We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CLOSEST to the park enjoy the sounds of the park after dark” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Bada

Save Saved
You added Hotel San Bada to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Orbitz.com
and 7 more sites!
Hotel San Bada
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Next to Manuel Antonio National Park Entrance | Manuel Antonio Beach, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SPECIAL DISCOUNT!
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“CLOSEST to the park enjoy the sounds of the park after dark”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stay here. The rooms were the best we had in Costa Rica. Big enough not too big. Decks over looking the beach and close to the Man. Ant. Park. We drove here and parked at the hotel before we checked in.....they were accommodating. The bathtubs were a little awkward getting in and out of but nice nonetheless.

Staff--OUTSTANDING
food --GREAT
facilities-- outstanding
proximity to beach and park--the best

Internet center, tv in rooms, quiet, wake up to the sounds of the jungle.... great for kids and families or couples.
When we come back we will stay HERE.

Room Tip: doesnt matter..... upper floors have view from room of beach but even lower rooms can enjoy the soun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanBada C, General Manager at Hotel San Bada, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear guest!

Thank you very much for your nice review on our Hotel San Bada!

Our goal is to offer the best vacation experience to all our guests, for this reason we strive every day to improve the quality of our services, we are very glad to know that you had an outstanding stay at our Resort, from the warm attention of our staff to the amenities and comfortable facilities.

As part of the advantages we have because our location as you described well in your review, is waking up listening to the sound of the jungle and the ocean (superior, deluxe rooms and suites), we are excited that you shared with others this important aspect.

Definitively, we will be happy to welcome you in a future visit!

Sincerely,

Your friends at Hotel San Bada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    192
    92
    24
    14
    7
See reviews for
111
105
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Escazu, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Let me start off by saying the staff at the San bada hotel Manuel Antonio is extremely well trained, are very nice and very professional.
Now my 2 star rating would actually be 2.5 but there is no 2.5
Ok so we arrived in town to find the town very slow, of course it's rainy season that was expected. Along the road there were a couple signs to San bada hotel. But as we got closer there were no more signs and we had a little trouble finding it. The hotel was empty, Upon check in the receptionist and the bell boy took us to the room carried our bags ect. The room was average at best, very hot as the drapes weren't closed during the day when they turned the a/c on. The hotel says they are green so I was surprised that the a/c was working so hard when a small about of tint on the window would have solved that problem. The bathrooms were clean, the sink was updated. I would not recommend these rooms with a bath tub for the elderly or disabled because it is hard to get into the tub. After check in we checked out the town, went to the marlin restaurant down the street and had a snack. Upon returning to the hotel it had begun to rain, we took our laptops (my husband must have internet when we travel for work) up to the 6th floor to check out the jungle/ ocean view. No internet.... Figured it was from the rain, even though we live in costa rica and our internet is not effected from the rain at all. That was ok for the time being. At 4:30 we wanted to order dinner after sitting for a while. But the waiter or any staff was no where to be found. Finally 30min later he came up, was very nice, very good English as well very professional. We ordered the Congo burger I had heard so much about from the other reviewers.. My mom and I asked for it to be cooked well done. 1 hour later the food finally came and the burger was completely raw, and bleeding through the bun. After another 45 min it came back and it was terrible, falling apart, no catchup for the fries no napkins no forks. We couldn't even tell the staff because there wasn't any. At 7 the Internet still hadn't returned, the staff said it was the rain.
Upon going to sleep early we noticed noise coming from the room either above or right behind us, as we were a corner room I couldn't tell. We could here everything. I was upset, I have worked in hotels before and you never put guests that close if there is no one in the hotel! The next morning there was still no Internet, the reception said the manager was in at 10 and he needs to reset the connection. 1:30pm rollers around and still no internet and no manager has arrived. We left and went to town to get internet.
We didn't eat there again we went to victories Italian restaurant which was amazing.
We ended up leaving a day earlier because the hotel didn't make us wait to stay. There was know one in the rooms they could have upgraded us or something

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanBada C, General Manager at Hotel San Bada, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanking our recent guests living in Costa Rica for staying at our Resort! We loved hosting your husband, mother and law and you earlier this week. We appreciate your kind words regarding our staff, we really strive to provide the best service possible. And your comment highlights one of the great things about our Resort well trained, very nice and very professional staff.

After reading your review we share it with everyone from the staff, I would like to comment on several of the issues that appear not to have met our guest expectations. First of all you arrived during our yearly maintenance period and besides that the night before we had serious rainstorm with lightning. That caused the night before almost five small blackouts for periods less than 1 minute. As you can tell, these blackouts were the responsible of internet cuts, as the routers and other equipment works with electricity (there is more than 1 routers and switch as a conventional home network), however after 20 minutes you reported the problem we were able to fix it, when our concierge try to notify the solution you were not reachable because you went out. To avoid this issue in the future we contacted our Internet supplier to avoid this kind of hassle to happen again using UPS and increasing the speed.

As you quoted in your review, our staff is very well trained, for that reason we were surprised that you did not notify us the issues during your stay, sure that would assist our staff and us as managers to improve your stay. We sincerely apologize for the issues presented during the afternoon, we already spoke with the waiters and that day unfortunately we were short of staff because the others were in their day off or on vacations. As the inconvenience with the meat it was our mistake with the desired cooking doneness, however it is important to clarify that all the ketchup, ranch, and other sauces were served in different plates as you requested, and after we brought you the new burger, all dishes were returned empty and your husband even gave our waiter a generous tip. We certainly did not suspected what you reviewed.

Regarding the room you forgot to mention that you booked a room in the first floor, and we upgraded you to a room in the third floor, with this explained we want to let our tripadvisor readers that we want to make each of guest stay remarkable since the very first moment they enter the Hotel

Overall, we believe that this particular negative feedback is related to the internet issues, which are going to be taken care of and the inconvenience presented during their only one time dinner at our restaurant, which we will definitely correct.

Here at Hotel San Bada we are fully committed to outstanding hotel experience for our guests, that is why we really appreciate when these issues happen to communicated to us while you were staying with us, as we are eager and empowered to correct any failures on our part and try and make you as comfortable and relaxed as possible.

We would love a chance to welcome you back to our hotel. Until then, all of us at San Bada remain fully at your service!

Sincerely,

Your friends at Hotel San Bada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

During our memorable stay in San Bada we had everything we could ask for our vacation in Manuel Antonio. My kids enjoyed the big pool and the fast slide, they ejoyed the Congo Burger (very large sized burguer) every day during our visit. The hotel is right next to the main entrance of the park, my husband loved the location because it was so easy to visit the reserve. Also we visited the beach outside the park it was a minute walk from the hotel. The Spa is so beautiful and they have a great therapist she really make great facials and massages. The food in the restaurant is amazing, try their mahi mahi dish.
The staff take cares about everything, aways smiling and attentive, thank you San Bada for our wonderful experience

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanBada C, General Manager at Hotel San Bada, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear friend!

Thank you for such kind review!

You cannot imagine how satisfied we feel when reading comments like yours; Hotel San Bada is the perfect spot for family´s vacation, offering from delicious menu options and fun for the youngest ones to a relaxing time for parents, all in safe and friendly environment that enable our guest to enjoy their stay with us and all the things Manuel Antonio has to offer. Our focus is to provide memorable experiences to our guest and you are a great example of that.

Again, thank you very much for sharing your wonderful moments with others.

Sincerely,

Your friends at Hotel San Bada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in October 2012. We took their Manual Antonio package. The hotel was very comfortable, the staff pleasant, the service as expected, and when we stayed, almost empty (I think there were no more than 3 rooms booked in the hotel the whole time we were there). We had a great time, with nearly always a swimming pool and jacuzzi to ourselves. The beach is a short 5 minute walk away. The included tour to the Manual Antonio park (the entrance is right outside the gate of the hotel) was great. All in all a good place to stay and we left happy with the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanBada C, General Manager at Hotel San Bada, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear friend!

Thank you very much for posting your review in Tripadvisor!

We are satisfied that you rated our Manuel Antonio Package as a good value including three nights/four days of hotel accomodations, guided tour into the National Park, a trip in a Catamaran boat looking for the dolphins and a credit in our Restaurant .

More pleased to know that you liked our privileged location door to door to Manuel Antonio National Park main entrance, letting you to hear and look the magnificent of the jungle right in front from your room balconies.
Thanks again, and we hope to welcome you back again soon!

Sincerely,

Your friends at Hotel San Bada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We apologize for not writing earlier. As we promised we have to share our wonderful time with others. Our family had one of the best 10 days summer at Hotel San Bada; Costa Rica; Manuel Antonio National Park. My husband, myself and grandchildren girl 17, boys 11 & 9 had a wonderful adventure time between July 23 till Aug 3rd, 2012. It was the best time of the rainy season. The thunder storm,strong wind, lightning & heavy rain was one of the highlight for us. All the adventured on the MTV to the water fall, fishing trip, Zip lining & boating was awesome. We did para sailing, surf on the beach. Every day was a fun filled full with activities... we attended the local fun fair by taking a local bus ride. We must say a big thank you for the hospitality rendered by all the staff from housekeeping, F& B staff, management and our best driver Marisio! Our family just cannot forget you...you went all the way to share the local culture, food, rain forest, animals, pigs, dogs, chicken & monkeys, sluoth & the best was our local fairware lunch...that was great finale. Thank you all to made our trip a fruitful and fun one. Love from all of us to your team.

Room Tip: We had three suite... it was great to the upper pool, view & the forest just next to your balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanBada C, General Manager at Hotel San Bada, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Rina,

Thank you very much for your time your comments are always welcome!

Many thanks for you sharing at TA some of the highlights of your wonderful vacation with us. We are glad that you really had a great time at our lovely Mogote & Ballena Suites. Just like you say, although you came in wet season there are many things to do. We feel really grateful when hearing about your experience with the local culture, wildlife and all the interesting things you did. You can have for sure that our staff fondly remember you and your family. Actually, we love sharing your reviews with our staff as they inspire us to doing our best and improve even more.

We definitely hopefor your return to our Hotel and to welcome you back again in the near future!

Sincerely,

Your friends at Hotel San Bada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We had the wonderful experience of staying at the San Bada during a visit to the western side of Costa Rica. It is in an ideal location just outside the Manuel Antonio National Park. When we arrived, we were met at the reception desk by an employee who served us a very nice tropical drink. That was a nice touch!

The hotel was clean and every single employee acted as if we were his/her personal responsibility. We especially enjoyed the adult pool area on the roof. The employee there gave us particularly good service.

Walk through the "tunnel" and you arrive at the beach in only a few minutes.

This is now one of our favorite hotels in the world.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanBada C, General Manager at Hotel San Bada, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent visit to Hotel San Bada and your kind and thoughtul review at Tripadvisor"

It is so gratifing to hear we pleased you with our frontdesk, pool service, and tunnel walk to the beach. To hear our efforts to serve motivates us in the spirit of "pura vida".

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look foward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Your friends at Hotel San Bada!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quepos, Puntarenas, Costa Rica
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Hotel San Bada is the best hotel at the beach!! It is super close to the beach and has 2 awesome pools. The one on the roof is the coolest because you can look out at the gorgeous view of the ocean and nature. The slide on the lower pool was so much fun and the brand new hot tub was super relaxing. The restaurant has delicious options and my favorite was the Banana's Foster dessert!! Muy rica! The service is fabulous and everyone is so friendly, always with smiles. Everyone is very helpful with suggesting adventures to do throughout your vacation. The surf lessons San Bada offers through their friends are with Barrabas Surf Lessons and were fantastic and so much fun! This is the closest hotel you can get by the National Park. It is literally right next door and such a wonderful, peaceful park to walk through with a tour guide and see all the animals and gorgeous beaches!! I have zero complaints from my stay there and I would recommend it to any of my friends travelling to Costa Rica! Hope to see Hotel San Bada soon! Pura vida mis amigos :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanBada C, General Manager at Hotel San Bada, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Guest!

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We certainly enjoyed your company during your stay at our Resort!

We are especially happy that our staff was able to recommend you great adventures as the surfing lessons. All of us here at Hotel San Bada take great pride in providing the best service and feeling among friends when you are at our Resort.

It is also great to hear that you took advantage of our unbeatable location just right next to the most beautiful National Park in Costa Rica, and one of the top 12 in the world according to Forbes magazine, and got to enjoy a really unique hotel experience with your friends.

Thanks again, and we hope to welcome you back again soon!

Sincerely,

Your friends at Hotel San Bada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel San Bada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Bada

Also Known As:
Hotel San Bada Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park
Address: Next to Manuel Antonio National Park Entrance | Manuel Antonio Beach, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel San Bada 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Bada brand new Hotel located right next to Manuel Antonio National Park entrance, and a few steps to Manuel Antonio Beach, Costa Rica.Rooms with National Park jungle and ocean view balconies. Discover the wildlife from your balcony and listen to the ocean. The biggest pool in the area with water slide, waterfalls and a pool bar. A private pool for adults at the terrace, with ocean and jungle view, perfect sunset spot! Our amenities:-Restaurant-Access to the public beach-Pool bar-Power generator in case of electricity shortout-Elevator-Biggest pool-Kids pool-Adults pool with ocean view-Snack Bar-WiFi-Free spacious parking, no driving needed once you are at the resort, everything is in walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Hotel San Bada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Bada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.