We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally worth the money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manuel Antonio Expeditions

Manuel Antonio Expeditions
Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 0043, Costa Rica
+506 8365 1057
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Eco tours, Nature & wildlife tours, Outdoor Activities, Sightseeing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a small company that loves to share nature and teach about our wildlife and natural resources. Our guides are all professional and billingual.We are proud to offer personalize service and work with our clients to make the best of their vacation. Let us know be part of your wonderfull trip to Costa Rica.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Aliso Viejo, California, USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Totally worth the money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I almost toured the national park ourselves.....what a bad idea that would have been.

This expedition tour group flagged us down when we were driving down to the park and told us it would be 35,000 colones (~ $60 or so) and I will admit I was skeptical at first, but it was worth every penny.

Our tour guide Jason was wonderful - he was extremely knowledgable, funny and fun to be around. He spotted animals we seriously could have seen if we tried - baby iguana, snake, crabs, multiple spiders, birds, monkeys and sloths - all awe-inspiring to see, plus the backstory Jason provided made it a memorable experience.

You need to hire this service, and request Jason.

- Jake and Sarah

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    447
    50
    8
    3
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Safety Harbor, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing park--wonderful guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We had been to the Manuel Antonio area before but never to the Park. Our guide was Josue and he was excellent. We saw animals that we would never had seen on our own, heard stories about virtually ever plant we passed, and laughed at jokes that were based on what we were seeing. He even managed for us to pet one of the deer that roams in the park. When we reached the beachfront, w saw more monkeys--both white-faced and howlers--than we've seen on both previous trips combined. Great experience!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Totally exceeded our expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

It's our first time in Costa Rica and Manuel Antonio Nat'l Park was our first thing to do in the country. We didn't know what to expect from a tour, and being inveterate DIY-ers, we were worried we might regret the choice to hire a guide. Turns out to be the best decision we could have made. Pablo (Paul) was the best--using his telescope, he showed us everything from the tiniest insect to hidden bats to sloths and monkeys, and could explain it all knowledgably in fluent English. I can say with certainty that we wouldn't have seen anything other than a few bugs without him. He's also a delightful person to hang with-- interacted with our kids (13 and 15) really well, kept them involved and entertained, and had lots to say about Oregon, where we're from, especially our Oregon Ducks! In fact, we scheduled a mangrove kayak tour with his company the next day and that was equally great. Can't recommend enough!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great tour, must do!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We truly enjoyed our tour of the Manuel Antonio park. Pablo was our guide and we would have never seen all the animals we did without his wonderful eye for these animals. We would be walking along and out of the blue he would spot something. We would look up and wonder what he could be seeing. He has a high powered scope on a tripod that he would set up for us to get an up close view of monkeys, sloths, raccoons, toucans and more!! Such a great opportunity to see things you would not see yourself. We also enjoyed views of the beaches and a snack of pineapple and juice along the way. Must do!! Thanks Pablo!!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
1 review
“Amazing & Informative Guide!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Phenomenal tour! Really thought about walking the park without a guide. We now know that would have been a very - very bad decision.

(You will find what the tour includes & suggestions on what to bring at the bottom of this review.)

Pablo showed us from the quite small (spiders, bats & multi-colored / beautiful grasshoppers) to three species of monkeys (squirrel, white faced & howler) and so many others in between.

When Pablo picked us up he was friendly & engaging. He started educating us soon after we meet by showing & explaining about plants & animals all around us and how to listen to the sounds to identify the type of animals.

We are a family of four. Our sons are 22 & 17. Another family of four joined our tour & their daughter & son were 12 & 9. Pablo held all of our attention & at the same time listened to us. All members of both families had a great time & came away much more informed about the ecosystem in the park.

Raccoons, a large rodent (called an agouti), two types of bats, multiple species of spiders, too many plants & how those contribute to name, were just some of the fascinating sights. Most all shown to us up close (& I mean very close) with the use of Pablo's extraordinary Leica spotting scope. He also carries high-end Swarovski binoculars to use.

There was no rush but rather Pablo wanted to show & explain as much as he could. He truly was all about service & making sure we were happy.

The mix of conversation also touched on some of the history of Costa Rica, the PAC 12, soccer - oh, I mean futbol, CR cash crops, the importance of the Mangroves & more.

We highly recommend Pablo!! He speaks fluent English and has a great sense of humor too!

Pablo & Manuel Antonio Expeditions were recommended to us by Sabrina Montalto Segal, Concierge & Vacation Coordinator for the Discovery Beach House & Account Manager of CRneeds.com. (CRneeds.com is the Yelp of Costa Rica.)

Includes: Transportation, fruit, water, naturalist tour guide with spotting equipment and entrance to the park.

What to bring: easy walking shoes, water, camera, sunscreen and binoculars. You may also want to bring a bathing suit and towel for a relaxing afternoon at the beach after your guided adventure.(If you would like to leave the park & come back the same day bring your passport or a copy of your passport.)

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manuel Antonio Expeditions also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Manuel Antonio Expeditions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manuel Antonio Expeditions, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.