We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Bada

Save Saved
You added Hotel San Bada to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel San Bada
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Next to Manuel Antonio National Park Entrance | Manuel Antonio Beach, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Location is excellent! The proximity to the park and public beach are great! Pools are nice, food is good, staff is pleasant. We did not end up taking any tours-just relaxing on this leg of our trip.


We heard that the villa vainilla your was awesome but they did not have spots open when we tried to book. So book ASAP.


Beware that the Park is closed Mondays so you may want to plan your stay accordingly.

We did see a lot of wildlife at the hotel. Our balcony looked out on a gross looking wetland, but we spent a few hours watching the unusual wildlife there. Snakes in the trees, snakes in the water eating frogs, huge crabs crawling around, massive iguanas in the trees, lizards everywhere. Birds killing snakes... Other guests told us they had seen 4 different species of monkeys from the pool.

I would come back for sure!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanBada C, Manager at Hotel San Bada, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your great review and for sharing your experience with others at this forum!

We are all happy here to know that our Hotel was part of your vacations, and more excited to read all the wildlife you saw from your balcony... Wow Incredible!

The Hotel is located door to door to Manuel Antonio National Park, because of this our guest can spot many animals from their balconies or even from the pool. The Hotel is very safe and we have nice environments designed for families (family pool with waterslide, cascades,wetbar), couples (exclusive pool & Bar at the rooftop with ocean view) and friends.

We want to thank again and we can't wait for your return.

Pura vida!

Your friends at Hotel San Bada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    213
    100
    29
    15
    7
See reviews for
118
123
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This hotel is the perfect place to explore Manuel Antonio! It is literally 10 feet from the entrance of the national park. We explored Quepos a bit, but staying in Manuel Antonio seemed like the perfect choice. There are some good restaurants within a mile or so of the hotel. The "path" to the beach seems shady, but it wasn't. Tip - just spend your time on the national park beaches instead, they are WAY better!

We stayed there during the offseason and got to know the staff very well. Everyone in the restaurant knew us and definitely spoiled us. The food in the restaurant is amazing if you don't feel like getting out. The front desk people ran down the street to get us tickets to the national park. Everyone was just so friendly and we enjoyed getting to know everyone on staff!

Thank you for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room on the side facing the beach - you will see iguanas and all sorts of wildlife
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanBada C, Manager at Hotel San Bada, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Travel_addict_1987,

Greetings from the most beautiful beach in Costa Rica! Thank you very much for your nice review and for recent visit at our Hotel!

Your review is a complete real description of what most of the guest that stays at the Hotel experiences. Yes indeed our Hotel is located door to door to the National Park, or adjacent to it... many guest seems to have certain doubts about it before reserving, but once they arrive their doubt are cleared and they can enjoy the rest of their vacations walking to the Park, the public beach, souvenir shops and many other shops and attractions nearby without worrying about driving, taking a cab, bus, shuttles, etc...

We are working together with the shops along the path to the beach to make it beauty, as for safety reasons we reccommend to use this path from 6:00am to 6:00pm, since most of the shops close at that time and there are no lights after.

The beaches inside the National Park are world wide recognized and they were mentioned in the Forbes Magazine as one of the 12 most beautiful national parks in the world. And they are just few steps from the Hotel door.

Thank you for your kind words in regards to our staff, the service we strive to provide to each one of our guests and the food of the restaurant described as "amazing". We want to invite other tripadvisor readers to try out our seafood specials (seafood platter, surf and turf, lobster) or the biggest burger in town the Congo Burger.

Also for green season until Nov. 15, we are selling bonus tickets for the restaurant only during check in time, if you buy a $50 dolar bonus you get an extra of $25; or if you buy a $100 bonus you get an extra of $50.

We feel proud and motivated after we read your review and we definitely welcome you back here at our Paradise!

Warm regards,

Your friends at Hotel San Bada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Compared to other place we stayed in Costa Rica, this felt more like a traditional big hotel. Service was good and it is an impressive facade - kind of colonial Spanish. The location is great; Literally right next to the Manuel Antonio park entrance and a 5 minute walk from little downtown Manuel Antonio. Nice pools, Very clean.

This is the first time when the hotel restaurant has ever been a big plus for us. The restaurant is just excellent and reasonably priced. We had a lovely lunch there (rare fresh tuna steaks, etc) for about $30 and dinners for about $40-50 with appetizers and excellent main courses. Everything is very fresh and well cooked; like a deluxe restaurant in the states. Service is great.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor. Very convenient. However, we could not sit on the balcony because of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanBada C, Manager at Hotel San Bada, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time and sharing your comment with others in T.A.!
Wow our restaurant staff and chefs are so excited to read your review, that our restaurant was the highlight of your experience during your vacations in Costa Rica. For other tripadvisor readers we have 3 settings or restaurant environments, the first one is at Congo Restaurant (breakfast is served complimentary from 7am to 10am, open for lunch and for dinner), at the pool side, we have our wetbar with snacks, and for adults we have at the rooftop our Perezoso Bar, with a pool and ocean views.

The ingredients used at the restaurant are local and fresh, our seafood dishes are the most valuable in town, also we have special made in San Bada dishes as our Congo Burger, San Bada Seafood Platter, Surf and Turf, etc… Definitely we appreciate for sharing your experience with others about the food served at the Restaurant.

We hope to see you again in the future with your favorite dish ready to serve from our Restaurant.

Warm regards,

Your friends at Hotel San Bada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Hotel San Bada, is a Beatiful and Spotless Hotel! The Location could not have been better, walking distance to the beach and town, right beside Manuel Antonio National Park. Breakfast Buffet was wonderful, juices, fresh fruit, and made to order omelets, just among the many choices. My two children Loved the Pool, it was very clean and relaxing! Several days we able to see monkeys, a sloth and iguanas, while we were at the pool. We hope to visit again soon, and stay at the Hotel San Bada!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 4th Floor, thinking we would have a partial ocean view, but we did not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and loved it! The location was great for walking to the Manuel Antonio Park, the beach and a short drive to shops and restaurants. We were on the 3rd floor with a view of Iguanas and snakes in the trees that the kids loved (they could not get in the room). We saw a sloth in the trees above the pool and could hear howler monkeys over the wall in the park. The staff was very friendly and Elias in the Congo restaurant was the BEST! When requesting things to your room, remember you are not in the US and give it extra time. Also, the bath tub was hard to get in and out off, but Overall we really enjoyed the new (3 years old) hotel and pool!

Room Tip: Make sure to get on the 2nd to 5th floor. 1st floor has no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Mu husband, my song,my dad and I stayed here the weekend of June 7 and we had the best time ever, the hotel is super beautiful the rooms are great; both pools are amazing and alot pf fun, the fact that the Nagional Park is right next to the hotel is wonderful; we can just walk to the beach and then be back at the hotel in minutes we have the best waiter ever; his name is Luis Carlos he was amazing, very gentil, always on top of what we wanted and needed; I will totally recommend this hotel to everybody else to visit it and for sure we will visit it again in the near future.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I went there with my parents and we had a lovely experience. We enjoyed the great location, next to the National Park and close to the public beach and restaurants. Very nice staff. I particularly love the slide that goes to the main swimming pool, which is big and pretty. I definitely recommend it

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanBada C, Manager at Hotel San Bada, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent visit to our Resort!

We are excited that you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel. Thank you for pointing out our incredible location, right next to Manuel Antonio National Park, and close 2 minutes walking distance to the public beach. It´s also wonderful to hear that your vacations were Pura Vida! and that our Hotel was part of it.

We are happy to know that you also enjoyed our waterslide located at the family pool, a great place for families, and of course our terrace pool at the 6th floor for adults.

Tnaks again for your excellent review and we look forward to welcoming you back to our property in the future.

Sincerely,

Your friends at Hotel San Bada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel San Bada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Bada

Address: Next to Manuel Antonio National Park Entrance | Manuel Antonio Beach, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel San Bada 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Bada brand new Hotel located right next to Manuel Antonio National Park entrance, and a few steps to Manuel Antonio Beach, Costa Rica.Rooms with National Park jungle and ocean view balconies. Discover the wildlife from your balcony and listen to the ocean. The biggest pool in the area with water slide, waterfalls and a pool bar. A private pool for adults at the terrace, with ocean and jungle view, perfect sunset spot! Our amenities:-Restaurant-Access to the public beach-Pool bar-Power generator in case of electricity shortout-Elevator-Biggest pool-Kids pool-Adults pool with ocean view-Snack Bar-WiFi-Free spacious parking, no driving needed once you are at the resort, everything is in walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Tingo, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel San Bada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Bada Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Bada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.