wildlife that surrounds us just from your balcony; our location is just amazing like you said... 30 seconds from the entrance of Manuel Antonio National Park!

We are glad that you took advantage of our green season specials, stay 4 nights and pay only 3. Thanks for mentioning it!

Hope you have brought your camera to picture the monkeys!

Warm regards,

Your friends at Hotel San Bada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayside, New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Great place and staff was very friendly. As soon as we got to the hotel, we were both served fresh guava juice and hotel staff was ready to take our bags. The location was great, steps to the beach, and steps to the National Park (which is a must do in Manuel Antonio). The rooms were very clean, and the beds and pillows were exceptional!!! Very rarely do I find hotel bed and pillows so firm and such excellent quality. This made for a great night sleep!!! Breakfast was also pretty good, with fresh OJ, fresh guava juice, egg- omelets station, and fresh fruit and yogurt.

There aren't many cons that I can say about the hotel, other than during our visit the Wi-Fi was down for several hours, so we couldn't connect to the internet (but we are on vacation, so no need to check work email). The staff was aware of the Wi-Fi issue and said it was due to an issue with an outside line (which means that it was out of their control). When the Wi-Fi did come up, I found the signal strength to be week, but that could have been a stemming issue from the provider.

Room Tip: stayed in Room 307, which was good because it faced the National Park, so sitting outside, smoking a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanBada C, Manager at Hotel San Bada, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Anthony

We truly appreciate your review

We appreciate the fact that you take into account the details of the room, such as pillows, always in our goal as hotel is to make the stay something excellent and there is included of course the quality of sleep you get and I think then that we are doing a good job with bedding accessories. So glad you had great night sleep!

Our team is one more quality with which we count, always attentive to the needs of our guests and make them feel at home!

Hope to see you in a near future

Sincerely,

Your friends at Hotel San Bada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel San Bada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Bada

Address: Next to Manuel Antonio National Park Entrance | Manuel Antonio Beach, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel San Bada 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Bada brand new Hotel located right next to Manuel Antonio National Park entrance, and a few steps to Manuel Antonio Beach, Costa Rica.Rooms with National Park jungle and ocean view balconies. Discover the wildlife from your balcony and listen to the ocean. The biggest pool in the area with water slide, waterfalls and a pool bar. A private pool for adults at the terrace, with ocean and jungle view, perfect sunset spot! Our amenities:-Restaurant-Access to the public beach-Pool bar-Power generator in case of electricity shortout-Elevator-Biggest pool-Kids pool-Adults pool with ocean view-Snack Bar-WiFi-Free spacious parking, no driving needed once you are at the resort, everything is in walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel San Bada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Bada Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Bada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.