We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jungle, beaches, animals - this park has it all!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manuel Antonio Expeditions

Manuel Antonio Expeditions
Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 0043, Costa Rica
+506 8365 1057
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: We are a small company that loves to share nature and teach about our wildlife and natural resources. Our guides are all professional and billingual.We are proud to offer personalize service and work with our clients to make the best of their vacation. Let us know be part of your wonderfull trip to Costa Rica.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Jungle, beaches, animals - this park has it all!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

We hired a guide based on other reviews we read on Trip Advisor, and yes, it was well worth it! We would have missed most of the animals if not for our guide. If you can choose, request Robert Umaña - his knowledge of and passion for Costa Rica is amazing! He also took pictures through his scope with my iPhone, so I have some great shots of iguanas, a 3-toed sloth, howler and capuchin monkeys, red-eyed tree frogs, a blue-crowned motmot bird, and raccoons. Bring water with you, and a bathing suit for the beach area.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    430
    44
    7
    2
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madisonville, LA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful for wild life”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

You must stay on trail in this forest. Get a guide if u want to see animals of the forest. They can find most things. However by self exploring MA we found just as much not under guidance. The beach in the park is nice. One of the nicest in the area.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, New Brunswick, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Manuel Antonio”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We toured it with a guide, very professional, Wilbert (raccoon). It is true that you will see things and learn things you would not without a guide. I am not inclined to hire guides but I didn't regret it. We saw grasshoppers in the trees that I couldn't find for minutes w the naked eye. They were amazingly colorful. Of course we saw snakes, monkeys, sloth's and other animals. The beaches were amazing to view and lovely to swim in. They were very safe although you always have an eye on your stuff more for raccoons or monkeys coming to take something away. No kidding!!! You are always careful of the reputation of petty theft but we had no issues w that but not without precautions in any event. The trails in the park were great. Not so much the road to the first two beaches in the park. It was a road not a trail and heavily travelled by tourists, guides and occasional trucks driven by rangers.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Manuel Antonio is a beautiful park. We went in the green season so it wasn't crowded at all. We are a family of five and thought we would walk through the park ourselves and we would be able to spot things. A few minutes in, my one son and I turned around and hired a guide. It was well worth it. They can spot animals hiding in the jungle that you would never find. Also, they teach you many other things along the way about trees, insects, birds, etc. and you may as well learn what you can while you are there. We hired "Alvin" as our guide. He was great. All the guides carry telescopes with them and there is no rush at all to stop and have a look at things. The beach within the park is absolutely gorgeous and you will be visited by many monkeys, racoons and iguanas. Our guide left us at the beach and then we went for a long hike which looped around the park and was well worth it. We miss Costa Rica very much. It's a gorgeous, special place on this planet.

Ingrid, Bernie, Devin, Gabi & Tomas Traplin (Canada)

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whetstone
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“A must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

If you want to see wildlife you need to go here. If you go its worth paying a guide these people are wonderful and can spot any wildlife no matter how far.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manuel Antonio Expeditions also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Manuel Antonio Expeditions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manuel Antonio Expeditions, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;