We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY KIND STAFF, LOVE THE LOCATION” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Bada

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel San Bada to your Saves list
Hotel San Bada
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Next to Manuel Antonio National Park Entrance | Manuel Antonio Beach, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
EARLY BIRD 15% OFF
New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“VERY KIND STAFF, LOVE THE LOCATION”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We had an amazing time in this property. we had good food at the restaurant, San Bada's location is fantastic, close to the main attraction in Manuel Antonio, one small grocery store, and many places to grab some food. The highlight of our stay was the kindness of the staff. Christian was taking care of us with everything, one day he took us the downtown for some pills, he also booked us the sailing tour and the waterfalls tours operated by the hotel. The breakfast staff cooked us deliious omeletts with fresh fruits. We also received great tips about the área from the waitstaff. The room was big enough for our family. This hotel had everything we need for our family trip to Costa Rica

Room Tip: same as other reviewers...go for the higher floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanBada C, Manager at Hotel San Bada, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Nelson

Thank you very much for such a kind review!

We feel more than thrilled to read it! We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that we were the ones responsible for your comfort. We sincerely appreciate your comments about our staff, surely were to let Christian know about it! You really experienced what San Bada has to offer, our great location, the delicious food that our restaurant serves, the quality of kindness and attention of our whole staff !

We hope you can come back soon, and visit us!

Pura vida!

Your friends at Hotel San Bada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    141
    38
    19
    9
See reviews for
142
166
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Costa Rica
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Right up front upon arrival you can tell the hotel does not belong there. It is big and not well designed.However, the staff is very helpful and the room was comfortable. our group was placed in this property because they offered a very good price. I learned that we were around 11 guests in the hotel. That may explain the good deal. The restaurant has good food, the breakfast buffet (included) is very good. Lunch and dinner are overpriced. The good thing is that there are options to find better prices. Next time I am going to a more local property.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanBada C, General Manager at Hotel San Bada, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Toucan Tico,

Thank your for your email and your personal subjective opinion.

We are sad that you did not experience what San Bada is all about. However we want to use our response right at this forum to clarify others readers about your points.

First of all we are surprised for the rate given in the evaluation points of your review, in regards to the rooms, cleanliness, service, value, sleep quality and location, you rated us with 4 except for the location with only one dot or point. As this point, we think this part is unfair or maybe too subjective, our Hotel is located right next to the National Park and close distance to the public beach, 2 minutes walking, we do not understand how you did not find it convenient, many guests and also I invite other T.A. readers to read previous reviews felt in love with our location and the jungle of the National Park that surrounds our property.

Another important point to clarify, is that the Hotel staff and management we are from the area, we were born at this incredible paradise, most of the Hotels in Manuel Antonio are family owned and this Hotel is not the exception, for that we feel sad that you first did not do the job to investigate before writing your opinion.

The design yes, is a little bit different than the other Hotels nearby of 2 stores, but we certainly have received many guests that love the Hotel design as considerating unique, there is no other similar Hotel in the world with our design and we are proud of it. That enables us to have at the rooftop incredible ocean and sunser views, and an adults area with pool where they can relax and have a quiet atmosphere... And a family area at the ground leve with the biggest pool in the area with a waterslide and cascades.

Thanks again for your review, and from all of us, locals that were born, grew and work in this area we look foward to receive a second chance from you.

Sincerely,

Your friends at Hotel San Bada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampton, New Hampshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Our family vacation started in this wonderful property. The best thing San Bada has to offer is their location (believe them when they say about their location: next door to Manual Antonio Park) This nature reserve has plenty of wildlife, an amazing beach and trails surrounded by trees and monkeys. Our teenagers loved the easy walk to the public beach with lots of renting surfboards, beach chairs and places to grab some food. Also we spent couple of days in the main pool, our boys had plenty of fun with the waterslide. Costa Rican people are so friendly with tourists, they are always smiling and waiting to help us, the same happens to San Bada's staff. Our room was located on the 2nd floor (no views to ocean only the upper rooms have ocean views) we had breakfast included in our rate, plus the high wood ceilings, comfortable becs and tub. The food in the restaurant was very tasty and well priced. The only issue they need to improve is to open or make room service available 24 hours (the restaurant only opens from 7am to 10pm). If we had the chance to visit Costa Rica we will definitely try to book San Bada again.

Room Tip: Upper rooms have ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanBada C, Manager at Hotel San Bada, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Gregory

Thank you kindly for your wonderful review about your stay at our hotel!

We feel very pleased and happy that you enjoyed everything about our property and our blessed location! We work to make our clients stay memorable, that they can taste the wonders that our hotel has to offer and all the nature that surround us, our staffs warm hospitality and great customer service.

We hope to see again, and have a great time in our beautiful treasure!

Sincerely,

All your friends from Hotel San Bada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California City, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

My friend and I recently spent 3 nights at the San Bada hotel and couldn't have been more pleased. We had made a reservation at the Hotel as part of a group from travel agency. However when we arrived in San Bada we found that the location of hotel in the Manuel Antonio Natl Park was excellent. Situated on the border. Most of the mornings we heard the monkeys and birds. Everything at the Hotel was within easy reach.
Staff were also extremely friendly and cheerful too. A special thanks to the lovely woman who made our omelet each day. Breakfast, included in the room price, was good and specially the coffee.
The shortcut to the beach is probably due for an update, but was convenient and perfectly adequate to walk to the public beach.
Highly recommend this fabulous place when you get a chance to travel to Manuel Antonio.

Room Tip: ask for the private tour to the waterfalls
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanBada C, General Manager at Hotel San Bada, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Amanda

We appreciate that you took the time to writing about your experience!

Our location is one of our many great features, and fortunately you were able to experience most of them! We are so happy to hear that you loved our delicious daily breakfast buffet, we will let Doña Belinda knows that you loved her delicious omelets! Our staff is a huge part of our San Bada team. Costa Rica is known for being a country with friendly and warm people. So we are glad to know that we fulfilled your expectations!

Hope you can come back to our piece of paradise!

Pura vida!

Your friends at Hotel San Bada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two days in may
Best part of this stay was that its next to the national park and 3 minutes from beach
Staff very courteous we had to go early on both mornings the packed breakfast for us on both days
Take higher floors to stay as in the morning u can see monkeys and birds from the gallery
Only dissaponting part was that the wifi is not that strong I had to keep my main door open to get good

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanBada C, Manager at Hotel San Bada, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear DocPravin

Thank you for your review and for staying at our beautiful Resort!

We do appreciate that you emphasize the fact of our proximity to the National Park, beach and the fauna that surrounds the hotel. We are door to door to the national park and only 150mts or 2 minutes walking to the main beach. We do our best to make sure our guests have a complete experience, from the accommodations to the food, of course our great and helpful staff.

Pura Vida!

Your friends at Hotel San Bada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We were fascinated by our first trip one year ago to Costa Rica and we decided to return for a second time… After an extensive comparison my family and I chose this place based on reviews from Tripadvisor and were not disappointed. Hotel San Bada is a lovely hotel, directly on the edge of Manuel Antonio Park, wonderful location to rest, very friendly staff, especially with children. Definitely a family hotel without being overcrowded. This hotel is also 3 minutes walk from the public beach, and some very good restaurants, with good food and good facilities. The food at the Hotel is also extremely good.

The rooms at the Hotel are lovely, each room has its own individual private balcony contained within a walled perimeter, so privacy is assured. The rooms themselves are well appointed and the bathrooms are excellent, with a big sunken bath, as well as a nice shower.

The staff are so friendly, and we were impressed by the extraordinary attention received from them during our stay, the waiting staff so polite and accommodating and the front desk staff always helpful to arrange your itinerary, activities, etc.

Highly recommended, and the Costarican people  working there make this a very special place indeed. We feel at home and among friends during our stays at the hotel. We have traveled to many places and stayed in many hotels, however this is the only hotel that motives us to drawn us back!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanBada C, Manager at Hotel San Bada, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Karl

Thank you for sharing your kind opinion about your trip and stayed at Hotel San Bada

A wonderful review of a perfect stay! We can’t thank enough for taking the time to write in a review of your stay with us! We are so happy that you had such a meaningful stay with us. For all the hard work that we put into creating the perfect guest experience from the accommodations to the staff. All of our team, we try to create the best vacation experience for our guest, and spoiled you the best that we can!

Thanks again for your wonderful review, see you in near future!

Pura vida!

Your friends at Hotel San Bada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkley, Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I'm pretty sure that hotel San Bada is the best hotel in Manual Antonio. The entrance to the park is right next to the entrance to the hotel and there is a path that goes directly to the beach for easy access. Monkeys even swung in to visit us at the pool! The water slide into the pool is so fast that it is even fun for adults. The rooms are huge and ours backed up to the jungle so you can hear all the animals, yet still see the ocean in the distance and enjoy the jungle sounds from the balcony. The hotel restaurant was good (had great ceviche), but you have to plan to sit at the meal for a great deal of time. Long meals are very common as Manual Antonio has a very relaxed atmosphere. Staff were all very nice. The pool bartender was great on my birthday! I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Manual Antonio! I did not see any other hotel that could even compete with the location and quality!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanBada C, Manager at Hotel San Bada, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Guest!

Thank you very much for taking your time to share your experience with others at T.A.!

We feel fantastic that you experienced what San Bada is all about, a combination of great staff, service, location and rooms in a very relaxed atmosphere as you mentioned. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you could experience as part of your vacations the culinary and natural wonders of Costa Rica in our Hotel.

Thanks again for your great review and we hope to host you again in the near future!

Sincerely,

Your friends at Hotel San Bada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel San Bada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Bada

Address: Next to Manuel Antonio National Park Entrance | Manuel Antonio Beach, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel San Bada 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Bada brand new Hotel located right next to Manuel Antonio National Park entrance, and a few steps to Manuel Antonio Beach, Costa Rica.Rooms with National Park jungle and ocean view balconies. Discover the wildlife from your balcony and listen to the ocean. The biggest pool in the area with water slide, waterfalls and a pool bar. A private pool for adults at the terrace, with ocean and jungle view, perfect sunset spot! Our amenities:-Restaurant-Access to the public beach-Pool bar-Power generator in case of electricity shortout-Elevator-Biggest pool-Kids pool-Adults pool with ocean view-Snack Bar-WiFi-Free spacious parking, no driving needed once you are at the resort, everything is in walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel San Bada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Bada Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Bada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.