We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hate to let the secret out!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Plaza Yara

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Plaza Yara to your Saves list
Hotel Plaza Yara
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 322-6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
SPECIAL OFFER!!!
Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hate to let the secret out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Had an amazing stay at plaza yara! Jonathan was there to help us and meet us almost each afternoon. He really cares to make sure you have a wonderful stay (the other staff too, but Jonathan was our guy this week!) our room was wonderful! Breakfast was amazing! The staff is great with helping you arrange your tours. They know all the best and safest companies. Jonathan and Javier set us up on some great tours and also helped us find directions to explore on our own. Did I mention the monkeys? This place was amazing!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    101
    18
    1
    1
See reviews for
95
243
25
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Playa Ocotal
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I booked a room over the telephone at the Plaza Yara. When we arrived after very long drive we were informed they did not have our reservation and the hotel was full. We were, of course, unhappy to hear this. Nelson, the manager, immediately got on the phone to locate a comparable or better room at a similar rate. He called several hotels in order to give us a range if choices. He found us a great room at a great rate. We thanked him for taking care of the situation and we were on our way. About 20 minutes after checking into our room we received a call from the front desk telling us we had a delivery from Plaza Yara. Nelson had sent a nice piece of artwork from their gallery along with an apology note for the mixup and wishes for a great stay in Manuel Antonio. Now we've lived in Costa Rica for 5 years and have to say that this was the best customer service experience we have had in our travels throughout Central America. Thank you Nelson for solving the issue in a very professional as well as personal manner and to the owners........Give the man a raise!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The word is out now. The Plaza Yara is a Trip Advisor "Winner" multiple years and it is a well deserved award . You can trust the award because of the many great reviews the Plaza Yara always receives. No one is happier than I am with the service as well as the quality of the double sized room big enough to fit a family. This hotel is managed and operated by a very caring, considerate, knowledgeable office staff, Nelson Javier and Jonathan who go to great effort to know their guests and create a warmth than one might feel in a home. Breakfast is provided with the cost of the room and served on the patio surrounded by a Jungle. This hotel is a tropical hotel located near the beach. Transportation is easy to get with taxis always available for 4 dollars to take you where might need to go. The bus comes by every 15 minutes and costs about 60 cents The rooms are modern clean , suites with kitchen facilities and the grocery store is just five minutes away by taxi or bus. The pool is refreshing . The hotel has only 12 rooms available. I believe and guests return again and again. There is security , safety
and a feel of being home away from home. I recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone
I promise you will not disappointed .PLAZA YARA IS TRULY A WINNER.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This is a smaller, quaint hotel located right off the main road to Manuel Antonio. The one thing that stands out is the service. When we arrived, Jonathan greeted us with a friendly smile. He was there nearly every night so we had a lot of interaction with him. Super friendly and helpful. We had a pushy tour guide in Manuel Antonio and he showed concern over our safety and their service. He and Nelson were so protective. We also met Javier who was also very friendly. My friend took a tour and was gone for awhile. He called the tour company to make sure she was ok. He even stayed a little late one night after his shift to help me with change and to arrange a taxi. The hotel also displays beautiful artwork and jewelry. Located within a quick bus ride to Manuel Antonio. We ate a few times at Restaurant El Arado. Best food we had there. Authentic, family owned and lovely people.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The hotel reception is in the art gallery and Jonathan on reception was really friendly and helpful. The location is between Quepos and Manuel Antonio, around a 20-25 minute walk from each - depending on the heat - but along a hilly road. Taxis are easy to get in this area and not too expensive, plus for a cheaper option there are also local buses.

The restaurant is a seafood restaurant - part of the same building as the hotel - though I understand now they also do other meals including vegetarian, we didn't realise this at the time so didn't eat there. In the room there were also some telephone numbers for other food places that will deliver to Plaza Yara, menus for those places and for the Z seafood restaurant in the room would have been very handy.

Because of the restaurant being separate and the layout, the hotel itself has more of a motel feel, the rooms are large and include a kitchen area (microwave/sink etc with crockery and complimentary microwave popcorn!).

The breakfast was very good and served in a nice cafe area at the back. And the price we got was good, so overall we were satisfied with our two night stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Jefferson, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Impressive. The price was high compared to other hotels nearer to the beach but now I know why. The room was fun, very large and modern. You feel at home. Breakfast was outstanding, the patio is beautiful and it was nice to enjoy the morning. The pool is nice, we really enjoyed our room and special location. Overall the service and staff were great, the best places to eat are just down the road, check out Pizza Pata for sliced by the meter! Great food, overall service and the area is really nice. We live in this country and we felt like we were REALLY on vacation. Nicely done!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Right off the main road heading to manuel antonio, we felt safe parking the car directly outside the check in desk. Rooms were very spacious and clean. Breakfast was made to order and was good. Beautiful patio to enjoy breakfast right in the canopy. Was also thankful for the mini-fridge and microwave with sink and dishes. Made having snacks in the room very easy.

Bed was VERY soft, didn't bother me but my husband woke up with a backache.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Costa Verde
Hotel Costa Verde
#19 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,034 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#4 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 stars 1,022 reviews
1.2 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#7 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Condotel Las Cascadas
Condotel Las Cascadas
#17 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 320 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel La Mariposa
Hotel La Mariposa
#12 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 933 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Mansion Inn
La Mansion Inn
#11 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Yara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Yara

Address: Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 322-6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Plaza Yara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Plaza Yara is located only five minutes to Manuel Antonio National Park. Hotel Plaza Yara offers all suites feature custom made bamboo furniture,queen size beds,kichenettes and spacious baths. relax on the balcony and enjoy the jungle views with variety of wildlife with passes daily including monkeys,sloths,iguanas and exotic birds. Hotel Plaza Yara offers the possibility for you to enjoy your stay in comfort,casual elegance and in tune with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Plaza Yara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Plaza Yara Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Plaza Yara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.