We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth getting a guide” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Manuel Antonio Nature Park & Wildlife Refuge

Manuel Antonio Nature Park & Wildlife Refuge
Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Improve this listing
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Juiz de Fora, MG
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Worth getting a guide”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

The guide was really useful to be able to know more and see all the animals but overall a bit expensive (10.000 colones to go + $20 for guide).

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,556 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,345
    703
    352
    106
    50
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“beautiful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We took a tour to this location from san jose. the drive was long but we got to see a lot of scenery along the way. It was good to go with a tour because you get breakfast and lunch provided, a knowledgeable guide and they take care of the park entry fee, etc. for you. When you arrive to the park, you take a walk through the rain forest which could be a bit longer in my opinion. the walk is only about 20 minutes but you do get to see a lot of trees and wildlife. we saw sloths, iguanas, raccoons,and deers. At the end of the pathway is the real gem-manuel antonio beach. The beach is so beautiful- emerald and blue water, crystal clear and white sand, and the water is very calm and the temperature is like hot bath water. We spent most of the day here, but you can also go walk along the other trails through the rain forest if you want to.
definitely a must see if you are in costa rica.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalispell, Montana
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Amazing beach and snorkeling”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

It was a hot day when we were there. We had heard about the hustling that happens outside of the park and we prepared, but it was horrible. Once inside the park though that ends. We didn't want to pay for the tour. We wanted to spend the day at the beach. We took our snorkel gear with us and headed out. Looking at the beach, the right side is rocky and the water is murky.
Then we went out to the left side. It was a lot more clear and we saw lots of beautiful fish.
I like to get tan but I will be the one to tell you.....wear sunscreen and apply it often. I would suggest SPF 30-50. You will still get tan and you won't ruin your nest two days recovering from a sunburn!!
Watch your stuff, the raccoons will come and steal it!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Get a qualified tour guide”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

I noticed that all the negative reviews have something in common- either no guide or an unqualified one. Like any area, do your homework; don't just show up and expect everything to magically work out. And if you go at mid day in peak season, expect it to be busy. We booked our tour of the park as part of a larger package with Costa Rica Expeditions. He was extremely qualified, including a degree in biology. And while we did see other tour groups, we had plenty of time and space to see all kinds of animals, including three kinds if monkeys and both two and three toed sloths. It was amazing. There was a bit of an issue with crocodiles while we were there- one beach was closed to swimmers, and a path was inaccessible. But again, this is a nature park, you need to have appropriate expectations- it's not Disneyland.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“See Costa Rica Up Close!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

You have to get a guide when seeing this park. They are so knowledgeable and can spot wildlife you would just walk bye. I have toured this park three times now and have seen and learned something new on each visit. see the white face monkeys, holler monkeys, sloths, lizards and many different birds. DON'T miss this tour!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manuel Antonio Nature Park & Wildlife Refuge also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Manuel Antonio Nature Park & Wildlife Refuge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manuel Antonio Nature Park & Wildlife Refuge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.