We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manuel Antonio Expeditions

Manuel Antonio Expeditions
Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 0043, Costa Rica
+506 8365 1057
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a small company that loves to share nature and teach about our wildlife and natural resources. Our guides are all professional and billingual.We are proud to offer personalize service and work with our clients to make the best of their vacation. Let us know be part of your wonderfull trip to Costa Rica.
Manchester, Iowa
1 review
“Excellent Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Edgar, our guide, was wonderful. He has a great sense of humor! We saw many animals that we would have walked right by had we been on our own. He was very knowledgeable about the plants and animals in the park. We had a wonderful tour and some time at a beautiful beach with some snacks. He even took pictures through his telescope with our cameras. It was a great experience, and I would recommend it to anyone.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    465
    52
    8
    3
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Jungle & ocean in one”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

It's a great experience to be in a jungle with monkeys , sloths & all other kinds of beautiful nature. And having the Ocean below you is a quick hike down to the most beautiful breath taking views I've ever seen . The Park is the best hike I've ever done you get to see all kinds of creatures and beautiful trees , flowers and streams. Once you reach the beach in about a 30 minute hike down you'll just want to jump into the ocean , but watch your belongings the spider monkeys might help themselves, as your surrounded by them on all the trees. I loved it !

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Edgar was our guide - had a great sense of humor, and pointed out highlights of the park (animals) along the way. While it was 'private', there were people everywhere, all taking the same public path thru the park.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
124 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Loved the Mangrove Tour and the Tour of the Park with Juan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We were lucky to have the opportunity to do two tours with Manuel Antonio Expeditions on our most recent trip. We did both a tour of the national park to see wildlife and a mangrove tour via boat. We specifically requested Juan Brenes as our guide because we've heard so many wonderful things about him and have read many of his natureguide posts on this board.

Juan did not disappoint. He has a keen eye, and on the national park tour we saw tons of wildlife including squirrel, howler, and capuchin monkeys, iguanas, a bright yellow eyelash pit viper coiled in a tree, Jesus Christ lizards that can run on the water, beautiful iridescent dragonflies and grasshoppers, hummingbirds, parakeets, raccoons, and Halloween crabs. Several of these we would have walked right by without noticing them. Juan also had a fantastic scope that he used to take great pictures through with our camera. He's quick witted and friendly and a lot of fun to explore with. The van that MAE uses is comfortable and air conditioned, and they'll pick you up right at your hotel and drop you back off afterwards. We paid a little bit extra to have a private tour and thought it was well worth the cost. The tour included the cost of admission to the park, and also some wonderful fresh fruit, cookies, and cold drinks that Juan brought along.

The mangrove tour was equally fun, and it was nice that we had a fairly small group. This tour is done via kayak or motorized boat. We opted for the boat because it gives you the chance to cover more ground and therefore to see more wildlife. We saw long-nosed bats, roseate spoonbills, white ibis, several different kinds of egrets and herons, crocodiles, lots of capuchin monkeys, and the highlight of the trip - a tiny silky anteater. Several tour companies feed the monkeys, but we specifically chose MAE because they don't. The monkeys still come very close, and some even jumped onto our boat to have a closer look! After we finished the tour, another tour guide named Pablo met us and took us to his home for a late breakfast. His wife Wendy cooked for us, and their warm hospitality was really wonderful. If you're looking for excellent tour guides in the Manuel Antonio area, I can't recommend this company enough.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
225 reviews
102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Splendid jungle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We enjoyed walking in the jungle and viewing the wildlife, white faced monkeys, squirrel monkeys, birds, and sloths.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manuel Antonio Expeditions also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Manuel Antonio Expeditions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manuel Antonio Expeditions, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.