We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hire a Naturalist” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manuel Antonio Nature Park & Wildlife Refuge

Manuel Antonio Nature Park & Wildlife Refuge
, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$114*
and up
Manuel Antonio National Park Day Trip from San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Quepos, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hire a Naturalist”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We hired a naturalist guide for our first trip and he pointed out many plants and animals we would have missed. Great value for the money.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,998 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,626
    799
    394
    120
    59
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What an Opportunity!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

If you would like to see monkeys, iguanas, sloths, crabs, amazing spiders, sleeping frogs, awesome flora and fauna and a morning that is filled with surprises then take the tour at Manual Antonio National Park. Not only do you get to see all that, at the end of the 2 hour hike, you walk onto the most beautiful beaches. The ending is perfect for such a warm day. But I don't think I could find a better, easier hike to take. I loved it!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
99 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Beautiful Nature and Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Manuel Antonio is a great area to visit or a few days, just a short 2-3 hour drive from San Jose. The National Park is closed on Mondays so keep that in mind if you want to visit the grounds for a nature guided tour or on your own. There is a fee to enter the park. The earlier you go, the better chance you have to see wildlife in the park. The beach is nice but can be rough at times. Very lush and green around the area. Lots of restaurants but it can be very dead during their slow season in August. Very busy between December and March (dry season). Overall I recommend it as a must see in the southwestern area of Costa Rica.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vias
Level Contributor
1 review
“Going around costa rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This country is just beautiful and deserve its name.
Manuel Antonio Nature park is an amazing place worth visiting full of animals and luxuriant vegetation.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Monkeys, Sloths & Spiders, Oh My!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Beautiful, raw, natural place. DEFINITELY get a guide - you'll never see the amazing spiders, bats, frogs, flowers, sloths, monkeys, etc. by yourself. These guys have crazy eyes and can spot anything!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manuel Antonio Nature Park & Wildlife Refuge also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Manuel Antonio Nature Park & Wildlife Refuge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manuel Antonio Nature Park & Wildlife Refuge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.