We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Plaza Yara

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Plaza Yara to your Saves list
Hotel Plaza Yara
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 322-6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Rochester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Just really wanted to say what a lovely hotel this is. Staff really helpful and friendly. Breakfast great. AC really good. Great to have a little kitchenette with plenty of free coffee, sugar and milk. Made a real difference to be able to come back and make a cup. Room did seem dark when first entered but glad of this as helped to keep it cool.

Room really big and shower lovely. Only complaint is the traffic noise which we found woke us up a bit early in the mornings. Location great as we had a car might need a taxi to go out in evening swithout. Did eat at the next door restaurant one night, very nice but expensive, it was our last night so didn't mind splurging a bit.

Room Tip: Maybe try and get one looking out the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    86
    13
    1
    1
See reviews for
75
198
20
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

I booked this hotel based on all the great reviews on trip advisor and a deal through Expedia. I have to agree with everyone, that all the reviews are accurate.

The rooms are huge, much larger than the pictures. Very clean and a beautiful setting. Free breakfast was delicious, 3 great options to meet the needs of everyone, plus self serve coffee and orange juice. Service was amazing as soon as we walked in. Security is available 24hrs, but we felt safe anyway. Free parking was great - having a vehicle helped a lot because we explored at night. Location is right in between MA and Quepos.

We never ate in MA but we drive to Quepos to eat at the Sodas, where food is significantly cheaper. We would return to this hotel the next time we are in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed here in March 2013 as a family with two rooms (in-laws in the 2nd room; 2 kids in our room). We booked here due to the great reviews and awards received on Tripadvisor, and I can truly say all the positive reviews matched our experience. Johnathan was so incredibly helpful, and accomodating, and truly concerned that we have the best stay possible. We have a 4 and 1 year old and initially they had reserved us a beautiful corner room on the 3rd floor. We were worried about our little ones somehow clumsily tripping/falling through the railing on the walkway to/from the room or coming out the door, so to be safe asked if there was another room available away from the railing. They moved us without a problem (fortunately they had another room with 2 beds available). Both our room and my in-laws room had nice kitchenettes, bathrooms and balconies (the kids LOVED our huge shower!). They also had ample sitting space. These are probably the largest rooms we have ever stayed in which was nice as it gave the kids (and us) some space to play. We were there 3 nights. Johnathan assisted us with all our needs, and went above and beyond in helping us find a good beach for the kids, calling here and there to help answer our questions, and always checking to see if everything was OK. Breakfast was wonderful each morning - the staff there was very nice as well. The first morning the waiter "called" the monkeys for us and soon they arrived to our great amusement! We also saw them a couple of times during the day at the pool.
The hotel also has some great art and locally made purses, etc for sale in their shop. It's in a safe location and they have a security guard at night who watches the parking area, etc. There's a bus stop nearby for buses to Quepos, Manuel Antonio, etc. and we drove to restaurants closer to the Park for dinner and lunch (there's also a small store in short driving distance for other items you might need.) There are some hotels closer to the park and shopping/restaurants, but I can't imagine they'd be as good a value and you may sacrifice the quiet nights available here. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. You won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: If you have small children, look at the pictures of the railing to see if that's a concern for y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vista, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Hotel Plaza Yara was a wonderful beginning to our 10 day trip. Beautiful large and modern rooms with yummy bedding, large modern bathroom, and a lovely balcony overlooking the pool and jungle. Incredible breakfast, and a very helpful staff. And last but not least, all at a very reasonable price. Location is good although Manuel Antonio is a crazy place to drive. I'd stay there again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Room #2-perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timmins, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

The descriptions from others on here are completely accurate. The pics are as well. I would even say the room is even nicer than the pics online. I stayed here for 7 days with my two sons (8 and 10 yrs) in March/13. I had room 12 that had direct access to the pool which was great. I had no issues with noise from the road and I'm a light sleeper. I took the bus all week to get to MA and this was very cheap and convenient. The staff at Plaza Yara is top notch and provided me with excellent recommendations for tours and restaurants. They also answered all my emails prior to my trip the same day. Thanks guys! There are beach towels available so no need to pack these. Breakfast was great and there's alot of food. I felt very safe at the hotel and in MA. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
des moines ia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Everything I read on trip advisor was correct. Staff was very helpful, especially when we had a lost camera case (thank you jonathon), and experienced car trouble (thx nelson)! Cleaning staff, breakfast, maintenance-all first rate. Rooms are huge and unique. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Were pretty lucky to find a vacancy in this gem!
Low price, big, clean, modern flat-like rooms with an equipped kitchen that have space for an entire family.
The breakfast was rich and tasted great and the staff was extremely nice & helpful!
As for the location issue that was brought up in earlier reviews, it is on the road and not that close to the national park, we had a car so that wasn't an issue, but the bus station is really close by and that shouldn't be an issue to anyone.

The only place I'm going to stay in when I come back to the area.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Plaza Yara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Yara

Address: Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 322-6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 48 Hotels in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Plaza Yara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Plaza Yara is located only five minutes to Manuel Antonio National Park. Hotel Plaza Yara offers all suites feature custom made bamboo furniture,queen size beds,kichenettes and spacious baths. relax on the balcony and enjoy the jungle views with variety of wildlife with passes daily including monkeys,sloths,iguanas and exotic birds. Hotel Plaza Yara offers the possibility for you to enjoy your stay in comfort,casual elegance and in tune with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Plaza Yara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Plaza Yara Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Plaza Yara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.