We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Plaza Yara

Save Saved
You added Hotel Plaza Yara to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Yara
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 322-6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Northbridge, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Plaza Yara the nights of 1/28 and 1/29/13. Our room was large & clean with 2 beds, a kitchenette, living area, large bathroom and deck that overlooked the small, but clean pool and jungle. Within 2 minutes of checking in, we saw a sloth in the trees! The morning of 1/29, while enjoying a delicious complimentary breakfast, a party of about 20 monkeys swung through - including 2 with babies on their backs! Johnathan and Nelson at the front desk were outstanding. Wifi in the room is spotty. The hotel is slightly noisy from the road, but it was a great price in a central location (you do need a car to get around). The wildlife was exciting, and we felt very safe. We definitely recommend Hotel Plaza Yara!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    83
    13
    1
    1
See reviews for
71
189
19
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in July. Spacious family friendly rooms. Front door out to main MA road, which can be noisy. Back window and balcony overlooking small pool and jungle. Great breakfast. Car advisable, as several kilometres to MA or strenuous walk down to the beach.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We spent 2 nights at the Plaza Yara at the end of our 2 week stay in Costa Rica. Staff were friendly and helpful and the room was huge with a microwave, coffee maker and crockery and cutlery. Our balcony overlooked the small pool and the jungle and on the second afternoon a troupe of monkeys came through and played in the trees on the hotel roof for 15 - 20 minutes. There are some restaurants within walking distance but it is over 3kms to Manuel Antonio beach so a car is very useful. Only a small deced area and small pool at the hotel so you do need to get out and about. The breakfast was prepared to order and was very good. A nice hotel for a short stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

My wife and I were reminiscing about our trip to Costa Rica last year (February 2012). We were discussing all the hotels we stayed in and I couldn't believe that I didn't writer a review for Hotel Plaza Yara. This place way exceeded our expectations.

To start, the rooms are really big and very clean. We felt spoiled by how much space we had for just the two of us, and at a fraction of the price that we payed for hotels in other cities. Our room had a balcony facing some lush rainforest and on our first night, we spotted a sloth in a tree right outside our window. We watched it for about an hour, and we even went down to the pool area to get a closer look. In the mornings, we saw White Face and Capuchin monkeys.

The hotel offers free breakfast served in an outside, but covered dining area that also faces the rainforest. The service and the meals we're always to notch!

The location is just a short drive from the Manuel Antonio National Park, and it's very close to a wide assortment of restaurants.

I definitely recommend this hotel if you're staying in the Manuel Antonio area. Also, the restaurant with the big airplane was really good, reasonably priced, and has fantastic views of the coastline.

Have a great trip!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at Plaza Yara so much we extended it by a day. The staff was friendly and helpful, the rooms are beautifully designed and comfortable, and the location is terrific. The backyard is the jungle and the main road passes by out front, but it's never noisy. One morning however there was some noise on the roof--it turned out to be an enormous troop of squirrel monkeys that stayed about half an hour. Breakfast is delicious and is presented on the patio facing the jungle. We were very happy with this hotel and highly recommend it to anyone visiting Manuel Antonio.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed here 2 times during our recent trip to Costa Rica.
The rooms were enormously stylishly decorated with a little kitchenette. The bathroom was tip top with a walk-in shower.
Everything was very clean and outside the windows (or balcony) you could sometimes watch travelling monkeys.
The staff was very nice and helpful.

This was by far the best hotel (of many) we stayed at in CR. It's located near Quepos (5 mins) and the beaches and Manuel Antonio national park (10 mins) with the frequent bus.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Plaza Yara in December. The hotel is immaculate and the rooms were huge. We had a newly decorated one which opened out onto the pool, it was lovely. Very clean rooms,bathroom & communal areas. The staff at Plaza Yara are exceptionally friendly and helpful and the breakfast were great. Would recommend having a vehicle though as not walking distance to restaurants and bars.

Room Tip: Ask for the pool room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Plaza Yara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Yara

Address: Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 322-6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 48 Hotels in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Plaza Yara 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Plaza Yara is located only five minutes to Manuel Antonio National Park. Hotel Plaza Yara offers all suites feature custom made bamboo furniture,queen size beds,kichenettes and spacious baths. relax on the balcony and enjoy the jungle views with variety of wildlife with passes daily including monkeys,sloths,iguanas and exotic birds. Hotel Plaza Yara offers the possibility for you to enjoy your stay in comfort,casual elegance and in tune with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Plaza Yara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Plaza Yara Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Plaza Yara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.