We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, great view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Avion

El Avion
Road to Manuel Antonio Park, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
+506-2777-3378
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Northern CA
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Good food, great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We enjoyed the view from this restaurant. The food was good, but not great. I don't recommend the cheesecake for dessert! The Monkey Biz drink was delicious. Our daughter really enjoyed her fish sandwich, and our other daughter enjoyed her pasta dish. Fajitas were good. Service was excellent.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,620 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    534
    624
    295
    102
    65
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Poor customer service ”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We recently visited El Avion while staying in manuel antonio.. As my husband is a pilot he was very excited to visit this airplane themed bar.. I will see it is a very cool concept with an amazing view.. The service however was horrible we stopped by for drinks and after the initial order no one ever came back to check on us to see if we would like another even though we had empty glasses.. The restaurant was not busy and the staff all seed to be standing around socializing with one another.. The drinks themselves were very weak and did not appear to have any alcohol in them.. I would never visit this place again it is a tourist trap that relies on its location and building not on the quality of service and drinks

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Perfect for post beach hydration”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

The views, the drinks (non alcohol fruit shakes and alcohol) are delicious! The fish is a couple of days caught but prepared nicely. Would give it a better rating but the seafood is not as fresh as you would expect so close to the beach.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciudad de Heredia, Heredia, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“nicest view in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Great place and good culinary experience. Its staff are very friendly and prices are ok for a nicest place like these. Just take care with your head if you are a tall person like me and you get in to the restaurant into the airplane cause you are going to be wonder by the beauty view your eyes have in there. Remember your camera sunset and monkeys are very close to you

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Just so-so”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We went for drinks to experience the uniqueness of the place, we were disappointed with the drinks and the dinner menu didn't tempt us to stay.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Avion also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to El Avion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Avion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.