We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rainforest Dining at its Best” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Avion

El Avion
calle manuel antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Staten Island, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Rainforest Dining at its Best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a great dinner at El Avion, a restaurant that is built into a tree along with an airplane. We were there during the rainy season, but that didn't deter us from going there. The place was open air as many restaurants are in Costa Rica. What impressed me was the overhang that surrounded the site. When it rained, you were adequately covered with at least 3 feet of cover above you. Food was good, you were given a lot; desserts were even better, especially the Tres Leches cake. It was to die for!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

70% Recommend
    271
    323
    140
    64
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“One of our favorite meals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Stopped here for dinner and really enjoyed this place. The ambience is great and had beautiful views of the ocean. Definitely try the seafood alfredo. Prices were reasonable for the area and service was attentive.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Really love this restaurant.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We came here a few years ago on a previous trip, we thought it was fantastic then. We went again tonight and I would call it very good. Consistently good quality, but lacking the wow factor. The burgers are huge, we really liked the nachos. Everyone liked their dinner a lot, but dessert was very underwhelming. Servers were decent, but could have checked in on us a little more frequently , the food came out very quickly. This is such a beautiful restaurant and the view is gorgeous, it's worth the stop.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best restaurant we went to!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We went here for our last meal because the kids thought the plane was fun. The food was the best we had and very reasonable priced! We had great service, it was a fantastic atmosphere, and was the perfect ending to our exceptional trip!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Tourist trap-but who cares?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

No doubt that this is a tourist trap with tourist prices, but we had the chicken fajitas which were very good and our daughter had fun running around the plane, which is now a bar.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Avion also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to El Avion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Avion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.