We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best excursion in Costa Rica! Must do!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quepoa Expeditions

Quepoa Expeditions
apdo 497-6350, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
506-2777-0058
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Water sports
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Quepoa Expeditions is a smaller personalized whitewater river rafting company based out of Quepos, Costa Rica, just minutes from the world famous Manuel Antonio National Park and its spectacular beaches. We offer whitewater rafting on the Rio Savegre,and Rio Naranjo, including the Chorro. We also offer inflatable kayak tours in the dry season, and sea kayak/snorkeling tours.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best excursion in Costa Rica! Must do!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I went rafting on our honeymoon and it was awesome!!! Brad, the owner, is very nice and everyone who works for him is great! We definitely received the best value for our money on this excursion! Scott was our guide and he made sure that all of us had a great time! We saw some amazing views as well. The waterfall was incredible! We stopped for a wonderful lunch on the way back also. I cannot say enough great things about this excursion! When we go back to Costa Rica we will go rafting again with Quepoa Expeditions!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    12
    2
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fun family thriller!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

My parents, brother and I did the white water rafting adventure and what an adventure it was! The rapids were at a category 3 and just about the right level of difficulty to be fun and scary, but not too dangerous. Our guide Ronny was entertaining and definitely knowleagable. Lunch afterwards was one of the best local fare we have had on the entire trip. I would recommend this company and the rafting adventure.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
139 attraction reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“6 Hour with lunch tour was only about 4 1/2 hours for our group”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We booked through this company due to the wonderful reviews. There were four of us in our boat and we were picked up at our hotels and taken to our rafting location. When arriving there, they said that the 6 hour tour we booked was not going to be able to be used unless we only wanted to do half of the river. I understand things like this coming up but I would have thought that there would be a discount in price. The other option was that we could take another river which we ended up doing since they were obviously trying to sway us that way. We had a very experienced guide and had a great time, but also found that this river was also not passable, so we had our trip shortened here as well. Since our tour came with lunch, that meant that we were taken there early (about 11 am) and returned to our hotel from there. We got back just short of 12:30 pm. No one was really hungry at that time but we did try to eat a little since it was included with our price. The time we were on the water was great, but since we had paid for a 6 hour tour, I would think that when they are not able to deliver what we purchased, that there should have been some sort of discount, but I suppose that isn't the way it works. I'm sure it's luck of the draw and other than a short river rafting experience, the crew was always pleasant and you felt very safe. I would still recommend this company. Just hope that this shortened rafting tour doesn't keep getting cut short.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brattflip, Owner at Quepoa Expeditions, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your thoughtful review. I want to explain why we adjusted your trip at the last minute. We always try to provide our guests with the optimal experience possible under current conditions, and here in Costa Rica, conditions can change rapidly, with little or no notice. The particular day you are referring to, there had been heavy rains in the mountains the night before, and the road to our normal put in on the Savegre River was not passable. Fortunately we got word in the morning, and were able to come up with a better plan. We could have driven to a lower put in on the Savegre, downstream of half the rapids, floated to a different take out further down, and not mentioned anything to anyone. However we believe in being up front with our guests, and once again, we try to do everything within our power to provide the best possible experience. Given the current conditions of both rivers, we felt it would be a lot more fun for everyone to run the Naranjo that day, and run all the rapids. However, we offered both options to you, in case for whatever reason you were set on going to the Savegre. The Naranjo River is about a half hour closer as well, so you saved about an hour of travel time, which made the trip shorter. Our listed tour times include transportation time. Also on the Naranjo River, the last two kilometers of the run is flat water, class I and there can sometimes be strainers (fallen trees) choking the narrow channels, so we opted to take out after the last Class III rapid, instead of floating the last two kilometers of flat water. I’m sorry if you felt shorted in any way, but we sincerely were trying to provide the best possible experience for you given the circumstances.
Sincerely,
Brad Watts
Owner/Operator Quepoa Expeditions
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
“Ocean kayaking and snorkling was the highlight of our vacation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My wife and I tried ocean kayaking for the first time and it was amazing! We were not sure what to expect at first, but no sooner had we pushed away from shore in our tandem kayak we were hooked! The first surprise was how calm the water was. We were expecting it to be choppy but the water surface was almost like glass. The kayak itself instantly made us feel relaxed and safe; there was no period of adjustment. From the start it was also visually stunning. Being so low to the surface of the water and in such control of your speed and direction, we were immediately struck by a new level of intimacy with the ocean and nature. It was a wonderful balance; we could take it easy and experience a wonderful relaxation, or challenge ourselves to improve our speed, turning ability, synchronization with each other, etc... For this reason, I think this experience offers something for everyone: young or old; fit or unfit; experienced or new to kayaking; seeking exhilaration, relaxation, or a more profound experience with nature. This trip has definitely made me want to look for more opportunities to kayak!

The snorkeling was fun but the day we went the water wasn't the clearest. We still were able to easily encounter a school of colorful fish to play in, which was a lot of fun. Our guide was knowledgeable about the area and described interesting facts about the birds we saw, the land masses that we encountered, and the process of kayaking and snorkeling in a way that we were able to get the most out of our time there.

Although we went during what is normally described as the rainy season, there was plenty of sunshine the week we were there, and the rain we did experience was warm and a welcome break from the heat and sun. The shorter lines and smaller crowds than appear in the dry season were a nice plus!

We took plenty of sunscreen, broad rimmed hats, a waterproof camera, and Teva sandals. The sandals were great because when we took our snack break (on a beautiful secluded beach!) there were a few slippery rocks and we were glad to have sandals that had good treads, could get wet, and were secured well to our feet.

Definitely worth doing this excursion with Quepoa Expeditions!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best Adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We had a group of 6 girls in Costa Rica for a bachelorette party. We had our own raft with Scottie as our guide. He was professional and entertaining. We always felt safe, but felt adventerous at the same time. The rest under the waterfall was great. The food after was delicious - good local food!!! All in a perfect day!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quepoa Expeditions also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Quepoa Expeditions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quepoa Expeditions, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.