We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good/Bad ....Beware...read the bad before you stay here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Plaza Yara

Save Saved
You added Hotel Plaza Yara to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Yara
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 322-6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good/Bad ....Beware...read the bad before you stay here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

First the good, and there is a lot of that. the room was quite large, pretty clean (a little musty, but not criminally so), had a nice little patio off the pool area which was great for evening socializing, the A/C was very strong, TV signal included at least on english station (CNN, I think, but who is here to watch TV?). Breakfast was worth the price of the hotel. Not in the sense that the food was over the moon, although it was delicious. What clinched breakfast as classic for us was that breakfast is served outdoors on a spacious patio with about a 25 foot tall ceiling. Surrounding the space is jungle, and during each breakfast, troupes of monkeys came to visit the area, which was wonderful and entertaining. Sometimes, monkeys can be a bit naughty, and steal stuff and basically be a bit of a headache. Not these guys. The roughly 20 of them played together, and checked out the humans, but not too close by to be worrisome.

Now, the bad. The rooms have a big sliding glass door. It has a lock on it. the latch can appear to keep the door locked, but if anyone simply pushes on the middle of the glass of the door and attempts to slide the door open, the door comes open. We mentioned it to the manager (who speaks very good english, so it was not a communication problem) and also showed him how easy it is to break in, and while he smiled a lot and reassured us nobody would break in, and then, while he promised he'd have it fixed right away, he did nothing to resolve the security problem any of the days we stayed there. While there is a small safe in the room, be aware that all of your other stuff is totally vulnerable.

Of course, now anybody can read this review and know how to break in to any room with a sliding glass door at that hotel (I tried it on numerous vacant rooms, and they all opened), so don't say you didn't know when your stuff is stolen. Sorry, but my hope is that management actually gets off their chair and makes the rooms safe. Theft is Costa Rica's biggest problem.

Room Tip: CHECK the room's sliding glass door...PUSH in the middle of the glass AND SEE if the door slides...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nelsonmonge, Gerente at Hotel Plaza Yara, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for your compliments during your stay at Hotel Plaza Yara. The suites are indeed spacious and the breakfast area is lovely. In addition to CNN the cable service also provides access to NBC, CBS, ABC, FOX, HBO, Sony and several other stations in english. Monkeys do frequent the breakfast area but have never been involved in any criminal activities.

We are very confused concerning your comments on the safety of the suites. Plaza Yara has been open for over ten years and has NEVER experienced a robbery. The lock on the sliding door was reinforced after your concerns. We are in AWE that you tried several sliding doors as only four of our twelve suites have sliding glass doors and only the room that you stayed in is located on the first floor. The other three suites with sliding glass doors are located on the second floor with no exterior access to the balcony. The only possibility of checking the doors would be through the room (which has a deadbolt or scaling the wall). Also the hotel was at 100% occupancy during your stay.

We are committed to providing all guests at Hotel Yara an amazing, safe, and enjoyable stay. Hotel Yara will proudly offer any guests a tour of the property. Our hotel enjoys a near 100% occupancy rate and has received 100's of reviews on many websites without one question of safety at the hotel. We have never had any issue with the security of our guests.

Pura Vida!
Nelson Monge
Manager Hotel Yara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    252
    80
    13
    1
    1
See reviews for
68
181
19
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Deerfield, IL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We selected Plaza Yara based on Tripadvisor reviews. We absolutely loved it. Our room was big (BIG!) and clean with comfortable beds, a kitchenette, and a delicious bathroom. The pool deck was peaceful and beautiful, and included several visits to the surrounding gardens by monkeys during our stay. The breakfasts were fresh and bountiful, and we loved that the cafe's namesake, Havana the cat, hung around to visit with guests.
Above all though, I have to say that the staff was amazing. They were kind and polite, and more than generous with their time. They told us which vendors to do business with, which restaurants to try, and the best way to make the most of our MA National Park experience. They just could not have been sweeter. When we go again there will be absolutely no question as to where we will stay.

Room Tip: There is one room that opens onto the pool deck. Beautiful and huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This hotel was built in a shopping plaza, so it has a unique layout. The rooms are huge and they have big closets, a kitchenette, safe and a big and modern bathroom. The hotel also has an art gallery in the reception area where they feature local artists works. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful booking a whale watching tour for us, and also gave us an overview of the area and a map upon arrival. Breakfast is also very good in the Havana cafe, named after the resident kitty. All in all a wonderful experience and I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

When we went here for a two night stay I wondered if the reviews were true....and they were!! The staff is AMAZING! So nice and helpful!! I momentarily lost my passport and they called the airport multiple times to straighten things out for me. I don't know what I would have done without them! Breakfast was beautiful and complimentary! Our room was very nice and clean...we even saw iguanas outside our window!! The bus was very cheap and very easy to take to Manuel Antonio and to the restaurants in town. No complaints here!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

and owner . The owner in particular went the extra mile to help my girlfriend when she was unwell. It is this superior customer service that other businesses can learn so much from. Thank you again . Will return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Plaza Yara was a wonderful addition to my trip in Costa Rica. They were so nice and helpful. They gave recommendations on restaurant to visit, called us cabs, suggestions to certain tours and places to go to at night. They even called us when the cab/tour was waiting for us downstairs.The room was very big, clean and spacious especially for the amount. The room we had had a patio connected to the pool which was really nice. It seem like we were the only guest because it was so quiet but we weren't. Their breakfast selection was nice. If i were to travel to Costa Rica again i would most definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

My friends and I stayed here for 3 nights and had a wonderful time! We were immediately greeted by friendly staff who were willing to answer any and all of our questions. We had to wait a bit for our room to be ready but it was worth the wait! During the wait for our room, Javier made calls for us to book our whitewater rafting tour and gave us a tour of the hotel. Jonathan was also great and helped us with tours and directions. Both were very friendly and helpful!
The rooms were beautiful, clean and spacious and we were lucky enough to get Room #12, the only room that has a balcony leading right out to the pool. The room had a beautiful modern bathroom and a small kitchenette with a small refrigerator, coffee maker and microwave.
The only issues we had with the room was that the modern shower did not have a door on it and water would leak from the shower out into the room. A problem that was easily remedied with a few extra towels.
Breakfast served here was great and the portions were large! Getting to the beach was easy, the bus stop was a short walk up a hill and the bus ran every 20 minutes or so. There is only one road in Manuel Antonio so it we were able to figure out the bus route pretty quickly!!
Thanks to Javier and Jonathan for a great stay in Manuel Antonio and I would definitely recommend Plaza Yara to anyone making their way to Manuel Antonio!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Plaza Yara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Yara

Address: Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 322-6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 48 hotels in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Plaza Yara 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Plaza Yara is located only five minutes to Manuel Antonio National Park. Hotel Plaza Yara offers all suites feature custom made bamboo furniture,queen size beds,kichenettes and spacious baths. relax on the balcony and enjoy the jungle views with variety of wildlife with passes daily including monkeys,sloths,iguanas and exotic birds. Hotel Plaza Yara offers the possibility for you to enjoy your stay in comfort,casual elegance and in tune with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Plaza Yara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Plaza Yara Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Plaza Yara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.