We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding tour of Manuel Antonio National Park!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manuel Antonio Expeditions

Manuel Antonio Expeditions
Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 0043, Costa Rica
+506 8365 1057
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: We are a small company that loves to share nature and teach about our wildlife and natural resources. Our guides are all professional and billingual.We are proud to offer personalize service and work with our clients to make the best of their vacation. Let us know be part of your wonderfull trip to Costa Rica.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding tour of Manuel Antonio National Park!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We recently went on a tour of Manuel Antonio National park with Edgar as our tour guide. The tour was fantastic! Edgar's knowledge and ability to spot wildlife was outstanding. How he saw some of the animals was beyond me. We saw monkeys, a toucan, lizards, frogs, sloths and much more. I can't imagine trying to tour the park without a guide and actually being able to see or find anything as it really takes someone who knows what they are looking for to spot some of the things we saw.

Edgar's knowledge and ability to explain what we were seeing was tremendous. He really took the time to make sure everyone in our group got to see each animal or item that he spotted. His sense of humor was great! We are a family of 4, 2 adults and 2 children (ages 13 and 9). Our children loved the tour as well - Edgar really took the time to make sure he explained things to them and included them on everything. I would HIGHLY recommend this tour and if possible, request Edgar as your guide!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    430
    44
    7
    2
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nature”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

If you like to hike, enjoy nice beaches and experience the sights and sounds of a rainforest than this is the perfect day trip. Did not hire a guide but still saw a bunch of animals.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Wonderful beach, very clean, gentle waves, animals come out of the bush to the beach, great place to relax and enjoy

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, New Jersey
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Our link to everything Costa Rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We've been going to Costa Rica every year for 9 years now and if we have a question, we ask Paul. Need a ride, a restaurant recommendation... want to know that name of that plant?... is that bug poisonous?... the mating rituals of sloths... best pool for kids... what to do on a rainy afternoon... pretty much any question we have, we go to Paul. He's always had an answer and then some. He is such a wealth of information and seems to have x-ray vision when it comes to spotting wildlife. We first met him as our tour guide through the MA national park, which was excellent, and have since done several other tours with him. The mangrove boat tour was a really nice relaxing (and blessedly shady) experience, too.

We've also called Paul for transfers and he most recently hooked us up with Fernand, who was great! Always nice to have a reliable person who knows can find you a clean bathroom or a good place to eat in a pinch!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Edgar is the BEST!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My husband and I went on a guided tour through Manual Antonio and had Edgar as our tour guide. He was EXTREMELY knowledgable on every animal. It was impressive the level of detail he was able to share with English as his second language. I think I learned a few new scientific terms from him on this journey myself. In addition to his wealth of knowledge, I swear he has xray vision. His ability to find animals at a distance was incredible. Honestly, if my husband and I went on our own, we wouldn't have seen anything. I highly recommend this company and especially Edgar as the guide!

Jen & Eric

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manuel Antonio Expeditions also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Manuel Antonio Expeditions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manuel Antonio Expeditions, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.