We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful nature walk” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manuel Antonio Expeditions

Manuel Antonio Expeditions
Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 0043, Costa Rica
+506 8365 1057
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a small company that loves to share nature and teach about our wildlife and natural resources. Our guides are all professional and billingual.We are proud to offer personalize service and work with our clients to make the best of their vacation. Let us know be part of your wonderfull trip to Costa Rica.
Silver Spring, MD
1 review
“Wonderful nature walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We were very happy to have a guide as we walked through the park. Our guide was able to show us a number of creatures that we never would have seen on our own. He was very knowledgeable about the wildlife we were seeing, as well as the history of the area and the park. We wish we had brought our bathing suits etc. along with us to enjoy the beaches at the end of the walk.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
State College
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Knowledgeable, engaging tour guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We had a tour with Juan this August and had a tremendous time. The tour lasted several hours, and Juan enjoyed answering all of our questions on a variety of topics. While I'm more interested in wildlife, my wife is more interested in local life and culture; Juan had lots to say about anything we asked him about. We had a great time talking with him, and he showed us MANY animals, spotting them in his top of the line spotting scope, and taking several expert photos for us.
I would HIGHLY recommend this tour to anyone who wants to know more about the Park than simply how to get to the beach. We left feeling like we knew a lot about the Park, its wildlife, and more.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“no guide necessary......worth a trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

the good.......great park, nice hiking trails quite a bit of wildlife so you don't really need a guide, but they can be helpful and informative if you get one that really knows a lot about the biological diversity in the rainforest. the beach is really nice....the park rangers were really helpful...take a picture of the trail map on ur fone and use it as reference.

the not so good.....this place can get really crowded....DO NOT park at the first point where they are flagging you down.....while it is a bit cheaper, spend the extra 1400 colones and park right by the entrance of the park....you won't regret it as it s a walk to the entrance if you park at first point.
i would imagine there are a few other places that aren't so crowded and have just as much wildlife. the ability to hike from rainforest to beach is pretty incredible tho!.



very touristy

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank frank c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nacogdoches
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Manuel Antonio, a Great Nature Hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Don't miss an opportunity to visit Manuel Antonio Park. The guides are very knowledgeable (pointing out sloths, reptiles, birds, racoons with spotting scopes) and the nature experience will be unforgetable. The beach is very nice but there are no facilities for food. The monkeys alone at the beach are worth the hike. There is great hiking with some spectacular views on the point from the beach. This hike might be a bit much for older hikers. Take some good shoes. And sometimes the trails are muddy. But a great nature adventure.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A must!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Well worthwhile and very informative. We wouldn't have seen 10% off what we saw without our guide Edgar. We set off and Edgar was very interested in where we all came from and well informed also. We spotting a number of snakes lizards, eguana, spiders and Sloths as well as many more. We looked after with plenty of food and water.

We really recommend these guys as they know all about the park.

Myles & Amy

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Myles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manuel Antonio Expeditions also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Manuel Antonio Expeditions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing