We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TEN STARS!!!!!BOOK IT” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Plaza Yara

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Plaza Yara to your Saves list
Hotel Plaza Yara
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 322-6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Escazu, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“TEN STARS!!!!!BOOK IT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I am living and working in San Jose for one year and enjoy spending my week-ends exploring different places in Costa Rica. My wife suggested Manuel Antonio and we decided to try our luck without a reservation and head to the Coast.
We drove by Hotel Plaza Yara and decided to stop and ask about availability. The check -in is located within the hotel gallery. Nelson (the manager) greeted us and told us "one suite was available" and asked if we wanted to see it? The suite was huge, (bigger than my apartment in San jose) modern in design but with a spa like ambiance. We loved it! Nelson told me "the suite was $75 USD per night and included breakfast". I said "then thats $150 a night for two" and Nelson told me that "the price of $75 USD was for the suite doble occupancy". Seriously, it wold be a great deal at $150 USD but $75 was beyond a steal!
We headed to the beach in MAnuel Antonio (beatiful) and returned to the hotel in afternoon. Upon our return we were greeted by Javier the night manager and asked him for a "recomandation" for sunset. Javier suggested "happy hour" at Gaia Hotel which is located next door to Plaza Yara. The view was awesome and the "tapas" were outstanding it was perfect. Were returned to Plaza Yara and Javier helped us by booking a tour of the National Park for the morning.
Our second day began with breakfast which was served on a beatiful terrace overlooking the jungle. The breakfast was delicious, the service was friendly and efficient and a troop of monkeys entertained us.
Hotel Plaza Yara and Manuel Antonio has become our favorite place in Costa Rica. Considerent the location, value, furnishings and genuine kind and professional service I highly recommend this hotel!
Jason and Beth Green

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    98
    15
    1
    1
See reviews for
89
236
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
135 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are quite nice, large and well equipped and the view back into the forest is lovely.

However the service was nothing special at all. Check in and greeting was all business and no warmth at all. The rest of our stay staff kept to themselves and displayed no real interest, warmth or concern for guests - a deal breaker in my book. Breakfasts were simple and nothing special. Definitely not worth the high marks praised on the am food by other reviews.

Sure there are monkeys out behind the hotel and their hoots and hollers and occasional appearances are an event - but one should not take this as a substitute for excellent customer service which I found to be sorely lacking. For the rates charged - and the number of 5 star TA reviews I read, frankly I was expecting alot more from staff and
from their breakfast service.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

My 23 year old daughter and I spent a couple nights in early April at Hotel Plaza Yara and had a great experience! We were greeted by Jonathan and he was very kind and helpful. Our room was very large with comfortable beds and we had a nice balcony where we could relax and enjoy the view. We had a real treat on the afternoon we arrived there was a mother & young sloth in a tree just feet away from the pool deck. The breakfast included was great and Jonathan recommended two great restaurants Agua Azul & Barba Rosa where we had dinner to the two nights we were there. Hotel Plaza Yara is a great place to stay in beautiful Manuel Antonio and I would definitely stay again if I return!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Plaza Yara while in Manuel Antonio. There is no doubt, it is the best place for the price. Once we got to the hotel, I couldn't believe how nice it was for the price. The guys who worked there were so helpful. They held our bags for us and gave us towels to go to the beach while waiting for our room. They also have a guy who watches the cars, and he came and let us know we left a door unlocked. The hotel room was huge and very clean. We could sit on our balcony and enjoy the rainforest. It also is really close to Manuel Antonio. If I ever go back here, I would never hesitate to stay here again, and would recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Traveled here with 3 male friends and was a little disappointed when we arrived. Seemed like an art gallery and that we were the only people there. No beach in sight.
We were wrong.
The rooms were huge and comfortable. The staff was excellent. The beach is right down the street.
Johnathan at the front desk sorted us right out. told us where to go, and how to do it. Even went out drinking with the guys one night.
Our first morning i was woken up (slightly hungover) by what sounded like someone moving furniture outside my room. After some grumbling i looked outside and saw nothing, but the noise continued. I got dressed and went to the balcony to investigate. That's when i saw a tail hanging over the roof. Turns out there were about 30 monkeys chasing each other on the roof of the resort. It was surreal. The monkeys were climbing all over the hotel and into the trees surrounding. Pretty cool way to wake up.
As far as Manuel Antonio it is pretty good. Once you get past the constant shakedowns, and they are many, from drugs to pottery to parking you see this place is great. good little restaurants and bars along the stretch of public beach. Decent prices. Bring a cooler, buy some beer at the shops, rent an umbrella and chairs $10 for the day and enjoy the beautiful beach. Definitely get an umbrella, even when cloudy the sun will roast you down there.
If you want to visit the national park, there is only 1 place to get tickets, the bank next to the entrance. Everyone in town will try to sell you tickets, buy them at the bank only. The beaches in the park are really the same as at the public beach (no alchohol, or chairs, or umbrellas) but there are cool places to explore as well. worth the, i think it was $10, for the day.
Nightlife around manuel antonio isn't great. Everything is shut down by 10pm. Some places along the road to the beach may stay open later. Oh, and the "gentlemans club" is more or less a brothel.
i would definitely go back to Manuel Antonio. And i would stay at Plaza Yara again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We just went to Costa Rica and stayed here and it was amazing! Beautiful hotel and the room was also beautiful and huge. We stayed there two nights and had breakfast there twice and it was delicious. One morning at breakfast we saw some white faced monkeys and it was adorable!! The hotel is also close to the bus stop so we took that down to the beach several times with no problems. Also, the pool was small but nice as well. Very happy with this hotel!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Just really wanted to say what a lovely hotel this is. Staff really helpful and friendly. Breakfast great. AC really good. Great to have a little kitchenette with plenty of free coffee, sugar and milk. Made a real difference to be able to come back and make a cup. Room did seem dark when first entered but glad of this as helped to keep it cool.

Room really big and shower lovely. Only complaint is the traffic noise which we found woke us up a bit early in the mornings. Location great as we had a car might need a taxi to go out in evening swithout. Did eat at the next door restaurant one night, very nice but expensive, it was our last night so didn't mind splurging a bit.

Room Tip: Maybe try and get one looking out the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Plaza Yara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Yara

Address: Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 322-6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Plaza Yara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Plaza Yara is located only five minutes to Manuel Antonio National Park. Hotel Plaza Yara offers all suites feature custom made bamboo furniture,queen size beds,kichenettes and spacious baths. relax on the balcony and enjoy the jungle views with variety of wildlife with passes daily including monkeys,sloths,iguanas and exotic birds. Hotel Plaza Yara offers the possibility for you to enjoy your stay in comfort,casual elegance and in tune with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Plaza Yara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Plaza Yara Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Plaza Yara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.