We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manuel Antonio Expeditions

Manuel Antonio Expeditions
Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 0043, Costa Rica
+506 8365 1057
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Eco tours, Nature & wildlife tours, Outdoor Activities, Sightseeing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a small company that loves to share nature and teach about our wildlife and natural resources. Our guides are all professional and billingual.We are proud to offer personalize service and work with our clients to make the best of their vacation. Let us know be part of your wonderfull trip to Costa Rica.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Best of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

First class service. My post will not be able to do them enough justice but I will try my best. We were picked up by Juan in a van with AC from our condo we are staying. He brought us to have a home made authentic meal for lunch which was one of the best meals we have had since we have been here, along with great conversation. We then headed out to the mangroves and had a private tour of them in the kayaks with Juan. Manuel Antonio Expeditions does this tour differently than any other company out there. They are out there to personalize it and educate you on the wildlife and plant life of this area. They are not there to sit and hold out bananas for the monkeys to come and get, which is horrible not only for the monkeys but for tourism in general. Juan told us all about all of the birds we got to see, which were many, and the monkeys as well. He then brought us back to our condo safely. This is one of the best tours I have ever been on period. A very small "family" run business that deserves tons of credit. THANKS!!!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    447
    50
    8
    2
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best part of our trip to Costa Rica!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I can't say enough good things about Manuel Antonio Expeditions. Starting from booking the tour to the tour itself, everything was handled seamlessly. Juan was an expert animal spotter - toucans, pit vipers, sloths, monkeys, and more. Juan is full of great information and stories. He went above and beyond by helping us photograph everything we saw. Book with Manuel Antonio Expeditions - you will not be disappointed!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southold, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent experience: above and beyond!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Booked the Mangrove Tour as well as the Manuel Antonio Park tour with Manuel Antonio Expeditions and we were extremely pleased with both tours. Juan picked the 4 of us up from our bungalow in a late model air-conditioned van for the ride to the Mangrove Tour. He introduced himself as well as the various other groups of people taking part in the tour. Along the way to the mangrove, he explained the vast palm oil production in Costa Rica, even stopping to pick up one of the oily seeds for us to see.

The mangrove tour boat driver was excellent, deftly navigating to get us close to what we were trying to see. Juan identified the many birds, plants and snakes that we saw and allowed time and a good vantage point for photos. He explained the unique ecosystem of the mangrove and pointed out things we would never have seen on our own. While he is obviously knowledgeable, he also has a great sense of humor.

At one point in the tour, three tour boats congregated at a place where white-faced capuchin monkeys could be seen. Some of the other tours had mashed bananas they fed to the monkeys but I was pleased to learn that MA Expeditions will not feed them. Juan explained that monkeys do not normally eat bananas and that it is definitely not in their best interest to be fed. He also noted that they are wild animals and have been known to bite the tourists who so eagerly want them to sit on their heads or eat out of their hands. We watched the monkeys on another boat baring their teeth seeming to demand their bananas! They are so cute but definitely have some sharp teeth in there!

At the end of the delightful tour, we went back to the home of Pablo, one of the other tour group owners, where the 8 of us in our group had a delicious home-cooked meal of mahi mahi, rice, beans, plantains, avocado & salad. It was a very delicious and personal touch!

The next morning, we met Juan again en route to Manuel Antonio National Park for our 3 hour walking tour there. (Remember that the park is closed on Mondays.) He showed us where to park and got the entrance tickets for the group. The group size was manageable (about 12). The trail through the park is fairly crowded with tour groups as well as folks heading to the beaches (you have to walk a fair distance through the park to get to any of the beaches) but it did not spoil things at all. Juan had a spotting scope and was great at finding various insects, lizards, birds and animals for us to view. He provided a wealth of information - I found the sloth info fascinating! It was quite hot but there was usually available shade.

About half way through or more, we stopped at a picnic table at one of the beaches and Juan provided cut fresh pineapple, juice and cookies for a refreshing break. By the end of the tour, it was very hot and I was dragging but the awesome sights continued to the very end. The beaches in the park are gorgeous (though one was closed due to a crocodile sighting!) We paid for both tours at the end in cash. (we used US dollars)

When we had only a limited view of a toucan during the park tour, Juan offered to meet us later that afternoon to take us to a place where we could see both the fiery billed aracari and the chestnut mandible toucan. He also said if we had a SUV, he could take us swimming in a waterfall. Three of us took him up on the offer and it was a real experience! The road was terrifying for me - one track very rough, steep gravel road with sheer drops at some points BUT the waterfall was gorgeous and swimming beneath it was heavenly. On the way back, we did indeed see both types of toucans on our own private tour. Juan is clearly very proud of his business & his country as well he should be. I can't recommend the group highly enough!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“SIMPLY AWESOME!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I decided to give Juan a try after reading all the excellent reviews on TripAdvisor and I was not disappointed. I really wanted to get spot a Toucan and Scarlet Macaw and Juan took my family on our last day to see them both on one outing. We definitely would not have been able to spot them without his help. He was very professional and knowledgable at all times. Really appreciate him going the extra mile. Thanks Juan!!!!!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Guided park tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I have done this park with and without a Guide . The reason for the tour is to see the animals with out a guideI saw crabs ,White Face Monkeys, deer. With a Guide I saw Parrot, Rare Birds, and many bushes some not to touch! I think the guide is the way to go . Bring your hotel towels the beach inside the park is beautiful,

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manuel Antonio Expeditions also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Manuel Antonio Expeditions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manuel Antonio Expeditions, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.