We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manuel Antonio Expeditions

Manuel Antonio Expeditions
Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 0043, Costa Rica
+506 8365 1057
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a small company that loves to share nature and teach about our wildlife and natural resources. Our guides are all professional and billingual.We are proud to offer personalize service and work with our clients to make the best of their vacation. Let us know be part of your wonderfull trip to Costa Rica.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Amazing Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My husband and I ended our honeymoon in Manuel Antonio. We were there during the rainy season (September) so definitely needed to take advantage of the beautiful weather during the day. We were fortunate enough to have Juan as our tour guide who was extremely knowledgeable and had an amazing eagle eye. We couldn't believe all the wildlife that he was spotting. We got amazing pictures and had he not been our guide we would have missed so much. In addition, one of my favorite parts was the venture to the beach where there were seldom around, there were drank juice and munched on fresh pineapple. Long story short, you will not be disappointed with the tour!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    433
    46
    7
    2
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Colorado, United States
1 review
“Great tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Did this tour after two others further north in Costa Rica; this was by far the best. Our guide was Juan Brenes and he was very experienced and helpful. We saw many of the animals that we'd been waiting to see, and the spotting scopes really made the difference in seeing a lot of the much smaller species that we hadn't anticipated. Definitely worth the time and money.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“It was amazing.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I just got back from celebrating our honeymoon in Costa Rica lastnight. We did a variety of adventures while we soaked up the atmosphere in CR. One of them was visiting the National Park in Manuel Antonio. It was such a fantastic experience!! It was so much fun learning about everything there is to know about the rainforest and the animals and plants inside of it!! My newly wife and I were thinking about just going to the park ourselves, without a guide because it was a few bucks cheaper but thank goodness we did not! Edgar was our tour guide and besides having a great sense of humor,he had so much info on the park. This guys eyes were unbelievable!!! He can spot a grasshopper from 200 yards away, set up his telescope and have you viewing it in less than 15secs. It was a sixth sense that he had when It came to spotting wildlife. Unreal. My wife and I would've walked right by pretty much everything cool that we seen. The animals blend into the forest so well that without a excellent eye, you're never going to see them on your own. Manuel Antonio Expeditions picked us up from our hotel in a brand new passenger van and dropped us off as well. Paul was another guide that picked us up from our hotel and was such a clean cut, nice guy. My wife informed him that she hadn't gotten a chance to see a sloth while we were in the park and she really wanted to. So on the way home,(no longer in the park) Paul spotted one in a tree along side the road so he pulled over, set up his tri-pod binocs and we stood on the side of the road staring @ these gentle animals. Paul and Edgar both went out of their way to show us a good time and we can't thank them enough. For a few extra bucks its a no brainer. Loved this country btw

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maynard, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Guided Tour Manuel Antonio National Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We highly recommend MA Expeditions and specifically tour guide Edgar. I would ask for him by name. Edgar got dropped off near the house we were renting, Casa Carolina. He hopped in our car and as we drove toward the park he told us about himself and what to expect on the tour. He showed us where to park right near the park entrance. Edgar speaks fluent English with extensive knowledge of Costa Rica biology, habitat, and history. As Americans that speak and understand little espanol this was super helpful. During the hike we saw three types of monkeys, several sloths, a yellow eyelash vipor, and insects that we would have walked right by if Edgar wasnt there to point them out. Edgar pointed out wildlife that the non-professional tour guides missed. Edgar also spotted a very rare and tiny grasshopper hiding in trees as well as a hiding iguana that was also tiny and extremely camoflouged in the surrounding bark. Edgar was an excellent tour guide, very friendly, knowledgable, down to earth and funny. We would highly recommend using Manuel Antonio Expeditions and requesting Edgar. We were so glad that we did, definitely one of the highlights of our trip to this beautiful country.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belleplain nj
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Edgar and Pablo are the BEST!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We were picked up at Casa Carolina by Pablo and Edgar to do a guided tour of Manuel Antonio National Park. On the drive to the park, Pablo stopped the van and let us out to see the titi monkeys he had spotted. We were led through the park by our guide Edgar. He was AWESOME. He pointed out things such as sloths, spiders, and snakes (Viper) that we would have walked right by without noticing. His knowledge of the park was astonishing. We were so impressed with this company that on the ride back to our house, we arranged for them to pick us up the next morning to do the the mangrove boat tour. Again, we had Edgar for our guide and were just as impressed on this tour. We were driven back to Pablo's home where his wife prepared us a wonderful lunch (mahi-mahi) which I must say was the best fish I had eaten in Costa Rica all week. His little girl was adorable too. We felt so welcomed in their home and it was real nice to just sit and chat with Pablo about some of the history of Costa Rica. I can't say enough about these guys. Trust me when I tell you that you won't be disappointed if you use this company. We shared many, many laughs with Edgar. And Edgar, you were right when you said "she really doesn't listen, does she?" Hahaha. Can't wait to visit you guys again.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manuel Antonio Expeditions also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Manuel Antonio Expeditions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manuel Antonio Expeditions, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.