We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel San Bada” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Bada

Save Saved
You added Hotel San Bada to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel San Bada
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Next to Manuel Antonio National Park Entrance | Manuel Antonio Beach, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hotel San Bada”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Hotel San Bada is in a very convenient location, right next to the entrance to the Manuel Antonio National Park. It is also within walking distance to the local shops and restaurants, in addition to being a 5 minute walk from the beach. The hotel room was very nice, with all amenities. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The restaurant was not wonderful, but acceptable. There are better places to eat within walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanBada C, Manager at Hotel San Bada, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Guest!

Thank you for sharing your experience with others in T.A. and for your recent stay at our Resort!

We are proud that you enjoyed your vacations and you loved the fact that our Hotel is right next to Manuel Antonio National Park and 150mts walking distance from the beach. We hope next time your experience at Congo Restaurant will be wonderful.

Thank you again for your time and we hope to host you again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Your friends at Hotel San Bada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    213
    100
    29
    16
    7
See reviews for
119
123
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape May Court House, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Stayed at this resort hotel w/ my buddy for 2 nights during our trek up and down the Central Pacific coast of CR. We wanted to wing it on this trip so we asked a local bartender on the beach in MA for a referral and he pointed us towards San Bada. Western/beach facing rooms are pricey @ $300/night but we wanted a view & amenities. We got just that. Keep in mind that most "beach front hotels" in CR are set back a bit from the ocean, especially in Manuel Antonio. We had a 5 minute walk to the beach, but the elevated views from our 10th floor room were stunning.

The hotel seemed quiet during our 2 days there. There are 2 pools. The rooftop pool is small, but has a private bar that caters to adults and has ample seating and gorgeous views from the top of the hotel. It's definately a couples locale & view since some of the many seats are chaise lounge chairs/cabanas. You won't find many other comparable views of the sunset in CR than you'll find at this resort. La Mariposa in MA & Vista de Olas in Mal Pais (Guanacaste province) are similar, but this view is equally beautiful. The main pool is sprawling and includes numerous waterfalls over faux caves. There is a large concrete slide and overarching walkway, hot tub & pool-side swimup bar. The only negative here is that I'd be careful using the slide. My buddy & I both tried it twice and the quick turn in the structure can flip you over which can give you whiplash. I was kinda shocked at how scarey this slide was since it's super quick. If you're not spry enough to flip yourself over, avoid the slide at all costs. It's not the smoothest ride at the end :(

The staff & amenities set this hotel apart from most. The front desk staff & maids are 5 star all around. The maid knocked on our door the first night to give us candy. I don't care if you're sucking up....the effort alone is a bonus in my book. Customer service is #1 w/ me since I run a service business.

Overall, this is a large & beautiful property in MA. The entire staff are awesome! The roof top pool bartender made us the best LI Iced Teas. We saw him again at breakfast and he was equally as friendly with handshakes & hugs. Great location at the base of the national park & along the breathtaking Central Pacific Coast!

Room Tip: I think all rooms are ocean front, but if not....don't settle for anything less :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanBada C, Manager at Hotel San Bada, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Guest!

Thank you for your great review and for staying at our Resort!

We appreciate your kind words praising our staff service and overall our Hotel amenities and facilities. Our priviledge location door to door to Manuel Antonio National Park and close to the beach, lets our guests to enjoy their vacations more freely walking and not worrying about driving. Also our location enables guests reserving Superior (partial ocean view) or Deluxe room (full ocean view) the most incredibles views to the ocean... Also for other rooms we have a deck on the 6th floor open to all the guests with the best ocean views, an aerial pool and snack bar.

The slide is the greatest attraction in our family pool for kids and adults, we appreciate your feedback and we will let other guests to use the waterslide by first reading carefully our waterslide instructions.

Thanks again for your great review, and we hope to host you again in the near future!

Pura vida!

Your friends at Hotel San Bada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Dear Travelers,

This is quite a place. My son and I stayed on Feb. 24 and 25, 2013.

Adrianna at the front dest was very kind and efficient. She advised us of their fine restaurant and many others in town. She also let us know about the Quepos parade that was the highlight of our trip.

The manager on duty, Cristian, was extremely helpful in sorting out an error made by Visa on my account. He went out of his way to ensure prompt correction.

These two fine people made our stay perfect.

The hotel is beautiful and quiet. The rooms are huge and spotless. The location is excellent.

Thanks,

Room Tip: DId not use spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanBada C, Manager at Hotel San Bada, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Guest!

Thank your for your time and letting others know your recent experience at our Resort!

We are happy that our staff were helpful and attentive during your stay, we strive to provide the best service possible to all our guest and we are glad that at this time we did our job smoothly.

Thanks a lot for mentioning the priviledge spot where the Hotel is located, we do feel happy that all our guests enjoy its convenience by walking to the public beach in a matter of couple minutes or visiting early in the morning after breakfast the National Park for a short walk or laying there at the beach all the day.

We hope to see you and welcome you back in the near future!

Sincerely,

Your friends at Hotel San Bada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed at Hotel San Bada for a week and had an excellent time. The hotel provided excellent service. Our room was on the second floor and looked out onto the park. The staff did an ourstanding job in making us feel welcome, like we were old friends. In particular, Leo, Maykel, and Juan also stopped to talk to us and make sure we were enjoying our stay.

The hotel provides an excellent breakfast every day. We also had lunch and dinner. Service and food were great.

We booked several excursions for zip lines, rafting, and a tour of the national park through the hotel. All three were outstanding. If you plan to go through the park, make sure to get a guide. The zip line company, Mid-World, did a super job, and I would recommend using.

Make sure to head to the rooftop and watch the sunset. Incredible views. Juan will take care of you. Try his mango margaritas. Yumo. If you plan to go to the beach, make sure to look for Alejendro. He will set you up with loungers and an umbrella.

I cannot say enough about how hard the staff works at San Bada to make sure your stay is nothing short of perfect. I've read previous reviews about low water pressure/lack of hot water. This was NOT an issue, in fact the water pressure was better than home.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanBada C, General Manager at Hotel San Bada, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Patrick!

Wow! First of all we want to thank you for nice review and for the amazing photo of the sunset from our rooftop posted and shared with other Tripadvisor readers.

We feel very thankful by our guest’s comments, and particularly the photo you uploaded made us think that in effect we are working in Paradise!

Thank you for sharing with others that your experience during your stay at our Hotel was fantastic, for pointing out our staff initiative to strive for great customer service, for our delicious CostaRican buffet breakfast, and for the Perezoso Bar, located at the 6th floor with ocean and daily sunset views!

We are happy that you proof to others that the water difficulties we had in the past are something inexistent, and that more important we are still using greeheat, which uses the heat generated by the air con, to heat the water, in one word we are doing our job to help the nature and being sustainable.

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,

Your friends at Hotel San Bada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights and booked through hotels.com. The hotel is right next to the national park and a 5 minute walk to the public beach which was very convenient. The hotel had 2 swimming pools, one smaller on top the roof with a bar and nice views over the beach, the other larger one was in front of the hotel with a slide and beach beds and a sitting area. There were lots of parking places and parking was free.

We had a 2 double bed room on the third floor. Our room was spacious nicely decorated had a balcony where you could relax and listen to the sea and monkeys form the park next door. Once an eagle came to our balcony to watch what was going on inside the room. The room was very clean, had a good ac and some chairs and 2 tables.
Free Wi-Fi worked well in our room and there was a business center in the corridor with computers and a printer.

The bathroom with a bathtub was also spacious. The only problem was that after a shower the floor of the bathroom was covered with water and we needed some extra towels to dry it, but as we were provided with extra towels every evening that did not matter really.

The breakfast buffer was plentiful and tasted well. The restaurant was open in the evening as well, but we did not try it. Instead we walked to the restaurants nearby. There were not so many restaurant around, but at least there was a variety with reasonable prices.

The staff was extremely helpful and polite. We booked a sunset boat tour through the hotel which turned out more expensive that we expected, but it was more convenient to deal with the hotel.

We also visited the park next door and we hired a guide at the entrance which was a good idea, because he spotted iguanas, a snake, some sloths and monkeys etc. that we would probably had not seen ourselves.

It was probably the best hotel and the best location in Manuel Antonio. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanBada C, General Manager at Hotel San Bada, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Guest!

Muchas gracias! for your great review and for your recent stay at our Hotel!

We are excited that overall your stay at our Resort was all spectacular, and we are thankful for recommending it to others here on Tripadvisor! And more excited to know that we will host you sometime in the near future.

We are pleased to know that during your 4 nights you explored and enjoyed all our Hotel facilities. Our great family pool with waterslide, wetbar, cascades and jacuzzi, and our relaxing and quieter adult's pool at the rooftop, with bar service and incredible sunset views.

Excellent to hear that you loved your room and the bathroom with tub and shower, some amenities such as safety deposit box, WiFi and coffee are complimentary to the room rate.

Thank you for pointing out our buffet breakfast, which is the most important meal of the day and we want to provide a variety of choices for all our guests. We strive to give the best customer service and we are satisfied that our goal was achieved and you were an eyewitness of our job.

Since the National Park is door to door to the Hotel, everyday there is a chance to wake up listening to the wildlife or explore all the 1.983 hectares of primary forests and beaches this beautiful park has to offer.

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,

Your friends at Hotel San Bada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Washington
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at San Bada during our tour of Costa Rica. The staff was very accomodating, and one wait staff inparticular, Maykal, went above and beyond to meet our needs. He greeted us out in common areas always asking if there was something that we needed and once inquired if he could heat some food we had with us from a previous dinner. The Hotel is located in a pristine spot by Manual Antonio Park and they keep the group beautiful. The perfect place to stay while visiting this area.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the pool so you can hear the howler Monkeys in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanBada C, General Manager at Hotel San Bada, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Rick C,

Thank you for your kind comments.

We are overjoyed to hear that you had such a pleasurable stay with us and enjoyed the personalized service you received from Maykel. He truly does always strive to go above and beyond for our guests and is a great asset to our team. We will be sure to share you comments with him as we know he will be thrilled to hear he was able to make your experience a memorable one.

We enjoyed your words praising our priviledged location as a "pristine spot by Manual Antonio Park" We are excited our Hotel San Bada was the perfect place to stay while visiting this area.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Your friends at Hotel San Bada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

The hotel is fairly new and located just in front of the entrance to Manuel Antonio National Park and just up the small hill from the beach. The hotel is more like a small resort, with a gated manned entrance, restaurant, bar, small fitness room, large pool area with concrete slide and tunnel exiting to a path to the beach. There is also a pool/bar/seating area on top of the hotel with fantastic views of the entire beach area and of the adjacent Manuel Antonio Park. The beach is magnificent and can be reached through the tunnel when it is unlocked in the morning. Iguana are easily often seen. Monkeys in the park can be heard howling in the early morning. Guests told us the previous day, the monkeys came to a tree just near the main pool. Watch out not to scrape your right arm on the concrete slide while going down, best to raise your arms. Bring your own pool/beach toys as the hotel doesn't have any, so pack a raft and snorkel for your use. The path leading to the beach goes through a market area just before the beach that has souvenirs and T-shirts. And the beaches in Manuel Antonio are nice too. If you drive, the narrow two lane road going up the hill from Quepos to Manuel Antonio, it is a trip. Take care at night until you know the road, watch out for people walking and sloths crossing the road. The hotel has ample parking. The bus has a stop on the road in front of the main beach which is a short walk to the hotel. The pizza place by the main beach is good. Prices in restaurants are the same as in the States, no cheap meals here. The breakfast at the hotel is great and plentiful. Elias in the bar is very nice and helpful. There are computers with internet service free of charge. It isn't necessary to hire a guide for the Manuel Antonio Park. There are so many guides already in the park that they will point out any animal that they come across. The paths in the park are very modern, paved, gravel and have steps, it isn't just a dirt path. Manuel Antonio is safe as most places, but if you travel on deserted roads, use CAUTION, our vehicle was broken into during the day and groceries were stolen when we drove down a deserted dirt road to Playa Tortuga, well south of Quepos past the National Park beaches at Uvita. The Manuel Antonio area is very beautiful and safe, we will be returning.

Room Tip: All rooms should be good. The elevators are in the center of the building in a foyer, but not direc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanBada C, General Manager at Hotel San Bada, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Mark!

Thank you for your excellent review and for taking your time to share your experience with others here on Tripadvisor!

We are delighted to read your comments recognizing the Hotel plus points and facilities, such as our location, our small tunnel that ends in a path that goes directly to the beach, our fine cuisine restaurants, our incredible ocean and sunset view pool at the 6th floor, gym facility with huge glass windows overlooking Manuel Antonio National Park jungle, and our jewel Sana Spa.

It is wonderful to hear you were able to take the time to enjoy almost all our facilities and discover all the attractions that are within walking distance near the Hotel.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your stay with us. We appreciate your kind words and we will spread this review to all our head managers; it is certainly with great pleasure that we take every opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Once again, we appreciate your kind review on TripAdvisor and I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you to Hotel San Bada once again in the future.

Sincerely,

Your friends at Hotel San Bada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel San Bada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Bada

Address: Next to Manuel Antonio National Park Entrance | Manuel Antonio Beach, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel San Bada 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Bada brand new Hotel located right next to Manuel Antonio National Park entrance, and a few steps to Manuel Antonio Beach, Costa Rica.Rooms with National Park jungle and ocean view balconies. Discover the wildlife from your balcony and listen to the ocean. The biggest pool in the area with water slide, waterfalls and a pool bar. A private pool for adults at the terrace, with ocean and jungle view, perfect sunset spot! Our amenities:-Restaurant-Access to the public beach-Pool bar-Power generator in case of electricity shortout-Elevator-Biggest pool-Kids pool-Adults pool with ocean view-Snack Bar-WiFi-Free spacious parking, no driving needed once you are at the resort, everything is in walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel San Bada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Bada Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Bada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.