We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and well-cared for reserve, but those raccoons....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Manuel Antonio Expeditions

Manuel Antonio Expeditions
Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 0043, Costa Rica
+506 8365 1057
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a small company that loves to share nature and teach about our wildlife and natural resources. Our guides are all professional and billingual.We are proud to offer personalize service and work with our clients to make the best of their vacation. Let us know be part of your wonderfull trip to Costa Rica.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Monteverde, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely and well-cared for reserve, but those raccoons....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014 NEW

We've now been to Manuel Antonion twice. The first time, we hired a guide (Jordan) and had a lovely walk in. No, it is not like going to the zoo where there are animals on display for your viewing. Yes, you have to look for them. Our guide was amazing, complimenting my daughter because she was so good at helping him spot wildlife. The guides help each other -- no sense of competition. Guides will even point things out for folks who are not on their tour (though this is VERY uncool to do -- pay for your own guide!). Our favorite part, though, was when you get to the beach at the end. I just didn't imagine such loveliness! We went during the slow season and so it was pretty much empty! On this second trip in December 2014, everything was still lovely! My advice is DO OT BRING FOOD. But if you have to, eat it in the table area. If you have to bring it to your blankets with you, do as the Ticans do and bring an ice chest that locks or that you can bungee closed. It was a big pain when folks would go swimming and leave their food out. Raccoons here are FEARLESS. You can push them with a stick or throw sand in their direction and they keep coming. One woman was even having a tug of war with a raccoon over her plastic bag of food. Another man got into a fight with someone else because he bonked a raccoon on the head with a stick and the other man was mad about how he had treated the wildlife. So, while I wanted to enjoy the space, the raccoons made it difficult to fully relax. The public beach is MUCH better for sleeping and enjoying the beach. Manuel Antonio is for hiking, wildlife viewing and just overall appreciation of life!

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    433
    46
    7
    2
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Edgar was our guide!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2014 NEW

we booked last minute the night before through an inquiry on Trip Advisor. We heard back from Juan in minutes and he had us meet our guide at the El Avion (the airplane restaurant). We picked him up and drover to the park where he skillfully navigated us through all of the scammers that work their trade outside of the park. They will flag you down wearing yellow parking vests, blowing whistles and will attempt to park you on the road and charge you for it a mile from the park entrance. Edgar told us to drive straight up to the park where he had parking in a safe lot behind the park ticket office. We saw the wild life close up through his scope on a tri-pod. His english was great and he was a lot of fun. Take a bag that crinkles (like a chip bag) and you will see a lot of capuchin monkeys. We drove Edgar to work at his other job afterward where we enjoyed a great lunch. It was a great morning!

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

We were there last week. It was an incredible experience.
Juan is an amazing person. He tries his best to show us the most of the nature.
Also, please understand that, the nature may not work with you on certain days !.
We had many monkeys jump on our boat and also on our heads !. It was very cool.
We highly recommend this mangrove tour with Juan, the guide.
I think his website is Manuelantonioexpeditions.info

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great Guided Tour of Manuel Antonio”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2014

I visited the area in Nov 2014 with a party of 14. We set up a guided nature tour of Manuel Antonio through our concierge at Villas Oasis. Our guide was Pablo and he was knowledgeable, fun, friendly and found a lot of wildlife to show us. We had a small snack (could have used more food) at the beach and allowed us to choose which way we wanted to go and what we wanted to see from the beautiful beach area. I would highly recommend hiring a guide through the park and as of 2015 your guide will need to be licensed and approved by the government. These guys are approved. I would Recommend Juan or Pablo to everyone visiting the area!

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Costa Rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

We had an awesome experience with this company! They were prompt, professional and very informative about the area! I will definately choose to use them again when traveling to Costa Rica!

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manuel Antonio Expeditions also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Manuel Antonio Expeditions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manuel Antonio Expeditions, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.