We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice outing - suggest you get there early” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Manuel Antonio Nature Park & Wildlife Refuge

Manuel Antonio Nature Park & Wildlife Refuge
Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Improve this listing
Type: National Parks
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Attraction Details
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nice outing - suggest you get there early”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We arrived at around 7 a.m. and got parking really close which is nice as it's quite a walk in the park to the beach. It was also good to get there early as it got really busy as the day went on. Saw howler monkeys, capuchin monkeys, sloth, deer and baby, the famous Blue Morpho butterflies and others.Great beaches here and some snorkelling. The park is quite nice but the drive thru the streets of Manuel Antonio is really busy even before 7 a.m. The signage to the park is not good but this seems to often be the norm for Costa Rica. One of those things we were glad we did but probably wouldn't do it again.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,710 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    921
    471
    211
    67
    40
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
(Mass.)
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sloths and monkeys and lizards, oh my!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My (39 yr old) son & I had a fabulous time in this well-kept park...WITHOUT an expensive guide. We found from others with guides that all we missed was a lovely tree frog. In fact, we were the FIRST to spot a 2-toed sloth hanging just above our heads on the edge of the beach. Guides called their flocks over to join us :) Watch out for the brazen capuchin monkeys; they WILL grab your glasses! Bring a camera & binoculars. Bring swimming gear and lunch--midway through the park trail is a gorgeous cove with picnic benches. As you enter the park area by car, you will be accosted numerous times to "park here - last chance!" - don't fall for it! Just keep going right to the park entrance and find a lot with a person "protecting" the parking area (worth it for the peace of mind). We left our car there all day with no problems. We had a great inexpensive meal at the Cafe Agua Azul (a Thai restaurant) on the main street.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbia, sc usa
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Tropical paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great park. We took the Guided Nature Walk and it was amazing what the guides were able to spot from the colorful insects, to the tree top sloths and monkeys. Well, worth the price of admission and then you end up on the fabulous beaches.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Snoozefest!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Three of us decided to go on a girls' day while our husbands fished. We left Los Suenos and headed to Manuel Antonio, stopping on the way to a do a monkey tour, then lunch in Queopos at El Avion. Both of those were wonderful experiences! We had heard the park was a must-see and that we had to get a tour guide. I was initially under the impression that the tour guide was $20 for a group; it was actually $20 per person, on top of the $10 per person entry into the park. Five minutes into the tour, we immediately were regretting it. I think after hanging out with the monkeys on the tour we did before the park, we were expecting more, but seeing lizards and sloths through a telescope just was not doing it for us. We ditched the tour guide and headed straight for the beaches. The beaches were lovely and are the only reason I rated 3 out of 5. Otherwise, a big waste of money, in our opinion.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Manuel Antonio Park and Escape Villas - Great Vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Just returned from our one week vacation in Manuel Antonio.
Enjoyed the park (though it does get crowded)
Really enjoyed the area - had a great week of sailfishing out of Quepos...and a fun Mangrove Boat Tour....as well as excellent service from Escape Villas.
Our house rental was not perfect. Sometimes web pictures are not quite the whole picture...but we have been very pleased with the service provided by Escape Villas and have already booked our trip for 2014 with Escape Villas again in Manuel Antonio in a different house this time.
Service was excellent.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manuel Antonio Nature Park & Wildlife Refuge also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Manuel Antonio Nature Park & Wildlife Refuge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manuel Antonio Nature Park & Wildlife Refuge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Manuel Antonio Nature Park & Wildlife Refuge to your Saves list