We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Bada

Save Saved
You added Hotel San Bada to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel San Bada
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Next to Manuel Antonio National Park Entrance | Manuel Antonio Beach, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Decent hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed here in a little while ago and it was a pleasant stay. I have to say that I was a little let down for what we paid, but overall it was very nice. They have a large pool and another one up top for adults only -- very nice. The location is also perfect, although, you do have to walk through a sketchy path to get to the water. However, the walk to the water is less than 10 minutes. The food was pretty good, nothing special.

We were very happy with our room. It was very big and clean. I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanBada C, Manager at Hotel San Bada, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel San Bada Resort & Spa for your vacations and for sharing your experience with others at T.A.!

We really appreciate your nice comments about our location, room cleanliness and size, and our 2 different pools one for adults at the 6th floor with ocean and sunset view and one for families with waterslide and cascades.

Also we want to remind other tripadvisor readers, that as part of the Hotel rate we include complimmentary WiFi, coffee, safety deposit box, gym, secure and gated parking 24hrs, 24hrs frontdesk service and breakfast, tour desk information, etc.

Manuel Antonio National Park is one of the top 12 most beautiful national parks in the world and our Hotel is right next to it, everyone is invited to enjoy and discover each day a new adventure with us!

Thanks again for your review and we hope to see again in the future.

Sincerely,

Your friends at Hotel San Bada!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    211
    97
    26
    14
    7
See reviews for
113
119
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel San Bada for 3 nights in February. We were upgraded to a suite since a large group of junior high students were staying there. The room was absolutely beautiful. There was a huge king bed with decks surrounding the room and a hot tub. The staff were amazingly friendly. Location was great, right next to Manuel Antonio Park. The beach was a short walk away. And a beautiful beach it was. Nice for body surfing, not too rough and not boring. Teenagers enjoyed it. My only complaint for this hotel would be the restaurant. The food was very greasy and tasteless. Without the salt there would have been no taste at all, except grease. There were plenty of other restaurants in the area to go to. I needed laundry for travel day and the maids were checking all of the children out so they did not get to our room until late afternoon. So I was really concerned to have clean clothes for travel. I spoke the the maid and then called the front desk to talk to her and our clothes arrived clean by 8pm. And they did not charge for the fast service.

Room Tip: We had a corner suite and it was beautiful!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanBada C, Manager at Hotel San Bada, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Pauline,

Thank you for choosing Hotel San Bada and for your great review!

We are glad that you and your family had a wonderful time at Manuel Antonio. Also we appreciate your kind words regarding the rooms, location and for referring the attention you received from our housekeeping and frontdesk staff. Thank you for pointing out the food experience, we had a word with the chefs and certainly from the moment of your stay to the present we made the necessary changes to improve on this aspect.

It was our pleasure to have you and your family at our Hotel and of course we hope to welcome you back again!

Thanks again for your great review!

Sincerely,

Your friends at Hotel San Bada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

We just returned from Costa Rica and San Bada was important part of our vacations. Great hotel, great location and great staff. The rooms are good, with high ceiling and private balconies, and the building different from the rest of the hotels nearby.

The Hotel is ver well located, in a good and safe area where you can walk and you find a bit of everything around. You can spend four days at the Hotel and dont feel any need to go home.

The all staff of the hotel is very helpful, nice restaurant and great sunset bar.

a place todo stay in Manuel Antonio

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanBada C, Manager at Hotel San Bada, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Erikadunn,

Thank you for staying at our Resort and for writing an excellent review regarding your stay!

We are so pleased that our Resort was an important part of your vacations! And that you found very convenient the room. All the rooms consists of private balconies, high wood ceiling as mentioned in your review, lcd cable tv, complimentary WiFi, coffee, and safety box.

Also as part of our sustainability efforts all the water of the bathrooms are heated by the residual energy of your rooms air conditioning, with this we contribute to demmand less energy to heat the water.

Thanks for your comment about our Resort and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Your friends at Hotel San Bada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Not sure about the bad review. Traveled world wide 3 Star to 4 Diamond and this is a great hotel. Old yes, but location, location, location. The restaurant served good food, service was great. Staff all around was great. Pool area was fine, but only used to cool down, rest of the time was at the beach. National Park right outside the gate. Get your entrance ticket early to avoid some line up time. Also apparently there is an awesome hike just inside the gate to a pool and waterfall that we missed.
The bathtubs had a wooden "thing" built up around it which made it difficult to step in/out of tub/shower. For this alone I wouldnt recommend this hotel to unstable or non agile folks.
The bar and sunset from the 6th adult only floor which has its own pool was great.

Room Tip: There is no such thing as ocean view as the trees have all grown so high you really cant see it, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanBada C, Manager at Hotel San Bada, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Guest!

Thank you for your time and for sharing your experience with others at this forum.

We appreciate a lot your review and for pointing out some improvements we can realize. As you said the tubs were and issue for senior guests, for that reason and supported by our valuable guests' feedbacks we just ended remodeling our bathrooms. We took out the tubs and now it is just an elegant and easy to get in and out rainy shower. We left some bathrooms with the tub in case any of our guests' request it at the reservation time. With this we want to recall our commitment to provide comfortable accommodations and guest satisfaction as an important goal in our daily operations.

We are happy to know that you found very convenient the service we provide at the frontdesk of selling the national park tickets, this is a service we gladly do at the same official price.

Oh! we appreciate your comment for letting others know about our 6th floor bar, an exclusive environment for adults, with ocean view and pool. For our little younger friends we have the biggest pool in the area with waterslides and cascades at the ground level.

Thanks again a lot for staying at our Hotel and we hope to meet you again in the near future!

Sincerely,

Your friends at Hotel San Bada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

After zip lining, hiking and horseback riding in the beautiful rainforests of Costa Rica, we searched for a massage in Quepos. We stumbled upon Hotel San Bad a when looking for parking for Manuel Antonio state park, and what a pleasant surprise. They called in a second massage therapist to accommodate our request for a couples massage. The room was clean, but the best was the view of the rain forest! M
Curious monkeys performed outside the wall of windows, along with various colorful birds. I had a facial while waiting for the second therapist to arrive, then they brought my husband in, he relaxed the minute he was brought into this tropical paradise! Amazing!
The staff was very nice, spoke little English, but it didn't seem to be a problem getting what we wanted.
They even allowed us to leave our vehicle in their secure parking while we walked the state park!
The pool and grounds looked clean, the rooms we saw were beautiful and the views from the rooms were extreme!

Room Tip: Views looked great from the rooms we saw.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanBada C, Gerente at Hotel San Bada, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Guest!

Thank you for taking the time to share with others your review at Tripadvisor!

We are glad to hear that our views to the rainforest, the spa services, pool, rooms and the staff made your vacations such a great experience! We are privileged for been door to door with Manuel Antonio National Park entrance and the amazing views of the jungle that can be seen from the Hotel facilities.

Our spa is a special add to our Resort, and it has a beautiful setting with views to the National Park and with a variety of spa treatments, massage, facials, scrubs, body wraps, mani, pedi, steam and sauna room by professional hands.

Thanks again for your excellent review and ee look forward to welcoming you back some day.

Sincerely,

Your friends at Hotel San Bada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bragg Creek, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We came from the Hilton Papagayo, which was just ok so we were excited that this place looked fantastic. But OMG it was disgusting. We stayed here from Feb 4-10/13. Everything looked beautiful, till you got up close and had a really good look. The pool and area hasn't been cleaned for years. The pool has a black ring around it just like a dirty tub and the lights in the pool are falling out. The pool deck is just as dirty. They don't even clean the tables after someone has ate or drank at them. The room was clean and nice but they don't clean well once your there. The tub wasn't cleaned the whole time we where there, and everything else just got a quick wipe. I even left a tip thinking that they would clean a little better, but it didn't matter. Very lazy staff. My husband got sick the first night after dinner, and was sick for 3 days. I told the staff he was sick but they were not concered. We ate dinner out after that. Breakfast was cold every morning. The staff in the dining room seemed to try hard to please us but the place is falling apart.
Since my husband was sick for 3 days and the pool was gross I had to sit in the room with him.
I couldn't even use the roof top pool and area because it was just as dirty. My husband did go for a massage when he was feeling better and he said the Spa was very clean. This place could be a gold mine if it was taken care of, I can't see it being open for much longer. Once my husband was feeling better we spent our time & money at the beach, which is very beautiful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanBada C, General Manager at Hotel San Bada, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and for pointing out some inconveniences you had in your visit, that will help us to improve!

We ask all our staff and even our Customer Service Manager gave you a call, since we were concerned why the points you mentioned did not came into our attention, your answer through the phone was that you did not expressed to any of our staff members about the things complained.

All our guests are very important to us and we want all to feel comfortable and as among friends, if a guest is sick our staff is more than helpful to take you to the drugstore, clinic, hospital or even we have a doctor on call. However, you did not let us know about it, even you mentioned that you did not speak to anybody of this matter during your stay when we called you. We also have checked your restaurant bills, and the dishes you had were primary pastas and a salad, that night we had a party of 6 people eating at the restaurant and 2 of them asked exactly the same things and we did not received any report of sickness due to the food. We think that this part is not because of our restaurant food.

Sometimes communication is very important, and we feel disappointed that during your stay you did not informed us about your discomfort in order to resolve your cons or even changing you into another Hotel of your preference. For all of us working at the Hotel we want to bring a remarkable experience to all our guests.

We also do not share the adjective used to describe our staff, if you read other T.A. traveler’s reviews praises our staff as being helpful, attentive and professional. We think that this part of your review is not from a guest that had stayed at our Hotel, using an inappropriate word to offend hardworking and customer service people.

In regards to the pool, February was a busy month even more than last year December, we apologize if the speed to have things clean were not enough to please you. We have a pool attendant that is in charge of the daily pool cleaning and maintenance. With the lights of the pool, the compaly that sold us the lighst made the installation but sometimes people playing at the pool are the one that takes them out, and everytime it happen we send someone to leave at the same position. It is not that they are falling out, in this aspect we think this part of your review is not accurate.

What we do not understand quite well, is that besides all the negative points you mentioned, why you did not let us know of them, and decided to stay for a total of 6 nights, we think that the first night in a Hotel is very important and depending how beautiful and comfortable the hotel is you decide how many days to stay. We felt happy that at least in your subjective opinion you found more positive reasons to stay than leave. For us our customer satisfaction is the most important aspect and we strive with all our staff to achieve it, with this we want to let you know that we feel sorry that you did not enjoyed the experience of staying at our Hotel.

Thank you for your feedback on your visit here at San Bada and we hope you can return in the future to see things improved for more than good.

Sincerely,

Your friends at Hotel San Bada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The staff are fantastic. The location is unbelievable. It makes going there with a small child very easy. No car trips to the beach or park, just take the stroller out of the room and you're off and running. Naps were easy, etc. They got us a pack and play and were so good to us. Having a secure parking lot is a big bonus as parking in that area is a nightmare. Other hotels up the hill may be a little nicer but the convenience and staff make it a real value and a great experience. We went in November and there weren't a lot of folks in the hotel, so we had the run of the place. The views from the rooftop bar were unstoppable. Happy hour never looked so good. I would re-book in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanBada C, General Manager at Hotel San Bada, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest!

Thank you and your family for choosing Hotel San Bada Resort & Spa to accommodate your accomodation needs during your vacations. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with your family and we appreciate the kind words.

We take pride in our hotel and staff, and we are elated to see the postive comments you have shared! Please feel welcome to visit us again at any time in the near future!

Sincerely,

Your friends at Hotel San Bada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel San Bada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Bada

Address: Next to Manuel Antonio National Park Entrance | Manuel Antonio Beach, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel San Bada 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Bada brand new Hotel located right next to Manuel Antonio National Park entrance, and a few steps to Manuel Antonio Beach, Costa Rica.Rooms with National Park jungle and ocean view balconies. Discover the wildlife from your balcony and listen to the ocean. The biggest pool in the area with water slide, waterfalls and a pool bar. A private pool for adults at the terrace, with ocean and jungle view, perfect sunset spot! Our amenities:-Restaurant-Access to the public beach-Pool bar-Power generator in case of electricity shortout-Elevator-Biggest pool-Kids pool-Adults pool with ocean view-Snack Bar-WiFi-Free spacious parking, no driving needed once you are at the resort, everything is in walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel San Bada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Bada Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Bada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.