We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mangrove Tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manuel Antonio Expeditions

Manuel Antonio Expeditions
Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 0043, Costa Rica
+506 8365 1057
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: We are a small company that loves to share nature and teach about our wildlife and natural resources. Our guides are all professional and billingual.We are proud to offer personalize service and work with our clients to make the best of their vacation. Let us know be part of your wonderfull trip to Costa Rica.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Huntingdon, Pa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Mangrove Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

The Monkees are amazing. We had the best time with Juan and his Kyak tour. He is very knowlegable about the animals and the forest. The monkeys were amazing and I never felt afraid

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    432
    44
    7
    2
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We scheduled a private tour of the Manuel Antonio park. Our guide, Paul (Pablo), was great! He picked us up promptly, as scheduled, and was very knowledgeable about the wildlife in the park. He spotted many things -- big and small -- that we would never have seen on our own. He brought a spotting telescope that gave us a close-view of bats, frogs, cicadas, birds, and a momma sloth with her adorable little baby!
If you are planning to visit this park, I highly recommend this company and suggest you ask for Paul!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Extraordinary trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Pablo was our guide. He was very friendly, reliable, knowledgeable, and patient. He escorted our group to the Manuel Antonio Park and located the animals in the park who were hiding high in the trees. He never rushed us and waited until we could actually see the animal clearly before we moved on. He also escorted us on the mangrove boat trip. On the trip we had an encounter with the white faced monkeys and were able to have them come down to our boat to see them more close up. He and Juan were our drivers for the entire week, picking us up and taking us to restaurants and recommending places for shopping etc. I highly recommend them as tour guides. Their professionalism and enthusiasm helped make the trip a truly memorable one.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A must see with a guide to truly enjoy this park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I went with Estelle and she was absolutly the best person to learn from in the park.
Her knowledge and keen eye helped us find some amazing sights, large and small.
Estelle takes photos for you using your camera through her spooting scope... It is fantastic..
See the attached photo, there is no way you would ever see this let alone get this quality a shot..
She was very kind to translate for me as i was tagging along with a very nice Swiss family who wanted a french speaking guide!!

Thanks Estelle

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston-Escazu
1 review
“Amazing Mangrove Tour with Pablo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We just had the most amazing mangrove tour with Pablo! We were visiting with two little kids, and Pablo was amazing with them. From the minute we met him, he said we could do anything we want - lots of talking and looking for all of the birds and snakes, etc, or just go right to look for monkeys or whatever the kids wanted. We were lucky enough to have only our family, Pablo, and the driver Milo with us. Pablo explained everything to us, all of the birds in detail and all about the ecosystem. He and Milo were amazing at spotting the animals. We saw little lizards, baby croc, tons of birds, a boa, and best of all - the monkeys! We spent a lot of time with the amazing monkeys. After seeing lots of wildlife along the way, Pablo took us right over to the monkeys and the monkeys came right to the boat - so cute and friendly. Our 4 year old wanted more monkeys, so we circled back and spent most of our time just watching the monkeys. Pablo and Milo were so patient and did not rush us at all - even turned off the boat so we could just enjoy the time. We stayed watching the monkeys until they left, seeing mamas and babies, monkeys eating coconuts, it was all amazing. (He said the day before that it took many, many tries to find monkeys for one group, but he spent all of the hours looking for them - we were luckier to find them quickly, but I like the story of how he stayed with the previous group until they found the monkeys.) The mangrove is so beautiful and peaceful. We were very happy to be on the smaller, personal boat instead of the packed boats we saw going around the mangroves. If you are traveling with kids, you definitely want this tour company which will tailor the tour to your kids. Pablo speaks perfect English (raised in Canada) and Spanish, so it was great to be able to ask detailed questions. We just absolutely loved this tour, and we will definitely go back and do the same tour with Pablo again when our relatives visit us again here in Costa Rica. I liked it so much that this is the first time I ever posted on TripAdvisor, despite using TripAdvisor a ton for planning trips everywhere over the past 10 years.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manuel Antonio Expeditions also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Manuel Antonio Expeditions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manuel Antonio Expeditions, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.