We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jungle, beaches, animals - this park has it all!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manuel Antonio Expeditions

Manuel Antonio Expeditions
Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 0043, Costa Rica
+506 8365 1057
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a small company that loves to share nature and teach about our wildlife and natural resources. Our guides are all professional and billingual.We are proud to offer personalize service and work with our clients to make the best of their vacation. Let us know be part of your wonderfull trip to Costa Rica.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Jungle, beaches, animals - this park has it all!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

We hired a guide based on other reviews we read on Trip Advisor, and yes, it was well worth it! We would have missed most of the animals if not for our guide. If you can choose, request Robert Umaña - his knowledge of and passion for Costa Rica is amazing! He also took pictures through his scope with my iPhone, so I have some great shots of iguanas, a 3-toed sloth, howler and capuchin monkeys, red-eyed tree frogs, a blue-crowned motmot bird, and raccoons. Bring water with you, and a bathing suit for the beach area.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    434
    46
    7
    2
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madisonville, LA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful for wild life”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

You must stay on trail in this forest. Get a guide if u want to see animals of the forest. They can find most things. However by self exploring MA we found just as much not under guidance. The beach in the park is nice. One of the nicest in the area.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, New Brunswick, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Manuel Antonio”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We toured it with a guide, very professional, Wilbert (raccoon). It is true that you will see things and learn things you would not without a guide. I am not inclined to hire guides but I didn't regret it. We saw grasshoppers in the trees that I couldn't find for minutes w the naked eye. They were amazingly colorful. Of course we saw snakes, monkeys, sloth's and other animals. The beaches were amazing to view and lovely to swim in. They were very safe although you always have an eye on your stuff more for raccoons or monkeys coming to take something away. No kidding!!! You are always careful of the reputation of petty theft but we had no issues w that but not without precautions in any event. The trails in the park were great. Not so much the road to the first two beaches in the park. It was a road not a trail and heavily travelled by tourists, guides and occasional trucks driven by rangers.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whetstone
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“A must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

If you want to see wildlife you need to go here. If you go its worth paying a guide these people are wonderful and can spot any wildlife no matter how far.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“For resort visiting not true Costa Rican life”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We drove to Manuel Antonio to see the beauty that this national park has to offer. The beaches are so beautiful... everything Costa Rica would love for you to see. The park offers much wildlife and the smell of monkey can over-come you, but if you've never seen the beauty that is offered to the tourists; it's worth a trip. You can stay here, eat here, visit the park but know that this area is made for tourists and is not by any means a true experience of the Tico life of the natives. English is spoken here so you can go to Costa Rica without knowing their language. The hotels offer tours from Zip Line to horse back riding. If you love resort vacations; Manuel Antonio will exceed your expectations. I would not recommend that you visit the park during the weekend, the Tico's live life to the fullest and many families will be there; it's very crowded during a weekend. I would not recommend buying the Pipa de Fria (cold coconut water in the coconuts) because you never know if you are getting the real deal. Living in a casa on lush land outside of this tourist area; I learned to shave open my own coconuts for the water.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manuel Antonio Expeditions also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Manuel Antonio Expeditions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manuel Antonio Expeditions, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.