We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Manuel Antonio Nature Park & Wildlife Refuge
Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$114*
and up
Manuel Antonio National Park Day Trip from San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Lithia, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We had a wonderful tour guide named Roy who was very knowledgable and had a large lens so we could see things up close and even take photos through the lens. We saw sloths, monkeys, birds, iguanas, raccoons and had a great walk on the beac too! It was worth every penny!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,764 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,491
    744
    365
    111
    53
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
9 reviews
“Breathtaking!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Take the bus from Quepos until it dead ends. Honestly, you won't need a tour guide (the ones that hassle you at the final bus stop). If you are okay with walking about 1/2 mile or so from the bus stop to the actual park entrance, you'll do fine. Pay your entrance fee. The walk to the beach is quite a walk. So soak up the scenery.
It sounds cliché but the beach is like a post card. Even better are the hikes on the trails off the main trail to the main beach where all the raccoons/monkeys and such attempt to steal your food. I blame the tourists. I recommend going on one of the side trails that will take you to the top (almost a mile or around 1400m) where you will have the most picturesque view of the beach. It can be treacherous so ¡caudate!. I literally gasped, I wasn't expecting it. I saw a group of monkeys near me that didn't mind me at all. Another trail from the main road leads you to a more secluded beach that is almost your own (at least during low season). There are bathrooms to change/rinse into a bathing suit (only near the main beach/trail) if you so desire. No soap/shampoos allowed.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful, but unpredictable... Having a guide is a must!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Having an experienced and knowleageable guide is integral going through this park. We were fortunate to have Manuel Cabalceta as our guide (www.manuelstours.com). While walking down the main path without the trained eye of our guide, we would have easily missed many interesting species - including various plants, lizards and birds. Manuel has been studying for many years and shared his vast knowleadge and experience with us. Unfortunately, with all wildlife it is quite unpredictable what you will see on any given day. We saw a sloth, jesus christ lizard, racoon and various small birds. There is a lot that I feel we missed though, but was not the fault of our guide.

There is a peaceful & gorgeous beach inside of the park, but we did not know to plan for that so didn't bring our swimsuits/beach gear with us. I would definitely plan to spend some time on this beach since you are already in the park. It is much nicer than the public beach nearby.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alajuela, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
101 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great Beach and animals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

It was very nice, we saw white faced monkeys, two sloths and squirrel monkeys. The beach was very relaxing, enjoyed swimming and hiking though the park.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful Scenery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

The coastline within the park is beautiful. There's a plethora of animals around and the beaches are quite beautiful as well. Almost idyllic.

But this is definitely a busy park. We visited in the low "green" season and it felt like there was a lot of people everywhere. Solitude may be found by exploring further down some of the trails, but they were closed when we visited. Still, a must see if you're in the area.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manuel Antonio Nature Park & Wildlife Refuge also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Manuel Antonio Nature Park & Wildlife Refuge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manuel Antonio Nature Park & Wildlife Refuge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.