We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect retreat spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Plaza Yara

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Plaza Yara to your Saves list
Hotel Plaza Yara
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 322-6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect retreat spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2010

This is the perfect place for a quiet retreat yet with plenty of things to do in Manuel Antonio. The hotel staff is phenomenal - friendly and supportive. They arranged my transportation and scheduled tours for me. The location of the hotel is very convenient - it's a short bus ride away from the National Park and the beach. The rooms are suites - spacious and clean. My room had a balcony with a scenic jungle view. A delicious breakfast is served every morning. I got all of this for a low rate. Prices differ according to season.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    93
    15
    1
    1
See reviews for
84
225
23
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

Price was very reasonable for what you get. Our room was very clean, spacious, had kitchenette, sitting area, bedroom and nice bathroom.
The staff was friendly and accomodating, some were not fluent in English, but this was never a problem.
They provided a good breakfast as well.
Compared to other hotels at same price and same location, this was much better.
We stayed at another hotel one night and it was not clean, small and not nearly as nice as our room at Plaza Yara. I highly recommend this hotel. Their pool is small but we did not spend any time there as we were at the beach and doing other activities.

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

We were pleasantly surprised at this small suite hotel. Large nicely furnished rooms with a beautiful tropical view. Interesting art gallery in the front. The staff was very attentive especially Javier! Can't wait to return.

Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

I stayed here with my two children, ages 18 and 22. When we arrived at the hotel (which is in the midst of a corporate/strip mall), we had to check in at the art gallery. Upon check in, they told us we could reserve a time to have breakfast brought to us and it was delivered promptly at the time asked. Then we went to Room 2 and that was hard because there are no elevators and we had to go up several flights of stairs but it was worth it. The room was gigantic with our outside sitting area overlooking the forest (but we didn't see monkeys there). There is a fridge, coffeemaker and huge bathroom. Be careful when you shower, because the water could go over the floor and wet the side depending on the height of the person in the shower. The beds were extremely comfortable and the room clean. We also ate at their two restaurants-- Pizzeria Marco (delicious pizza, affordable price, and air conditioned) and La Hacienda (delicious International fare, higher prices and outdoors). Everything had a bit of an artistic flair so you felt you were more at a house than a hotel. We had a wonderful time and wi-fi was great too!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

If you stay in rooms 1,2 or 3 you won't be disappointed. Each is huge with a modern en-suite shower room.

We were going to stay for 5 days but extended to 7 days.

The staff are very helpful and there's a computer with internet you can use for free.

The hotel is half way between Quepos and Manual Antonio village - you can get a bus from outside the hotel for 240 colones (about 50 US cents) every 20 minutes. The bus takes 10 minutes to Manuel Antonio. You could get a taxi for about 1500 colones (USD 3) one way.

There are 2 restaurants on site, an Italian called Pizza di Marco and La Hacienda which serves lots of different dishes. Di Marco is cheaper than some other restaurants along the road and La Hacienda is about the same price (and lovely food).

Both the manager, Nelson, and his colleague, Jonathan speak Spanish and English and are incredibly helpful.

The swimming pool was nice after a hot day at the beach, but the water can be a little chilly.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

My wife and I stayed here for two nights in August. The people in Costa Rica and at this hotel are very friendly. This hotel is no the main road and is set in the rain forest. The room we stayed in was huge and we only paid $80-$90 a night, probably because it was during the green season. It is closer to Quepos than Manuel Antonio but a bus/taxi can quickly take you to Manuel Antonio. You will not be dissapointed if you stay here.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

This is an unusual hotel, but unusual in a good way. As others have noted, the hotel is located in a "strip mall," a former set of offices that are being gradually converted to a hotel. This means that the rooms were originally offices and the owner chose to keep the rooms at office size. He did a terrific job of design - absolutely huge bedrooms that are air conditioned with a screened-in, fairly large kitchen with a table for four and a couch. Our room (number 4) also had an unusual configuration - one queen-sized bed and two twins, each against different parts of the opposite wall. This made for very comfortable sleeping for my wife and I along with our teenage sons.

Nelson, the manager, was incredibly solicitous and had very good recommendations for tours and restaurants. We were happy with every activity. As others have said, breakfast is good and delivered to your room each morning. If you have to leave early they'll bring it the night before and you can eat at your leisure.

Altogether, Plaza Yara provided a great way to end a long trip to Costa Rica in relative luxury at a more than fair price.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Plaza Yara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Yara

Address: Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 322-6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Plaza Yara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Plaza Yara is located only five minutes to Manuel Antonio National Park. Hotel Plaza Yara offers all suites feature custom made bamboo furniture,queen size beds,kichenettes and spacious baths. relax on the balcony and enjoy the jungle views with variety of wildlife with passes daily including monkeys,sloths,iguanas and exotic birds. Hotel Plaza Yara offers the possibility for you to enjoy your stay in comfort,casual elegance and in tune with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Plaza Yara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Plaza Yara Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Plaza Yara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.