We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The guide was great!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Manuel Antonio Expeditions

Manuel Antonio Expeditions
Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 0043, Costa Rica
+506 8365 1057
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a small company that loves to share nature and teach about our wildlife and natural resources. Our guides are all professional and billingual.We are proud to offer personalize service and work with our clients to make the best of their vacation. Let us know be part of your wonderfull trip to Costa Rica.
Centreville, Virginia
Top Contributor
312 reviews 312 reviews
177 attraction reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
“The guide was great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We read the reviews from people who didn’t get guides, but after we did this tour, we don’t know how in the world someone could go without a guide. We would have seen nothing! I wonder if their experience with the fake parking attendants just soured them on the whole experience. We had a transfer from the hotel, but we saw the fake parking attendants, practically a mile from the park, and couldn’t believe how rude that was to trick people into parking there. We spent three hours in the park, walking along the path and having our guide, Bernie, spot cool things for us. Just like at a zoo, you are never guaranteed to see animals, but with our guide, we saw a silverback spider, a ‘Kiss of Death’ snake, two mother sloths with babies (!), a deer and fawn, Howler monkeys, bats, white faced monkeys and a Basilik lizard. We did bring our swim suits for the beach, which has much calmer water than outside the park and no vendors or chair rental people trying to sell things to you. Plus, you can watch the monkeys playing in the trees just at the edge of the beach. We read reviews that the place was really crowded, but we were there during Easter week and while there were a lot of people, we never thought it was all that bad.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    457
    50
    8
    3
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“Great service!!! Will use again for sure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Had a great experience working with Paul. He helped us every step of the way to organize our trip and has been extremely patient in explaining options, tour choices, and hotel suggestions. Great experience. Will definitely use on our next trip to Costa Rica.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Or
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Great Park - Great Guide”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

You will see almost nothing interesting without a guide that knows where the interesting animals happen to be on a particular day, and without a telescope that they provide even if you know where they are - you won't see them. Our guide was great - my guess is they don't hire bad guides. Good English extremely knowledgable, personal and humorous. Highly recommend this.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Love Manuel Antonio”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My 2nd visit to Costa Rica and Manuel Antonio, but this time with children. It was great! Our guide was fabulous with my two small children 8 and 5) and helped keep them engaged and was very good at making sure they saw all the lovely animals. We saw two and three toed sloths, Jesus Christ Lizard, squirrel monkes and many other critters.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Manuel Antonio National Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

What a great park, the animals were very cool and the beach was really beautiful. This park can't be missed; it’s the highlight of the area.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manuel Antonio Expeditions also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Manuel Antonio Expeditions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manuel Antonio Expeditions, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.