We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No complaints!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Avion

El Avion
Road to Manuel Antonio Park, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“No complaints!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I have to admit, it's easy to write positive reviews about anything in Costa Rica, because the energy is so positive!

But really, El Avion is good stuff. The cocktails are fantastic (I had a Monkey Biz for dessert), the seafood casserole was delicious, the view was spectacular, and the price was reasonable!

The only thing you should remember is to bring your bug spray and apply generously- you'll be sitting outside, and I imagine if I hadn't been wearing layers of Off!, I would have been slapping myself like a lunatic. This applies to every activity in CR, not just El Avion.

Enjoy!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    411
    488
    229
    81
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Fun place with good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Fun setting (see the airplane in the middle!) overlooking the ocean. Very good food. Service was great until they got busy. Then, it was awful. We waited and waited after dinner hoping to get some dessert - finally 3 of our 4 party members left trying to signal a waiter to come bring us a check! We gave up on thinking about dessert.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Virginia, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Pretty Cool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I would agree with other reviewers that the food here was good, but not terribly creative nor unusually tasty - but good food nonetheless. The staff was attentive and polite though, and the views from the restaurant are wonderful. The design though is worth stopping by for a drink or meal - its is mainly made up of an old airplane. Pretty cool.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good food and great place to visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

El Avion is one of those places where a lot of tourists go because the restaurant is built around a plane, which lets face it, is super cool. We decided to go here knowing that the food would probably be sub-par, but the ambiance would be fantastic and worth some pictures. As we thought, the food and drinks were a bit pricey, but definitely not too bad. They have an abundant list of cocktails that are delicious and taste of high quality. We all got seafood and were very pleased with our entrees. It was interesting that the staff was so fast and on point because the rest of our dining experiences had been pretty slow. I think that is pretty typical in costa rica. No one is ever in a hurry, which is good. After dinner we walked around the restaurant and then took turns taking pictures of each other in the cockpit of the plane (which was in the bar). Overall it was visually a neat place and the food was tasty, but if you are on a budget consider going there just for a drink so you can still experience the ambiance without putting a dent in your wallet.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahomet, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Atmoshere, Okay Food & Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Definitely more time was spent on the atmoshere here. Pretty place with fabulous view. Food was sub-par and service was slow. My Monkey Business cocktail was obviously lacking in business. If coming here, eat apps and stay for one drink while watching the sun set, then head down the road for a much better dinner experience at any of the other many restaurants.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Avion also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to El Avion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Avion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.